Intro and Festival Work Overview

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Nice to meet you Steemit! Y S A here. I thought a short overview of some of my time working at festivals over the past few years would be a fun way to introduce myself to everyone.


Bonnaroo Staff Passes 2014-2016

I had been living in New Orleans for a few years working at restaurants and doing event work wherever I could when in 2012 word came around that a new festival was being put on. Rather than traditional NOLA lineups with stacked with local Jazz and Blues artists, BUKU festival was going to be geared towards a younger crowd. Excited about the fresh modern lineup, I applied to volunteer with hospitality. While the position required more experience than the general volunteer positions, I was banking on my minimal time as a 'stage manager’ during college pushing me through. It payed off. Not only did I get the position, but it turned out that hospitality was short staffed, and if I was up for it, they would give me a full access staff pass in exchange for me working beyond my scheduled volunteer time. I jumped at the chance, and all weekend I was putting together riders, meeting artists, and having all kinds of amazing experiences I’ll never forget.

(Sorry for picture quality, I didn't know how to take pictures back then)


BUKU 2012 Staff Pass


On stage during Skrillex


Me and Avicii


A shot of the main stage crowd

My dedicated (volunteer) work with the hospitality crew at BUKU 2012 landed me a job with hospitality at Jazz Fest


Jazz Fest Main Stage before opening


Jazz Fest Main Stage after opening

...which led to a job at Bonnaroo


...which led to something called IMPULSE (which is a wild story for another time...), which led to… you get the idea.
These days my main yearly festival is Bonnaroo, with varying fests throughout the year depending on who i’ve worked with and who invites me where. In addition to festival work, I make music, take photos, and just generally try to stay creative. I have also traveled to Japan many times and was even lucky enough to help a band on tour through Okinawa once! I’m excited to share some pictures and stories from my past and, even more so, my upcoming future with you all.

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
This introduction post has been nominated for the @projectnewbie incentive where we try and get new and verified users more visibility on their first post to make it easier to connect to other users!
If you have any questions about it, this is the Announcement Post. Have fun Steeming! :)

Hell yeah, promote verified users! We need more dope users like @ysa

Wurd to @projectnewbie that is very noble

Wow, we have probably been to a lot of the same events.

Amazing pics, you have had quite an experience ;)

Can't wait to see more.

Hey, there, welcome to the community! I wrote an article about my experiences after 2 months of going at Steemit.com hardcore. Read it over as it may have some hints, tips and tricks of the trade that will help you better utilize the site!
https://steemit.com/life/@tee-em/confessions-of-a-steemit-addict-wisdom-thoughts-and-results-from-2-months-on-the-platform

Very nice man! Welcome to steemit :)

Wow what a cool insight you must get... behind the scenes and all... am jealous hehe

dayum now that's the life

Listen to the beautiful sounds, see the beautiful people, what a lovely place. #heaven

Right? Thats some scenery.