You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello, World! [WIP]

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

Confusing indeed. The Hive blockchain is a fork of Esteem, but the Esteem name lingers on a lot of Hive DApps/repos. The blockchain name "Hive" is challenge by a company called "Hive Blockchain Limited(?)", so maybe Hive will have to change it's name in the future.

Sort:  

You mean it's a fork of Steemit and the Steem blockchain, I believe. Esteem is just another interface, a mobile app. Actually, I only get proper notifications in Esteem. I don't see all notifications on PeakD nor Hive.blog. The interfaces are not ready for prime time. I've ended up losing content as I have edited without doing a refresh first (happened on PeakD). And this thing about voting, powering up and down, supporting a certain type of users etc. etc. It's super confusing indeed. And it's not easy getting any help either. At least, I have not received many answers to my requests.

My initial reaction is that this technology is far too immature for the general public. I feel it's a long way to go. If you want it to replace Facebook it should be equally user friendly. Maybe the idea was never to replace such a service, but then you can't call it web 3.0.

Minds is a lot easier to use. However, my impression is that there the blockchain is only used to reward users. Hence, the content might very well be censored.

Yes, you are correct, I only skim through stuff to get a general idea, and then rely on feedback like yours for correction. (Please have me excused for this laziness, I blame family life and old habits of thinking I have time enough)

The funny thing about all this is that waiting it out until it is "ready for mum" is chipping in for the status quo. Time to get wet, I think.

No worries.

Yes, you have a very good point. Web 1.0 was not ready for mum in the beginning either. However, with time and effort that did change. More hands on deck and this can for sure become more user friendly. I would, for example, love seeing the implementation of SQRL, if that is possible. It would make life a lot easier.