(_Clears throat, taps mic_) Is this thing on?

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey there!
IMG_0279.PNG
My name is Torri (Hi, Torri) and I'm new here. Very excited -- but very new. Bear with me as I learn from you guys how to be a part of this awesome community?

So this is where I'm supposed to introduce myself, yeah? Ok, so, I guess first off, you should know I run entirely off of this stuff:

IMG_0248.PNG

With major assistance from this guy.

IMG_0246.PNG

Here's a picture of my office...

IMG_7044.JPG

I'm a flight attendant. See proof below.

IMG_1303.JPG

You see, I love to travel.

IMG_0757.PNG

Like, love to travel.

IMG_4460.JPG

Plus, I'm allergic to a 9-5. But. I do have that coffee and wine habit to support...so I figured I should probably just come up with a way to get paid to travel. Viola!

IMG_8426.JPG

If I'm not in the sky, I'm usually trying to be somewhere like this:

IMG_3030.PNG

Or this:

IMG_5540.JPG

and this ain't bad...

Image.jpg

Bottom line -- outside, in nature, breathing deeply. In a perfect world, a campfire is nearby.

IMG_4936.JPG

Book lover, baseball fanatic, theatre geek, choir nerd. My relationship with peanut butter may be considered by some as unhealthy, and I don't like pickles (does anyone?). My perfect night is spent with good people discussing complex ideas over a great bottle(s) of wine.

And that's kinda the Steemit gig, yeah? Interesting people of all different backgrounds and viewpoints coming together to discuss and appreciate the vast intricacies of humanity and society and technology and art and culture and how they intersect. I mean, right?

(Whistles under breath)
Count me in -- and thanks in advance for welcoming me to the party.

Sort:  

Welcome Torri, I love the pictures you have selected for your first post. You have an amazing 'office' view. I will say though that I do love pickles...in fact, I jarred my own using cucumbers from my garden.

I'm following you and I love that you are adding your own amazing experiences to this community!

Fresh, home-jarred pickles could perhaps be my gateway pickle. (I'm also jealous that you have a bountiful garden. Nothing better than fresh food you cultivate w your own hands) Thx for the follow (returned) and the welcome!

My son works for an airline and can fly nonrev anywhere. He has taken some awesome trips. I've tried to encourage him to share his travels and stories here, but he has little interest in Steemit. I'm glad you do! What an exceptional opportunity you have and I hope you share it all here.

Ah, that sweet, sweet non-rev life. Good for him taking advantage of it! And maybe he'll change his mind. Perfect job for Steemit discourse.

Welcome to Steemit :D

Welcome to Steemit! I sometimes review wines in #steempub and I fly smaller planes for leasure.....it really is a fun community!

Wine, planes and Steemit. A lovely trifecta.

Hi Torri.. Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit..🌹.. You are very Pretty..!!!!!.. This is a nice intro post with pictures.... I hope you will do great over here as a steemian..😊.. Follow Me @onority

Welcome! So jealous of your lifestyle! I work a 9-5 so I can totally understand why you would be allergic to it! I'm trying to make my way into something I'm more passionate about as well, but for now, I'll take it. What is the most remote place you've ever been? I feel like with everything we see here in the US, a remote place seems fantastic right about now!

Yes welcome, and i love that photo of you in the cockpit!

Haha thanks! It's a classic flight attendant shot. That, and sitting in an engine. We all have those two!

Welcome to steemit torri, always wanted a flight attendant kinda job. hope to see pictures of new places you travel to.

Thanks! Great job, and always hiring...

Upvoted! welocme to the platform, love travelminded people, will keep an eye out for your posts.
Love to travel, did so for 4years and worked on a Cruise ship to copy your lifestyle. back in Amsterdam for now decided on whats next! Enjoy game 7 tonight! again welcome and enjoy the platform

Cruise ship life has very similar feel and benefits!I know quite a few flight attendants that worked on ships before going to aviation. We're interesting birds, us gypsys. Thanks for upvote...And go 'stros! (Anyone but the Dodgers haha)

haha i can feel the passion, I love Basketball and had a season seat when I when i lived in Toronto for year and a half. just decided to meet up and watch the game, will start here at 01:00
I applied to be a flight attendant as well and got hired but decided to pick a job with more income, now i regrat it a little just need to tavel again! GO Gypsys

No one becomes a flight attendant to get rich, that's for sure! Haha (go Raptors!)

Hey Torri, welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steemit, Torri. I like your post and the photos are great. I'm sure you'll enjoy being a part of this amazing community.

You're brimming with energy and overflowing with joy, thanks for being part of this community! i love your pictures you're talented!
take a look to my profile you'll travel away! i'll follow you so i can enjoy your arts!!!!

torrijan congratulation steemit our community .

Welcome to Steemit!

Wish I had time to travel, but I have a lot to do here :)

Welcome Tori, looking forward to more! Coffee and wine, a travelers fuel. Feel free to follow another traveler or contact if you need anything!

Welcome aboard!

What's up Torri. Welcome to Steemit.

I have so many questions for you now. ahah :)

As a flight attendant, do you have time to do your own thing as well?

Absolutely. That's the second reason we have the job. 1) travel 2) flexible schedule. So not only do we get good layovers in cool places to explore -- but we have plenty of days off for time to do other travel or creative ventures or what have you. It's not always glamorous, but it's a pretty sweet gig!

I figured that it wasn't always glamorous. I've considered the profession, but I'd need to figure out a way to keep my youtube/brand alive. I guess I could always do travel blogs

Welcome to Steemit from Canada 👍

Welcome to Steem.

Congratulations @torrijan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Okay Torri,
I wasn't going to comment but you got me in with your "Go Stros".
Houston as a city, and franchise need to win this tonight.So I second your comment "Go Stros"
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Dodgers lost and a worthy franchise and great (and recovering) city got a much needed boost. All is right and balanced in the baseball world. Amen.

I love your pictures!
Welcome to steemit @torrijan.

I did not know about introduceyourself before, I need to do mine too =)

Welcome to the club torrijan. Hope you find this helpful - TIPS in FORMATTING and STYLING your POST on STEEMIT. @sandalphon

Hi @torrijan, as someone who doesn't drink coffee or wine I am always curious as to whether the two can be mixed at all (I mean I have heard of Irish coffee but have no idea what's in it). You'll find plenty of good people here to have a chat, and who knows, you might even meet a few of them on your travels around the world. If you are in Australia please come say hi!

The only times when I've mixed the two are on looooooong days where the morning coffee suddenly turns into the evening wine. Haha Although a great combo is red wine and pure sugar cane Coke-a-Cola on ice. Sounds wierd, but it's so good on a hot afternoon. Think: backyard BBQ sangria twist. (Irish coffee, if I remember right, is coffee, Irish whiskey, sugar, and then foam on top.)

Basically the coffee smell gives me headaches and alcohol feels weird on my tongue. So mixing the two might just put me out cold but I don't want to find out :D

I've had sangria before but even the slight bit of alcohol seems to ruin the fruit flavour for me :p Yet apparently I don't have any problem downing Hendrick's Gin so I am still trying to figure it out :D

Hi @torrijan and welcome to Steemit. Lots of nice travel pics you got ;) I wish you all the best for your future. I will follow your account. Greetings from Mongolia, Silbart.

Mongolia is HIGH on my wish list for countries to visit soon! (Although I might wait for summer weather, haha)

Yea its better to travel Mongolia between end of june and beginning of september. Give me a sign if You plan for it. Have a great day !! Silbart.

Welcome to the platform! Can't wait to hear more about your travels.

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @torrijan
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Congratulations @torrijan, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2384 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $282.69. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations @torrijan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to the community torrijan :)

Glad you made it! You will do well on here! Thanks for sharing. Have a great day. Feel free to ping me if you have questions. I remember how crazy it was in the beginning trying to figure everything out on here.

Thank you! Man, everyone is so generous on here. It's so great!

Its the only social media that can turn the trolls into productive social animals. LOL

Hello @torrijan, welcome to steemit community
Hello @torrijan, Selamat bergabung dengan komunitas steemit.
salam

Welcome!! Nice to meet you and thank you for sharing! (:
I enjoyed your introduction a lot, you made me smile with you (:

Hey Torri, welcome to the community! Coffee and Wine, nice! You love to travel and your job takes you to places, that's great. Fantastic pictures, thanks for sharing them. You seem like an interesting person too. I will look forward to seeing more post from you. Have fun and keep Steeming On.

Pleased to meet you, Torri!
Lucky you get to see the world. ;)

Welcome! Be sure to keep us updated on all your travels. Pictures of exotic places around the world are awesome.

Congratulations @torrijan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!