Why purchasing Steem Power and Steem Dollars matters? [Beginners Guide]

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

You want to earn I am sure, but if you just joined you probably realize you aren't able to have much draw. No matter how good your posts are you run out of voting power fast and don't have the following yet to earn much. Buying STEEM Dollars and Steem Power will instantly help you boost your visibility here and gain you far more earnings than trying to grow organically.

I have only been here 5 days but after investing 1400 into my Steem Power and using 100 STEEM Dollars to promote my posts I have seen my potential earnings increase over 100x and my voting power able to effect up to $1 in an up vote as opposed to at most $0.01 at my original account level.

The best part about buying Steem Power is you can always cash it back out to STEEM and sell for BTC! Since BTC and STEEM are both fairly low off their all time highs, I speculate that now is a great time to stock up on STEEM, STEEM Dollars and power up by purchasing Steem Power for your Steemit Account!

If this information helps you please follow me, resteem (share) this post, up vote this post and comment below! Happy steeming!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

'trying to grow organically...' that line got me hahaha

I've UPVOTED and FOLLOWING, couldnt find the RESTEEM button, idk why. i'll appreciate if u reciprocate...Thanks!

Hey we all like our organic grows right ;) This post is past the vote/resteem time but thanks for reading! Follow me for more good laughs and information!

This is a great post from a new guy to Steem we should give him some Steem Love from the Whales what do you guys think? @fyrstikken

Steem Love from the Whales is also appreciated, we'll trail you someday as well when we get big enough. Helping new users out is awesome. Spread the love!

Thank you all so much I just started 10 days ago but am learning fast and my goal is to teach others and recruit a few more dolphins while teaching the minnows as I work up to becoming a whale! Thanks for all the whale love WOW super appreciated! Hope I can continue to provide quality content for everyone that follows me! Thanks again guys/gals yall are amazing!

Are you giving me religious slander? What if I do not believe in religion?

I gave him my minnow love already ... wait, that came out wrong :D

Good post and like that you are sharing what you are learning as you learn it so that others can gain the same benefit. This is great value.

I've been on steemit since the beginning of March, but only active in the past few months. I've read excellent posts that don't end up earning much of anything, which is rather sad, since their value is more valuable than articles by older members who have built up a large following.

Agreed the biggest thing is getting good followers that resteem (costs you nothing) good content so your network sees it and has a chance to follow the author!
I also find that the more active you are the more people follow you, I have seen a few people that after a day of up voting a few posts of mine began following me.
Happy Steeming! Steem On!

I agree with you 100%. Starting out and even once you get higher up, Steem power is the most important aspect of growth and development of a user. I myself have purchased a little Steem power and all my earning I always convert to steem which I then use to power up.
Steem on brother.

Glad to hear it! I just put in another 1248 SP from my alts! Power UP and steem on! Followed you!

After reading a hundred posts on this topic, it still doesn't make complete sense to me. Your post was upvoted to 5 dollars in value and I upvoted it, giving you .09 cents. You said you spent 100 dollars to promote your posts? I calculated the upvote value of your posts and it comes out to $39.61. It seems to me like you're spending way more than you're earning.

I found your post in the promoted section. How much did you spend to promote this post?

Thank you for your time and consideration. Any help will be MUCH appreciated!

Upvoted and following!

Very good question! Promoting posts and organic views are not the same. I am willing in the short term to spend more on promoting than my following would earn me in order to actually reach more eyeballs and build my following. Also I spent over $1500 to power up which gives my votes far more influence than the tiny bit they give you to start with. I spend approx $30-$50 per post to promote them to the top 5 in the primary tag for that post (introduceyourself for this post). I am also only 6 days in so as you can imagine there is still a lot to learn and in the next week I will make a follow up article outlining how well promoting worked. Again though my goal for the short term is build up a good following of regular users. You spend the same amount to get high on the promoted section whether you have 1 follower or 10,000 just so happens with 10,000 you can probably get $50 in up votes organically!

Thanks for the input, hope that helps, I followed you back!

WOW @bigdeej! I agree it is a perfect timing as a neewbie to promote your posts. Once you gain something like 10,000 followers and then you start promoting then your post will be possibly repeated in-front of all those 10,000 followers too. So you won't get the same no. of new unique eyeballs with your money which you can get as a newbie for the same money. It's really smart of you to use this "promoted" feature in the very beginning.

I always wonder that it's just a week you are on Steemit and you know very well about the platform and its working. How did you do that? How much time do you devote to this platform daily? I see a lot of posts from you and all are worth a read! Genius!

Thanks! I spend about 12 hours a day online at least and come from a social media/email marketing background combined with software design and development! I'v also been a crytpo fanatic since 2012 so that helps a lot dive into things most people over look without looking back!
You hit the nail on the head! 10,000 followers (good ones) will make them and you more money than you can as a minnow just starting out! Gotta start somewhere right? Learn to Earn! Steem On!

I like your perspective. I'm hoping to see steem back low for a short while before August 1st so I can load up and power up. I think you're totally right on here. Good luck.

Yeah if Steem drops again I am buying up a bunch more! Very smart move, thanks for reading! Followed you back!

Nice post man. I'm new on steam and I find your post very valuable for newbies like me. I've resteemed, upvoted and followed you.

Awesome glad it was of some use! Followed you back! Can't wait to see what you share with the community!

Welcome to Steemit. I am new here as well. Less than 30 Days. I initially purchased some Steem earlier on and added to my account. 21.132 Steem I bought on Bittrex. Which has helped grow my account. Thank you for the reminder with this post. I am going to make an effort to budget in the purchase of $10 USD of Steem each payday (regardless of market price) in a year that should be a respectable amount. Love, Peace & Hair Grease!

Agreed good move! Make sure to dedicate it all to Powering Up with Steem Power and keep track of your voting power! Follow me back I will continue to post about my travels here for my fellow steemians! Steem On!

Gave you a follow Glenn. Look forward to your writings.

Thanks! Hope I can help a few people and we all Learn and Earn together! Steem On!

Loading...

Good I will buy some steemit.

Good move! Thanks for reading! Followed you back!

Nice post deej! I look forward to reading more!

Thanks jon! Starting to get this whole steemit thing!

thanks for the value information man , wish you the best ;)

Resteem upvote and follow me to keep up to date!

Thanks for reading!

Thanks for the testimonial. Not everyone can or have the means to buy Steem though.

Agreed but if you can or have any BTC it is a good time to buy some and power up. Thanks for reading! Followed you!

Buy all tou can now, it's going up up up!

thanks. i'm starting to get the whole idea little by little

Glad to help! Resteem, up vote and follow me as we grow the community!

Def a huge 100% boost! This was the first thing I did and it's def helped me and has kept me engaged because now im fully invested in the idea of a world wide community and its awesome!

Agreed, after trying to make even a few pennies I realized powering up was the only way to actually matter here! Glad to have you on board, feel free to up vote, re-steem and follow me as we grow!

Great post, thanks!

I have tried to "promote" a couple times but it doesn't work for me!??

I have sbd but the box just stays empty..,what am i doung wrong?

Thanks for reading! I just looked at your account and you should have up to $34 to use for promoting in your Steem Dollars. When you create a post and click promote is still empty?

Yep... it's like i'm trying to do something i'm not allowed to -- very frustrating!

You aren't powering down are you?

Hell no! To the contrary... i'm powering up and want to be able to promote my best posts...

Smart move!

Stacking that steem power like a superhero! great post! following you.

Agreed! Thanks for reading followed you back! Steem On!

Short and simple, but very informative. Great post

IT is Very Informative though,, 1 question?? How to buy this stuff??

In your wallet you can directly purchase using Bitcoin Steem Power or an exchange such as Bittrex you can purchase Steem and send it here to power up! If you purchase on an exchange here is how to send it: https://steemit.com/steemit/@bigdeej/how-to-send-steem-from-an-exchange-to-steemit

Thanks @bigdeej, i'm just getting the hang of Steemit and wanted to learn the right way and understand. And your post helped me out with that! Very much appreciated!

Glad to help make sure to follow, up vote good posts, and resteem good posts to build your following up!

So if I understand you right you put 100 STEEM dollars into promotion of each of your post?

Following you. I opened one topic about this, will be glad if you share your 2 cents:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@pocketrocket/tips-or-tricks-steemit-users-please-help-a-newbie

Thanks for reading, no I use about 25 Steem Dollars on certain posts as I am feeling out the platform. I'll read over your posts for sure! Take a look at these posts as well if you want more tips: Be sure to follow me back and take a look at these articles to get you started!
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-are-you-powering-down-when-you-should-be-powering-up
and also this one: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigdeej/why-purchasing-steem-power-and-steem-dollars-matters-beginners-guide

good, it is so helpful for the beginner 's like me

Glad to help! Be sure to follow and resteem posts you enjoy to help grow your earnings!

spend to make ? Thats crazy talk ! Like snorting a tablespoon of water . Haaa !! Nice post , I'm just a plankton but I'm also a Production Foremen in the Cabinet and Furniture industry for over 30 years . One thing I see is the "Bandwidth " is like product give me a stack of product I'll turn it into profit . If you have product and don't use it up you have excess or waste . In production waste is accounted for to a point that it is profitable i.e. off-fall.
With Steem it's a bucket brigade pulling from same pond driving a water wheel the harder we drive / move material the harder the wheel turns the more juice it pumps and we want the juice . So turn the wheel with bandwidth , what I'm just a little rustynut . upvoted resteemed and followed.

Hello @bigdeej. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

welcome to steemit and good luck in achieving your goals !! @bigdeej

Thanks! Feel free to follow me!

This post received a 3.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bigdeej! For more information, click here!

Welcome @bigdeej ! Joining Steemit will change your life.

Agreed I love it already! Thanks for reading I followed you back as well!

My first day on steemit. Interesting approach you have here, I will consider it for myself as well.

Hope to see more from you, following you now.

Thanks for reading followed you back!

hi

Thanks for reading!

Great post, thanks!

Glad it could help you out! Thanks for reading and followed back!

Thanks you for the advise I am tryed to grow here

Thanks for reading! Followed you back!

yes i agree.. i've been changing my steem dollars to steem power as soon as i build up enough and just keep a small float of dollars for promoting my posts.

Its so disheartening to post a really good post and to see no votes

So yes i would definitely recommend buying steem power

Agreed 100% you only need enough steem/dollars just to do basic promotions and tip people other than that all should be dedicated to Powering Up your SP!

Thanks for the great tip. I was wondering about buying and will be after this.

Awesome glad I could help a little! Followed you back! Thanks for reading!

Appreciate your honesty and sharing your experience so far. Very true what you have observed. I have also observed very good posts from newbies who get little or no reward while other not so interesting ones get very high rewards. I will follow your advise but first I need to find out how to buy the SBD as I am very very new on this business. I am only 3 days here! Again thanks a lot for this info and am looking forward to more.

Simply go to you wallet and click "Power Up" or "Buy" and you can send Bitcoin to buy here directly! Thanks for reading glad to have you on board!

But that is the problem. I have not bought any crypto currency before, so I have no idea how and where to start. Any guidance?

In your wallet here you can buy Steem Power directly there using Bitcoin.

This is awesome advice for beginners like myself. I wish I could follow it :D Hopefully that will change as my earnings rise.

In any case, you are doing the Lord's work, sir lol Way to commit to the Steemit ecosystem :D

Commit 100% of your rewards to Powering Up if you can't buy directly! Every drop helps you more and more! Glad to help as much as I can!

That's a good post. Anyone have a post on how to Withdraw STEEM from exchange to here? Can't find a good tutorial. Do you just send to your STEEM name or what?

Great info! I've been considering purchasing some Steem power in order to do what you've described in this post. My voting power doesn't carry much weight but I've only been here a week. I think the key is to have the expectation that one will enjoy posting here and if you make money then that's great, but to have fun doing it.

We all would like for this to be a life-changing experience as new users as we see some people earn hundreds of dollars per post but what many don't know is how much hard work those users put into their account for many months.

It seems like karma comes into play here...if one is kind to other users and comments on and upvotes posts that they find interesting, he/she can expect a bit better results than if you just spam and don't pay attention to others.

I've followed you and upvoted this post. THanks for the helpful information!

Agreed very good insight! Powering up helps you earn more as a curator and from what I notice gains your reputation faster. This particular post is over $90 expected payout thanks to a few whales that up voted it so you are 100% right about getting good content created.
Thanks for reading I followed you back!

well i m having the same prolem u discused but with 1 additional problem. and that is i don't have 1400 dollars as well,. so guess i'll have to wait

Just dedicate 100% to your Steem Power when you make posts and get as much as possible. I have been cashing out some ETH and BTC to power up. Followed you back! Thanks for reading I'll keep updating my following as I learn more!

Great post @bigdeej I was in a dilemma of buying Steem myself, your post gave me confidence to do so. But with all this news around Bitcoin I was a little skeptical. By the time the Segwit air cleared out, Bitcoin touched $2700 +. From my country I cant buy Steem directly and in order to buy BTC in Indian exchanges I might end up buying steem @$1.75 due to the conversion costs involved. What do you suggest, should I dive in right now or wait for the 1st August wave to settle down a little?

And, oh yes, Upvoted & Followed you. :)

Every day you have less SP you earn less here especially if you are even remotely active here. This Bitcoin stuff seems pretty solid right now you can read more on that here: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@bigdeej/bitcoin-cash-what-it-is-and-how-it-effects-you-bitcoin

Thanks for reading I will do a little more researching and get some more posts out to help clarify things! I followed you back! Steem On!

Great post! I did buy some steem to power up and I can see how it helped. @bigdeej I have only been on here for about two weeks. I am starting to gain a little traction with my posts. If you have the time can you look at my blog and see if you have any suggestions. Thanks

Will do thanks for reading! I followed you back! Steem On!

This is great, I am new here, and keep thinking this is the key to help boost your content and your blog in genera. Great info.

Thanks for reading! Glad to help a little bit! Followed you back!

Fantastic advice! I'm new too and it's difficult to wrap my head around my account being an investment and an asset at the same time. The most success I've had with posts is to write tutorial style posts that provoke further discussion in the comments. There're plenty of photographers on Steemit, which is great but I wonder about people with other niche interests and how I could appeal to them as well. Cheers :) Upvoted and followed

Glad you found it useful! This platform is like nothing I have ever seen before, I see pictures earning $100s! Thanks for reading! Followed you back!

Nice article. I'm new to steemit also, and this was very helpful!

Glad to help out! Followed you back!

Good post. I m just starting and yesterday I bought some stp and you look the difference. Do you recommend to buy mostly stp???

https://steemit.com/@bigdeej/transfers
You can see in my account I have over 99% in my SteemPower. I assume stp you mean SP or Steem Power? I practice what I preach! Thanks for reading! Followed you back!

Thanks for your advice!! And your follow 😃

Very cool, I am going to have to put some money in. Planning for end of this week as I boost up my alt coins.

This here is a smart Steemian! Steem On!

This just convinced me even more to do it! Thank you! Looking forward to applying this! I'll be sure to follow you! I'm currently building my network and I'm now at 50 followers. Still I think I shouldnt forget about authenticity. Again many thanks!

Hi,
I tried to get it from comments, but still not convinced, so please let me ask it directly.
Does this mean that when you vote, say you vote my comment, my comment will earn me more money? In that case, what is the gain to you?
Or does it mean that when I vote your article, you get more steem dollars? I didn't see that happen, because I upvoted your article and it rose only by $0.01.
Thanks for reply!

There are 2 pages
Pages