You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why purchasing Steem Power and Steem Dollars matters? [Beginners Guide]

After reading a hundred posts on this topic, it still doesn't make complete sense to me. Your post was upvoted to 5 dollars in value and I upvoted it, giving you .09 cents. You said you spent 100 dollars to promote your posts? I calculated the upvote value of your posts and it comes out to $39.61. It seems to me like you're spending way more than you're earning.

I found your post in the promoted section. How much did you spend to promote this post?

Thank you for your time and consideration. Any help will be MUCH appreciated!

Upvoted and following!

Sort:  

Very good question! Promoting posts and organic views are not the same. I am willing in the short term to spend more on promoting than my following would earn me in order to actually reach more eyeballs and build my following. Also I spent over $1500 to power up which gives my votes far more influence than the tiny bit they give you to start with. I spend approx $30-$50 per post to promote them to the top 5 in the primary tag for that post (introduceyourself for this post). I am also only 6 days in so as you can imagine there is still a lot to learn and in the next week I will make a follow up article outlining how well promoting worked. Again though my goal for the short term is build up a good following of regular users. You spend the same amount to get high on the promoted section whether you have 1 follower or 10,000 just so happens with 10,000 you can probably get $50 in up votes organically!

Thanks for the input, hope that helps, I followed you back!

WOW @bigdeej! I agree it is a perfect timing as a neewbie to promote your posts. Once you gain something like 10,000 followers and then you start promoting then your post will be possibly repeated in-front of all those 10,000 followers too. So you won't get the same no. of new unique eyeballs with your money which you can get as a newbie for the same money. It's really smart of you to use this "promoted" feature in the very beginning.

I always wonder that it's just a week you are on Steemit and you know very well about the platform and its working. How did you do that? How much time do you devote to this platform daily? I see a lot of posts from you and all are worth a read! Genius!

Thanks! I spend about 12 hours a day online at least and come from a social media/email marketing background combined with software design and development! I'v also been a crytpo fanatic since 2012 so that helps a lot dive into things most people over look without looking back!
You hit the nail on the head! 10,000 followers (good ones) will make them and you more money than you can as a minnow just starting out! Gotta start somewhere right? Learn to Earn! Steem On!