Surinamese Kitchen : Mouth Watering Food For The Soul

Yesterday I wrote my first post on Steemit about myself and the country I live in ;Suriname.
I would like to thank everyone for the positive comments and suggestions on how to become a better Steemian .

The reactions to my postrevealed that some of you wanted to know more about the Surinamese cuisine. Therefore, I will talk about food in Suriname today.

food2.jpg

The ancestors of the Surinamese are from Asia, Africa, America and Europe. Each population has added the most delicious dishes from their traditional cuisine to the Surinamese cuisine. No wonder the Surinamese cuisine is not only delicious, but also exceptionally delicious!

I have collected some typical Surinamese dishes that you should definitely try if you visit Suriname in the future!

Roti is a native Indian dish, which the Hindostans brought to Suriname from India. It still looks the most like a rolled pancake, where you can stop everything. For example, you should think of stocking strap (a kind of Surinamese Bean Bean), all kinds of meat and potatoes. From a roti you will be pretty full! In addition, they are usually seasoned well.

food1.jpg

Saoto soup :This soup is a Javanese invention. It is a kind of chicken soup, but then very well filled. In the soup you can find egg, rice, onions, all kinds of vegetables and potatoes. You can make the saoto soup as spicy as you like.

food4.jpg

Pom. This typical Creole dish is made with chicken, salted beef and pomtayer. You can eat it, but also do a sandwich.

food3.jpg

I have one word for our Surinamese kitchen. It's delicious!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @unclesam :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

@unclesam dt food looks deeeelicios i hope i can eat them someday anyways welcome to this wonder world of steemit follow everyone if u wana get followed follow me i will follow u

Nice pictures

These food look so captivating and yummy 😋
Thanks for sharing your interesting story alongside these delicious meals.

I would love to eat there! Seems so inviting!!!

Looks good! I love trying new foods :-)

great to know that your from suriname. I am Indonesian, there are alot of Indonesian decendant over there right?

looks great :)