Here I am to Save the Day

Hello, I'm a superhero.
So, most of my blogs won't be about solar. I AM the Solar Super Mama, but let's face it. There's loads of articles about climate change, renewable energy, and solar panels being written by people way smarter and more knowledgeable than I am. I post those on my fb page all the time. If you want to switch to solar, I'm the mama that can hook you up, but I'm gonna talk about some other things I know and love. Being a mama, location independent work, relocating to another country, traveling with little kids and teens, unschooling, that kind of stuff. I'm gonna talk politics sometimes. I'm a woman, and the personal is political, so there you have it. And, in all honesty, I'm super passionate about solar and its arch nemesis coal, so we'll probably talk about that at least a little.

My backstory
I’ll just get right to who I am so those of you not interested or slightly afraid can just skip right on out. I'm originally from South Carolina. I was raised in the baptist church by a Reagan loving mama and (separate house) a Carter loving, lefty, agnostic dad. I've also lived in Indiana, Colorado, North Carolina, and now Belize. I'm more into metaphysics now, but I still love Jesus. I'm so far left, I might fall off the end of the rainbow any day now. I love this planet and all the beings on it, even the assholes, except sand flies and dr flies. Screw them. I swear a lot, but you won't see the f word because my mama might be reading this. I love my kids more than anything or anybody else. I have four of them between 3 and 19, and they're amazing and also drive me totally insane. I love beer a lot. I mean, I love rum, tequila, and wine too, but beer is my favorite. I love to play. I believe in the power of play to connect people, and I also believe play can be a whole lot of different things. Like all good southern girls, I love my family, and they love me even though they mostly think I'm nuts.

image.jpeg
Me and four of the most amazing kids you've ever met

Now we can move on to the topic of the first chunk of blogs. Relocating to another country and traveling with kids. I started the journey with five kids in my crew: 18, 16, 13, 3, and 18 mos. Just me and them. I know, right? No clue what I was thinking.

image.jpeg
The morning after we left the US in March 2015

Moving abroad with kids, aka, perhaps I lost my mind
Moving to another country is a pretty big step. Moving to an underdeveloped country with 5 kids is like jumping off a skyscraper in one of those flying squirrel suits. Exciting? Yes. Potentially deadly? Most definitely. So, you have your little suit on. And you think you got this. And then you jump, and you think maybe you really don't got this thing. And then you wonder what the ?&$@ you were thinking jumping off this big ass building with nothing but a damn squirrel suit.

I moved to Belize from Spartanburg, SC. When you live in a place like Spartanburg, it's really easy to assume many of your challenges are a result of living in Spartanburg. As it turns out, challenges follow you to paradise. Every day I look at Palm trees, jungle, Caribbean Sea. I hear monkeys and frogs almost daily. I also look at a messy house, dirty kids, bills, work, empty pots and bellies needing filling, and relationship challenges of all kinds. I hear more Pj Masks, Paw Patrol, whining, and screaming than I care to talk about. This isn't vacation, friends. Nobody is gonna come clean this shit show up when I leave in five days. And it's got additional challenges of immigration, work permits, a different culture, an unimaginably wide variety of insects and wild weather, and missing things you're accustomed to.

image.jpeg
The first scorpion I killed

So we begin this blog looking at what it really takes to make it, what the honest challenges are when removing your family from the mainstream developed world. Don't get me wrong. It's also beautiful and full of so many benefits. For me I wouldn't change a thing. I love it here totally and completely, but I maybe could have planned a little better. If you're impulsive like me, it may be wise to read on before leaping. Here's hoping you're more prepared than I was.

Sort:  

Hello and welcome @solarsupermama. I love your name.

tip! post

Thank you. I like it too. Accuracy is important.

Oh My Gosh, I love this! I can't wait to hear more from you!!!!! We are here in the States but are seriously wanting to live abroad. All in due time. Just thinking about leaving my country of origin gives me nervous feelings, although we are pretty sure it would be a better choice for us and for our kids future. You are incredibly brave, in my humble opinion! I love your writing! It's so real. Keep it up. Have upvoted, resteemed and am following you.

Awww. Thanks. I really appreciate that. There's a second one up. Moving abroad is so huge. I'm really glad we did, but it's way harder than I thought! I'll check your blog now! Thanks again for checking me out!

Hello and welcome Solarsupermama!

Heya @solarsupermama this was a great intro! I'm glad to know that although you love em to death, you are still a person outside of your children c: lol I thought you were from Central America, it's even more shocking that you moved to Belize from the states! Keep your personality in your writing, and you be you. I look forward to many of your coming posts! Good job! <3

@shello

Aww. Thank you! Sometimes I feel like I'm totally consumed by motherhood. Writing helps!
I'm so glad we moved here, but it's harder than I thought it would be!
Your words mean a lot. I really appreciate it. I can't not be me 😂 I'm incapable of faking. It almost cost me my bachelors degree, but that's another story for another day.

I don't even know if I could manage having one kid, nonetheless do that and be on Steemit. I followed you because you aren't trying to beg for money to take care of your family, and you see writing as an escape through expression. You empower people by accepting your responsibilities and I admire you for that.

Would love to hear the story about your bachelor's though, seeing as I'm currently going for mine. There's a lot I could learn!

Somehow moms just make it happen because we have no choice. You just gotta bust it out. We found Steemit looking for ways to make money writing, but it's gonna be a while before that gets going, so I'd rather do it right. Then I started to really appreciate the writing and connections here and making money has become secondary.
The short version of the bachelors degree is that I was an environmental science major and women's studies minor. In women's studies I was very focused on shifting the world to a more feminine perspective. My major advisors were all men. In fact there was one woman in the entire biology department. This was the late 90s. So I refused to write my thesis in this masculine way, meaning I refused to use dick sucking big words and over complicated concepts. My point was that environmental science, more than most sciences, must be accessible. It didn't go over very well.

Being a mother allowed you to discovered strengths in yourself that you weren't aware of before! But seeing as you wanted to empower many women, it was only a matter of time before discovering your hidden potential.

What happened with you during college reminds me a little of something I did in high school. For math one year, the entire school had a re evaluation placement test. 100 question, multiple choice. I had previously found out that I was gettimg bumped up a couple of classes, and felt that it was unfair, as teachers should be trying to help the entire student body and not just a select few. I scored a perfect zero, which was followed by a principal office visit and a lot of counseling.

I still wonder about that sometimes haha, as for myself- I will also seek other ventures but will keep Steemit in my priorities, because I love to learn c:

Yes. The rest of the world doesn't understand the feminine aspect of justice and fairness and compassion. Would make the world better for real. Schools are a mess anyway.

Iol I'm still trying to do school

Congratulations @solarsupermama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi mama super solar,
I'm @joenobel,
I found you because you upvoted my latest post. Thanks for that.
Upvoting and following you in return.
Hope to see some insightful posts from you in the future.
Welcome.
Joe

Thank you, and you're welcome! I don't remember now how I found you, but I enjoy your stories. Thanks for following! Also, I like mama super solar. That's cool.

Plus beer and swearing and solar, who could want more!

Beer, swearing, solar, and kids is pretty much my whole life. I want for nothing.

Cant wait to hear more about your story. How did your kids feel about jumping off the building in a squirrel suit? I mean moving...
I also think your name is great!

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of steemparents and #teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

I'm glad you're enjoying it!
The kids mostly love it. The oldest went back to the US because his (now ex) girlfriend was a whiny baby the whole time she was here with us. He's happier there, anyway, though. He likes visiting us, but he loves being with his friends, activism, and playing music, so Asheville is better for him. Anyway! More stories coming! Thanks for checking me out.

Hi @solarsupermama! @sneakgeekz is sending you 0.1 SBD tip and @tipU upvote :)

Check out the newest post from @sneakgeekz: Dji Mavic Pro Drone Beach Video Ogunquit Maine and follow if you like the content :)

send tips with @tipU | earn interest in @tipU profit

Thank you. I don't totally understand what all this means, but I'm getting there.

It was nice reading about you, I hope you will enjoy Steemit and welcome! Follow me and I will follow back :)