Hello there Steemit friends! I'm a mom, low carb foodie, and lover of yarn.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

To blog = To share To connect To create To inspire

Hello there fellow Steemians. My name is Shelby. Sometimes people ask me if I'm named after the high-performance Mustang, but I, in fact, am named after my dad Sheldon. My parents tell me that if I was born a boy, I would have been named Geoffrey (pronounced Joff-rey), so I'm glad I came out a girl. I never had any nick names growing up, but since entering adulthood, people now sometimes call me Shelbs. I am 1-part foodie, 1-part yarnoholic, 1-part wife, and 2-parts mom. Is that too many parts? I always have to sleep with socks on, I hate cleaning, and I love cooking.

I grew up in a small town in Pennsylvania near Scranton. If you're a fan of the television show, The Office, then you know it well. I'm the middle child of a hard-working middle-class family. Growing up, my younger sister and I bickered daily, but now we are best friends. My mom always made us the best Halloween costumes. My brother is 11 years older than me, but he has taught me a lot. He is a great musician and has such a great heart. My childhood was during the late 80's and early 90's, consisting mostly of skip-its, Barbies, beanie babies, and ribbon dancers.

When I started college, I first decided that I wanted to be a Special Education teacher. My ideas of what I wanted changed after my second year. I knew I wanted to work with kids still, but my heart was somewhere else. I decided to change my major to Social Science and focus more on Children and Youth Services. I have my degree in Social Sciences, but soon after I graduated, my now husband was transferred with work so I moved along with him. We were just dating at that time. I know some people move oceans away from family, or many states away. We just moved slightly over an hour away. We mainly are the ones driving to visit family, but sometimes we get surprise visits.

We moved to Pottsville, Pennsylvania, home of America's Oldest Brewery, Yuengling! I didn't know what to expect moving to this area, even though it isn't too far from home, but I quickly found that it is a tight knit community in the coal mining region. I quickly learned a new language. Our church bazaars were now called block parties. Potato pancakes were now Bleenies.

Things didn't go as planned as far as my degree was concerned. I ended up becoming a department manager at Lowe's and also waitressing part time. I learned a lot about home improvement and I just love customer service for some reason. I enjoy getting to know the customers and having them return regularly and ask for me.

Fast forward two years, and we are now married, and wanted to start a family. In October of 2010, we had our first son. Being a new mom, I researched everything during the pregnancy and infant stage. Four and a half years down the road, I was longing for another baby to hold in my arms. I had to get my husband on board, and I think what convinced him was our son asking for a baby brother or sister. In May 2015, our second son was born. I no longer needed to read books on how to parent or what to expect. I just learned it's ok for them to eat a little dirt once in awhile, or to eat popsicles for breakfast. I am an advocate for normalizing breastfeeding and keeping your baby close by babywearing. My husband has even used our baby carrier a few times.


These boys of mine are the light of my lives. They bring brightness every single day. I never knew I had so much love to give. To see them love and play together is beyond amazing. They have a forever friend in each other. And I get to watch them grow every day. We decided that it was best for our family if I became a stay at home mom. We have made MANY sacrifices to make this happen, but it is so worth it.

I also taught myself how to crochet a few years ago, so be on the lookout for some posts about my projects. It's mainly a hobby but I do make made to order items occasionally. Crocheting is my stress relief. I make things out of string. I also just recently started the Ketogenic way of eating and I have been feeling amazing and losing weight consistently.

My goal in life is to just be the best me I can be and help others along the way. I am a great listener and always up for a challenge. I hope we can all be connected in this virtual journey in our lives. Follow me and I'll follow you. @steemitshelby

<3 Shelby

Sort:  

Thank You Friend nice To Meet You @steemitshelby
the Best And amazing.
Nice To Meet You All #steemians
My Name @wanpelor I Am Coming From Aceh Sumatra.
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here

steemit or eSteem.
Vote @good-karma As Our Witness.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @wanpelor.

Hi @wanpelor Thank you for stopping by and sharing your warm greeting with me!

Welcome to Steem @steemitshelby I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much!

Hey!
Thanks for the introduction, good to see enthusiastic users like you on Steem. Looking forward to seeing more of your content, Followed and Upvoted!
(If you want a stream of interesting posts, follow me back!)

Hi! I followed you!

Hi @steemitshelby, Welcome to Steem, remember me when you are rich :]

Hi there! I will remember you!

Yay! Welcome to Steemit Shelby! So glad you're on here now! Can't wait to read your blog! :-D

Thank you for introducing me to this amazing community!

Welcome Steemitshelby!! Glad to see you, hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Wow awesome post !! :) Woud love to see more
Your account was recently created so I thought I'd say hi and welcome you. This post deserves an upvote and full steem ahead!
As you are new to steemit, getting those first upvotes are gonna be hard so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and a great tutorial as well. Have a nice day and lets earn more together. Also, you can follow me with more updated posts :)

Thank you so much! I will definitely look into Steemfollower

Welcome to this platform. We wish a lot of things that you want here. I am Reza from Aceh, Sumatra wants to meet you. Please follow me on @elhakimi and I will give the vote to you. Thank you..

welcome to steemit!! See my account you will like!!
https://steemit.com/@orlanperzy

Followed! Thank you =)

Welcome to steemit, Shelby. 👋

Thank you so much

hi Shelby, nice introduction :) have a pleasant time on steemit :) followed you !

Thank you! I followed you too =)

Hi Shelby. Welcome to Steemit. You got a nice family..I must say you are lucky...I hope you will do great here as a steemian...Follow me @onority

Welcome @steemitshelby aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

Checkout this post and give me some feedback on it
https://steemit.com/life/@slickhustler007/c-o-f-day-5-201786t94832843z

@slickhustler007
#circleoffriends
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Thank you. I will check it out now!

@steemitshelby Hi Shelby. Welcome to Steemit. You have a beautiful family. Best of luck. Hey, I am new too. Check out my introduceyourself video I posted last night.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigpay/introduction-to-my-show-steemit-exclusive-the-miggie-show-presented-by-big-pay-productions

Thank you! Great video!

A new Steemian :-) hello @steemitshelby I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Respect! I noticed that you joined recently so welcome aboard. Hope this upvote helps and I hope to read more from you in the future!
As you are new to steemit and it can be hard for newcomers to recieve votes so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I also recently made this post explaining that in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

This post received a 3.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @customnature! For more information, click here!

Congratulations @steemitshelby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!