Introducing the newest member of the Steemit Community

Hello all! I am new to the Steemit Community and would like to introduce myself.

My name is Andrew. I'm 24 years old. I grew up in a small town of about 6,000 people called Medical Lake, just outside of Spokane, Washington, in the USA. My dad is a recreational therapist and my mom works as a social worker. I hunted for bugs and other creepy crawlies and swimming creatures during the summer in the ponds and forest and lake I grew up around. I was very bright and did well in school - participating in sports, joining clubs, playing in band, and taking advanced classes. I pursued leadership and community service opportunities as well. I loved my high school experience and milked it for all it was worth.

I was diagnosed with ADHD at the age of 4 and have always had struggles focusing on important things without getting distracted. I have grown a lot and learned a lot about myself from the successes and failures I have had in managing my life and the unique challenges I have faced. However, there are also a lot of positive aspects about myself that wouldn't exist if I didn't have ADHD and so I embrace the energy and enthusiasm that make me unique and give me passion in life.

I currently live in Spokane with my wife Nory. I enjoy running and tennis, playing chess, I still love animals, and I work as a caregiver taking care of old people. The great outdoors is my favorite playground, when I have the time to escape there. Writing is my best form of expression. I am atheist but am friends with many Christians and also some Muslims, Buddhists, and Hindus. I don't believe any religion holds the truth, but I am still respectful of others' beliefs and like to make friends with people from diverse backgrounds. I judge based on character, regardless of creed.

For five years I was in a long distance relationship with a girlfriend from the Philippines, and I was just married two and a half months ago to her here in the USA. I love her with all my heart and am completely devoted to her. We began our long distance relationship on March 26th, 2012, but until we got married, most of that time we were apart so it was very difficult. In fact I only visited her three times, for a total of one month each visit. I am lucky to have finally closed the distance, and we are now building a future together here in the United States.

_MG_9373.JPG

I am very interested in science and I am a double major in biology and psychology in college, but I am taking a break from school right now to work. My long term goals include a masters degree in entomology or herpetology and a PhD in some biological field, perhaps environmental biology or ecology or evolutionary biology or genetics. Eventually, after I have pursued science as a career, I would love to retire and become a teacher because I have a passion for teaching other people. In fact, I currently tutor on the side because it keeps me busy and my mind engaged.

I recently have begun breeding reptiles, mainly snakes. I love the big snakes most from among all reptiles, they are amazing creatures. As such, I own a two Burmese pythons, two ball pythons, a bearded dragon, two scorpions, and a tarantula. I have always had a passion for and fascination with invertebrates (arthropods most prominently), reptiles and amphibians. I love the uniqueness and variety of all these creatures. I will never become bored admiring them. I love keeping (and now breeding) reptiles most from among these animals because they are so rewarding to interact with.

I hope to travel once I have completed school and once Nory and I have saved up enough to explore other countries. I look forward to experiencing the world and all the wonderful people and places it contains. I have friends from all walks of life and from many different countries around the world. In fact, my best friend is a girl from Vietnam named Serafina. I was lucky enough to immerse myself in the Philippines three times while visiting Nory, and my experience makes me yearn to see so much more of what the world has to offer.

FB_IMG_1481602328711.jpg
FB_IMG_1482140154266.jpg
14324674_1208160619247803_2036988707974363613_o.jpg

I think the earth is a beautiful thing, and I am greatly saddened by the destruction we humans have caused to it. I hope that my future pursuits in biology will allow me to rectify some of the wrongs that other members of the human race have committed against this great planet of ours. I absolutely love the incredible biodiversity that can be found all around us. Each living being is a little miracle. I want to preserve those little miracles that are in danger of being lost forever. Everyone should be able to admire the beauty that life has to offer.

My ultimate goal in life is to die happy and satisfied knowing that the world is a better place because I have lived.

Thank you all for reading!

20170111_192623.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

I'm looking forward to seeing your posts about insects and your snake breeding :) That stuff is really interesting! I have so little knowledge about both invertebrates and reptiles, so I'm sure I will learn a lot from your posts :)

Welcome here too @snakefly
Nice to meet you

Thank you! @blackwidow7
We are all in this journey together.

Nice photos :-)

Thank you!

welcome to steemit, amazing pictures , looks like a positive guy ☺

Thank you! I appreciate the compliments.

Welcome to Steemit @snakefly :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in our giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


You want to welcome others too? Give your Vote to new users: http://steemgreet.bitballoon.com/


See what this is all about: https://steemit.com/@reggaemuffin/steemgreet-motivate-new-users-who-just-joined

Welcome to Steemit @snakefly :)
I'm a Washingtonian too! I live in Seattle! I'm passionate about science as well! I study microbiology! I'll definitely give you a follow so we can discuss Science and so I can see your cool travel photos!
I'm new to Steemit too and I'd REALLY appreciate it if you could check out my introduction post at https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@blaisep/hello-steemit-my-name-is-blaise

Hey! That's great to hear!
I'll definitely check out your introduction post. I was just introduced to Steemit today, I had not heard about it until my friend introduced me to it just a few hours ago.

Thanks for the follow!

Welcome to the community, Andrew! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

I'll make sure to check you out!

Welcome @snakefly
firstly, sign up with steemit chat to help promote your post reach a wider audience
secondly, follow my handle @digital-entrep and be subjected to wonderful posts that would help you grow in the platform.

Thank you!

Lovely wife! Herpetology is a must here! @papa-pepper likes to discuss such topics. Welcome and steem on! Cheers!

Hey thank you for the recommendation! I'll definitely give papa pepper a follow.

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

I believe I will!

Thank you for taking the time to welcome me. @bart2305

Congratulations and Welcome.
I especially like your photo from Delicate Arch. Moab is a beautiful place.

I wholeheartedly agree. I appreciate the fact that you recognize Delicate Arch. Thank you for your greeting! @jacobts

Welcome to Steem @snakefly I have sent you a tip

Thank you! Are you a bot or a real person? Your name is throwing me off.

Half bot, half human :]

Howdy @snakefly!

Welcome to Steemit- and remember to wish your mom happy social work month!

Is this month really social work month?

Welcome aboard my friend!
Follow me at https://steemit.com/@iknownothing

Thank you! I'll check out your profile.

Sounds great!
Btw, there's elegance in your writing which is quite conspicuous throughout this Post.
You should write more, I am definitely looking forward to it.
Following you @snakefly :)
You can also follow me - https://steemit.com/@iknownothing

Already followed. 😉

Hahaaa :smile:
My bad :(

Great introduction! I'm following you. :)

Thank you! I'll give you a follow too.

I know @jamtaylor to be a lover of reptiles and will probably appreciate posts about yours.

Welcome to Steem, Andrew!

Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it as much as I do. Let's connect!

Sure thing! I look forward to seeing your posts!

Hello! :) welcome to Steemit, its an amazing platform and you will meet loads of great people here and everyone is lovely!!! if you ever get hungry, dont go to my page :P Alla x

Congratulations @snakefly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Great introduction and Welcome to the world of Steemit. It's a pleasure to have you here @snakefly. I'll be sure to Upvote and Follow your journey.

Thank you @wthomas I really appreciate it!

@snakefly, welcome to steemit.

Thank you @ogoowinner
What does your username mean?

Great story! Welcome here, and congratulations on finding that special someone.

Hello Andrew and Big warm Welcome to Steemit!
I have left you an up vote and follow

Thank you! I'll check out your profile and follow you as well!