Introducing myself:-) @WrenchCrowbar

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Well where to start? It always seems so easy, but then again so hard, talking about yourself so I guess I will do the introduction through my experiences:

I have lived and worked in many different countries, originally born in the Netherlands I worked and lived for 7 years in Ireland and over 4 years in Spain. The industries I have worked in are Banking/Finance, IT and Hospitality. Among my track record I worked in a managing capacity for 4 different Fortune 500 companies. I traveled extensively during my younger years through many great countries and I believe many influences fro around the world created the person I am today.

I have been an avid gamer for over 30 years (hate how that shows my age:-) A long time ago I played on a commodore 64 at a friends place and I was hooked! It was amazing for me to see how I could control things on a tv through a joystick with 2 buttons on it and make characters move and other actions to achieve a goal set by a game environment.
From that point onward I moved to a 8 bit Nintendo and the first game i fully owned myself was called Castlevania. Very hard game at the time but then again I was pretty young back then. The game that always throughout the ages kept my attention was 'The legend of Zelda'

I ended up owning a 16 bit and 64 bit Nintendo, a gamecube, a Playstation 2 with an insane amount of games, a Sega Megadrive and inbetween I kept upgrading my PC. And I am very proud to say everything is still in working order!

Though I still enjoy playing on my old consoles I am more into PC gaming nowadays. I played many MMORPG's too many to list really but some of them are: WoW (first 3 expansions), Warhammer online (still playing on the Return of Reckoning Private Server), Guild Wars 2, The Elder Scrolls Online, ArcheAge, Black Desert Online (BDO) etc.

In my PC gaming days I was known to be an extremely demanding raid leader and teacher. (I taught many though they will never admit it). You would either love the dedication and intensity or you would hate it. I never made an excuse for this as it was the way it worked for me and it is the person I am. We had some amazing experiences and I believe the achievements would speak for themselves. As always, there will be people who will not agree and you are free to do so:-)

A long time after BDO I decided to make my hobby my work and I joined a company (Cavemen Studios) to participate in creating our own games. We are currently working on a browser version of a Space FPS and it is great to see it slowly (ow so slowly...) come alive.

Having worked for years in International Management in several countries I utilize the previous gained experience to help the my current employer in a Marketing capacity and adviser for the Management Team. Being an avid gamer for years and now having the chance to create something with the company that other people will (hopefully:-) play has been like fulfilling a long dream I did not even realize I had.

My current hobbies are still gaming although with a lot less intensity as I use too, and I am a beginner cryptocurrency person: how does one call that? Cryptonian?!? (I hope Superman does not read my post!) I recently went into Vertcoin and am learning as much as I can about all crypto in general.

Fun fact: Had a chance to buy 1000 Bitcoin in 2011 and thought it was never gonna work..... (/facepalm)

Edit: I also really enjoy watching movies:-)

For my most important topic in this post:

During my travels and busy work schedules I also managed to find the love of my life who I absolutely adore! She has been my main motivator for almost every action I take and I truly feel blessed for having her enrich our life together. My wife is a artist and our house decorated by pieces she made or refurbished herself.

If you read this bunny, you know I love you!

Well there is me in a nutshell.

Thank you for approving my account so I can join this community!

Kind regards,

Wrench Crowbar

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to the community!

Congratulations @wrenchcrowbar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit wrench. I am sure you are going to have fun here :)

Thank you:-)

Hello friend born in Netherlands:) . Nice long story :) Keep posting nice stuff - I am now, and I will upvote and follow you :) , at least at start, when I have not too many people to follow and enough time to do it.
I strongly recomend my short tutorial on Steemit (from beginners-mine- point of view): https://steemit.com/steemit/@abc.love.steemit/from-beginner-me-to-beginners-how-to-succeed-what-is-and-what-to-do-on-steemit-my-first-few-days-on-steemit-video-by-abc-of-love
Have a nice day and good luck :)

Hi there, that was fast:-) and thank you!

I have a follower! (feeling so important now:-)

I will check out your tutorials.

Kind regards,

Wrench Crowbar

Hey bro:-) Is that from Wanted?
Sorry am a movie watcher lol (probably could have added then in my intro post:-)

I just edited it in!

I want to welcome you in the family, and to help if is required .
I give you an upvote check my Steem power
give me follow and i will support you in the future .

Congratulations @wrenchcrowbar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @wrenchcrowbar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @wrenchcrowbar! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @wrenchcrowbar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for the feedback:-)