Mingalabar from Myanmar... or Sawadee Ka from Thailand?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

My name is Veronica and I come from Myanmar or Burma if you prefer the old naming system. Personally I prefer to say Myanmar as it's more inclusive of all the different nationalities we have in our borders. Myanmar is roughly the size of France and it's located between Thailand, Laos, China, India and Bangladesh.
ORG_DSC06668.jpg

Myanmar is a very diverse country. Even though majority of people living here are Burmese, we also have seven different nationalities such as Kayah, Mon, Chin, Kayin, Rakhine and Shan living in the states bearing the same names. If that wasn't complicated enough the country is also divided into 13 different divisions (regions), self-administered zones and self-administered divisions jointly inhabited ny 135 officially recognized ethnic minorities! Apart from Burmese (Myanmar), they all speak different languages such as Shan, Karen, Kachin, Mon, Mon-Khmer and different Chin languages.
IMG_0606.jpg

My father is Mon-Chinese, my mother is Shan-PaO (a mix of Shan and one of the hill tribes). One of my grandfathers was ethnic Chinese who fled from China to Myanmar during the war. The other one is 100% PaO. One of my grandmothers is Shan, while the second one was Mon-Khmer. What does it make me? Go figure...;-)
IMG_2668.jpg

I was born and spent most of my life in Taunggyi, the capital of a spectacular, hilly, always-green southern Shan State. Last year I graduated from the University of Foreign Languages in Yangon, where I've also lived for a few years. I can speak Myanmar (Burmese), English, French, German, Chinese and a few other tribal languages you probably have never heard about!
IMG_0855.JPG

I guess I have itchy feet... How otherwise you could explain that even though I am only 22 years old, I've already traveled to 24 countries? I've also lived for a few months in Germany and Cambodia. Most recently I moved to Bangkok in Thailand.
IMG_0345.jpg

Many people in Asia think that black is an unlucky colour. Not me though as I'm a total fan of everything black from fashion through cosmetics to food. As Yohji Yamamoto said: "Black is modest and arrogant at the same time. Black is lazy and easy - but mysterious. But above all black says this: I don't bother you. You don't bother me."

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @veron.iica! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Yo Veronica! Finally on Steemit!
I wish you good luck and your intro post is an awesome start indeed! Upvoted and shared! Keep it up!

Thanks David ☺️

Welcome to Steemit Voranica! Nice introduction, I like it! ;)

Warmly welcome veronica.
Have a nice time in steemit.

Thanks. 🙂

Welcome, Veronica aka black panther! ;)) (just because you love black). Wow, you've been to 24 countries and can speak so many languages at age 22! That's a gift I guess :) Best of luck. Followed

I am into healthy lifestyle, motivation and more in case you would like to visit my channel :) VALUE guaranteed

Thank you. I like the name "black panther", it's my spiritual animal. (;
I'm also into healthy lifestyle and like to read motivational quotes. Followed you. (:

Veronica! It's great to see you on steemit! We met each other in Bangkok when hanging out with Maya and Conrad! I remember you telling me you spoke a few languages but I had no idea it was that many! I am super impressed and very inspired! I hope to be able to speak even half that many one day. Myanmar seems to be incredibly diverse and it is really cool that you can speak so many of the tribal languages especially since many languages around the world are starting to be forgotten. I hope you enjoy your time here on steemit and hopefully we will meet again somewhere down the road. Safe travels and happy adventures!

Welcome back to Steemit! I can't wait to read and see your travel stories!

Hey there!! :)
I met you in Bangkok !

It's cool to see you posting on Steemit!!
I am looking forward to seeing your awesome posts

Hey. I remember you and have good memories!
It's nice to connect with you on Steemit. (:
Plus your posts are amazing. (;

awww!!! Yea!!! :) Excited to see more! It was so nice to meet you :)

I am glad you like it. More will be coming soon. Stay tuned (;
I like your posts too.
It was amazing to meet you in Bangkok. (:

welcome to steemit.. :D

Selamat bergabung di steemit kawan, semoga di steemit ini kita bisa saling mendukung, salam dari saya @iqbal-pase, berasal dari lhokseumawe, Aceh. Saya juga pemula disini, mohon dukunganya di postingan pertama saya ini

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@iqbal-pase/introduction-hi-stemians-i-m-iqbal-pase-a-new-comer-bilingual

ENGLISH
Congratulations to join in steemit friend, hopefully in this steemit we can support each other, greetings from me @iqbal-pase, coming from lhokseumawe, Aceh. I am also a beginner here, please support it in my first post

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@iqbal-pase/introduction-hi-stemians-i-m-iqbal-pase-a-new-comer-bilingual

Great intro, Welcome to this Steemit Family ! It is a great community. i hope you go enjoy here. keep it up. @arvindkumar Please upvote & follow me

Welcome to Steemit!
Hope you get to enjoy wonderful human company here.

Welcome to the best community ever which values our hardwork . Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch by following @sarinakhan

I see you learned the tags already at level 25👍
Welcome to Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit.

These are some really cool pictures and great info. Thanks for sharing and welcome!

Welcome to Steemit Community Veronica, I really like your introduction .. enjoyed reading it. and you know what! I am a fan of black color too since it is never die lol love it :-)

Well you have a wonderful day dear and hope to read you more baby.
T.J.

Welcome to Steemit Community, hope you enjoy it