Greetings from Canada! Excited to join Steem!

Hey everyone! My name is Will Wei and I'm a student by day, musician by night. I play a couple of instruments, but piano is the one I turn to when the stresses of college swallow me up. One of the most difficult tasks in the world is going outside of one’s comfort zone. For me, it’s also one of the most rewarding experiences. I love trying and learning new things.

smaller.jpg
Fig 1. Cycling on campus, Canada. Picture taken right before I fell off. ‘Cause I suck at unicycling on grass.

When I was little, I moved around a lot, so I found it very hard to make new friends. I would live a year or two in one place, then move to a different school. Wash, rinse, repeat. Because of my parents’ work, I went to a different school every year between grades 7 and 11. Three of the schools were in Ontario, Canada, two were in North Carolina, USA. I had quite the time trying to settle in, to say the least. Regardless of where I was, I was confident in two things: my music and my laptop. In the US, I got a digital piano keyboard that I still have now. It’s travelled with me over 2800 miles across the US and Canada. I also used to game quite a bit on my laptop.

I was first exposed to Bitcoin in late 2016, when a pharmacy near my college got a new Bitcoin atm that allowed you to buy Bitcoin using cash (with hella fees). I thought it was interesting and bought about $30 worth of BTC. Didn’t think much about it for a year. So when I checked it and saw that it was then worth about $200, I thought that was cool (if only I’d invested more!). I began to do more research into blockchain and cryptocurrencies and before I knew it, I was convinced that decentralized online ledgers will be the future of currency and transactions. The world of cryptocurrencies and altcoins is so new and exciting and I wanted to know so much more about it. One thing led to another and here I am making my first post on Steem!

Anyways, I’m excited to meet all of you and strive toward a future where complete financial and internet freedom is not just a wild optimistic figment of our imagination. Please leave a comment below to let me know what you are all interested in. I’d love to have a discussion! Thanks for reading this far into my post! Here’s some more pictures for you to enjoy.

20170731_123343.jpg
Fig 2. A railroad in BC. Taken using phone.

5-03no9 e^-4x^2 10000.png
Fig 3. A mandelbrot fractal I programmed (yes I’m a geek!). Each colour of each pixel represents the number of repeats needed to get out of the yellow circle.

IMG_0912.JPG
Fig 4. The great American eclipse, 2017 in Madras, Oregon. Me and a couple buddies drove to Oregon to experience our first total solar eclipse! The glow is from the corona of the sun and Mercury is the dot in the lower left center.

I hope you all have a great day! Please resteem @willswei because if there’s a Will, there’s a Wei! 😁

Sort:  

Thank you for joining us!

Hello! It's nice to see you here! Hope you enjoy it on here as much as I do.
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome to Steem Community @willswei! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steemit @willswei :D

Welcome to Steemit northern friend! I'm jealous of the solar eclipse, wanted to drive south to see it so bad. Look forward to more posts!

Thank you! There's going to be another Solar eclipse in 2024 in eastern North America. You could see it then!

welcome to steemit sir. :D

Thank you! Looking forward to experiencing this new technology with everyone

One of the most difficult tasks in the world is going outside of one’s comfort zone.

Very much agreed. Even after years of being outside my comfort zone, I still experience setbacks. It's good that you have a positive outlook about this. ^^

Welcome to Steemit willswei! I hope you have a very good time here as much as I do. Nice photos, by the way. It's amazing that you were able to take a shot on the eclipse ^^

Thanks! I try to be optimistic whenever I can. I got a couple of partial phase eclipse pics from holding eclipse glasses to my camera in a really sketch way, but they turned out okay haha.
eclipse.jpg

That's really cool. ^^

Hey Will! Welcome to steemit. I am sure you're going to enjoy your time here among fun people. Feel free to tag me if you have any question :)

GREAT to SEE you! I guess, welcome aboard the Steemit Train! You are already a great blessing to us all by being on this platform with us.All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Hey Will great photos. Nice to see you here. I hope you like it and have nice time with us :)

I love your blog already and i do hope you can be as straightforward and easy to follow as this mostly... Its really cool you try to do different things and it will be cool if you bring that difference to Steemit