Skynet - Is it happening?

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hey, don't laugh, i'm serious. Is it?


I've been using steemit for a few time, and at the beginning we were cool.. then wang happened. And i were ok with it, i swear! @wang is an "ok" bot, spaming useful posts and upvote in newcomers so it's helpful. But about a week later they started to multiply... @cheetah, @calva,"@wangsfamily"(weng,wing,wong), damn, it's a long list. They spend 24/7 spaming "useful" tips(it's useful once, we dont need it 3~4 times in every #introduceyourself posted).

What i dont understand is, a few of these bots were made to help us against spam and copy, but right now i think they are actually helping the spammers( HAVE THEY TURNED AGAINST THEIR OWNER?!?)

And you may not belive, but today i was here doing some curation, reading everything and then someone said it's thinking about to create a anti "antispam bot" bot(yeah, it's hard to understand :D), and in that moment i realized that we were screwed, machine era has begun.

Help us @johnconnor @sarahconnor

#steemit #whalecall #life #runtothehills #steem #botseverywhere

Sort:  

Why, Mr. Anderson? Why, why? Why do you do it? Why, why get up? Why keep fighting? Do you believe you're fighting... for something? For more than your survival? Can you tell me what it is? Do you even know? Is it freedom? Or truth? Perhaps peace? Could it be for love? Illusions, Mr. Anderson. Vagaries of perception. Temporary constructs of a feeble human intellect trying desperately to justify an existence that is without meaning or purpose. And all of them as artificial as the Matrix itself, although... only a human mind could invent something as insipid as love. You must be able to see it, Mr. Anderson. You must know it by now. You can't win. It's pointless to keep fighting. Why, Mr. Anderson? Why? Why do you persist?

@steemitdude Ok first off I look at your pic and I think

Next, I don't believe in any sort of "Skynet" situation.
What is really going on is that bots are owned by people. Those people are trying to maximize their revenues and the current setup favors being a bot. The new hardfork coming in favors bots even more, since it means you have to ration your postings. So it just makes sense to create a ton of pre-canned replies and play hunt the whale.
Otherwise you get penalized.

As opposed to you know, like rules that would favor actually engaging in constructive social discourse on a social media site.

Anyways I have been talking a lot about this and I would love it if you would come to some of the threads I've got going on the topic and give your feedback (hopefully some upvotes too)
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@williambanks/i-for-one-welcome-our-new-robot-overlords

https://steemit.com/steemit/@williambanks/bot-warz-a-hybrid-approach

Thanks and BTW, I upvoted you!

p.s. Where did you get that pic from is it original artwork? If so where can I buy a print of that and would you be interested in some commissioned work?

Hi @williambanks! Thanks for your reply( and upvote :D)
The Skynet Idea is just a joke about how many bots are "arriving" here. its a situation where, in theory, they have friends and interact with us. How awesome is that? On the other hand, a bad script makes a annoying bot... If you look here you will see lots of them trying to earn an upvote.

About the image, i've found it using Google (free) and made some changes in it and a commissioned work sounds good, what do you have in mind?

Ok so my view on bots is the same as my view on kids or dogs. You can have them, they're handy to have. For instance I got tired of mowin the grass all the time so I had a few myself. (kids not dogs or bots). But you do need to be responsible for them, keep them safe and stop them from annoying the neighbors.

Just like kids and pets, bots require proper training. So I'm going to recommend we start a bot registry and I'm going to run an idea by the devs to actually give bots that are useful a bit more leeway and a tool for squelching or muzzling a bot gone bad, perhaps with actual financial consequences for it's owner/parent.

As for commissioned art I'm not exactly sure yet what I need but I plan to create a site specifically about building bots for steem and the first thing that popped into my head was "yep, there's my logo".

I'm also building another site to compile short stories and longer reading works published on steemit into a tablet and ereader friendly format. Going to need artwork for that as well.

Nice! Fell free to use my image(and fell free to tip me :D).

BTW, I'm following you now, i liked your ideas and your posts.keep up with the good work.

@steemitdude www.steembots.com is coming soon pointing the domain right now. In the meantime have a look at https://steembots.github.io/ let me know what you think!

Great and thanks! I really appreciate it. I'll be following you as well as soon as I figure out how to make following work correctly. In the meantime feel free to cross link any threads you want me to check out on any of my posts . Thanks!

I hope you captured a screenshot, when the bots came swarming in on your post. I missed it.

no need, they are always here :D, every #introduceyourself is the same thing.

no it isn't :)

err.. did you see what is happening here right now? 4~6 bots all spaming, right now. and you can look at any other #introduceyourself post too.

yeah. but not always do these posts stay on top.