Hello there !! I am Ivan a archaeologist, tourist guide in Croatia and this is my first post on Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

This would be my introduction post!!

IMG_20180109_144308_01.jpg

Hello Steemit community! My name is Ivan, I am 33 years old and live in Šibenik, Croatia and yes it is the town where parts of the 5th season of Game of Thrones where filmed. Šibenik is a small town on the Adriatic coast placed in central Dalmatia, with huge historical significance and for a long time was of the map. I am a Šibenik native but was not born here in Croatia. I grew up in Germany, went to school there, up to the 7th grade. During the late 90s after Croatia's independence , family decided move back to the old country. I have two brothers, one of them @alktoni is on Steemit for some time now and he was the one who told me all about Steemit and gave me a few tips on how to start.

IMG-20170621-WA0002.jpeg

Behind me is Skradinski buk one of the waterfalls in Krka National Park. Does not look like much,because of drought last summer, over four months of no rain.

For the last 2 years I am working or trying to work as a licensed tour guide in Croatia. I am fluent in german, english and croatian. Being a tour guide is a pretty good job, you get to share your knowledge, travel and meet a lot of interesting people and the pay isn't that bad either. Working as a tour guide has also its down sides, it is a seasonal job so you work only for a few months out of the year. In the last few year Croatia is one of the worlds hit holiday destinations and good german and english speaking guides are in high demand, at least that's what I am told. My german is pretty good maybe even excellent, I`am what you call a native speaker but my german writing……….. not so good, one would say. To get an edge in the tourism game here in my country I even took part in online find local guide sites like Showaround and Private guide world, but so far no luck from online gigs, maybe next season.

IMG-b9a2eeb3a68960e36eb3b7bdbe02d911-V.jpg

Coffee break a big big thing here in the Mediterranean.

A background in archaeology is also a big help. I have a bachelor's degree in Archaeology from the university in Zadar and I`am about to finish my masters, only one exam and a theses shy of a new title. My field of interest is the so called croatian national archaeology the dark ages or late antiquity/early middle ages, which are the defining centuries of the early croatian state and nation, but maybe I will try to explain a little about croatian history in future writings, no need to bore you all with that now. I do not intend to write about archaeology here to be honest it is pretty boring subject for most people (and I speak from experience here most go to a happy place when I start japing) and only a few geeks like me share the same enthusiasm for human artifacts or even skeletons dug up out the ground. Field archaeology has absolutely nothing to do with Indiana Jones, it is pretty much a lot of digging, measuring and drawing and takes a long long time for any results :-)

What I would like to do here on Steemit would be some sort of travel guide/blog of Croatia, at least i hope it will evolve to one. A guide with tips from a local mainly about my hometown #Šibenik , the surrounding major cities like Split and Zadar where I went to university. Even smaller unknown of the map and not so mainstream tourist spots you can or would like to visit on your next holiday trip to Croatia. I will try to explain the history, traditions, way of life and if you are like me what to eat and drink here in Croatia. So in short where to go, what to see, what to order in restaurants and bars and what not to do.

IMG_20170621_115120.jpg

All photos were taken with my ONEPLUS X

If you want to know more about Croatia especially Dalmatia coast or if have any interest of any sort please let me know in the comments below.

Sort:  

Ajmo

idemo :)

welcome to steemit, you will do great here

Thank you , still getting the hang of it but I`ll try my best

To ima nas još. Dobrodošao i pozdravi buraza😁

Ima ima, buraz pozdravljen 😁

Welcome! Dobro si se sitija više :)

Thanks! viditi cemu kako ce ici

That's a very beautiful waterfall! I'd love to go there myself.

Skradinski buk, Krka national park one of 7 but the biggest and most beautiful. Down side a lot of people visit this one. Hope you get a chance to check it out some day.

Welcome :D ima puno Dalmatinaca sad tek kužim :)
Primjetio sam Oneplus X jepotpisan ispod slika, ja sam imao oneplus one i mogu rec raketa od moba dan danas :D

Hvala ima nas :-) Slažem se One Plus su straši mobiteli, X je low budget ali i dalje jako dobar mobitel.

welcome to Steemit @zija2022. Invite your friends and family to join Steemit.

Dobrodosao! :)

Hello welcome! Interesting your presentation. I think you have good things to share in the Steemit community. Greetings and I hope you find yourself well.

Thanks, @pantera81 hope to post something new soon.

Pozdrav i dobrodošao!

Hvala i pozdrav

Dobrodoša

Zahvaljujem pozdrav

Ivan! Oh my, everything about this post is perfect, haha. That's amazing that you speak so many languages! I am somewhat fluent in Spanish, and I am trying to learn German, but it has been...rough, haha.

Also, you had me at Game of Thrones! Man I am always blown away by the places they shoot. There hasn't been a place yet (other than the scenes beyond the wall) that I haven't liked! You have to show us ALL the pictures! Just keep 'em coming, and I will be happy!

You are an archeologist too? Man, that's super awesome. I can't wait to see your future posts! Welcome!

Thank you very much! For the encouragement and yea german is a tough language to learn don t give up. I am trying to learn italian with an app its going pretty well so far.

Welcome...ima nas, ima...

Welcome and thanks for sharing

Allaaaa, ima li mente? :)

Samo reci koliko ti triba 🤣

hehehe ima i bit ce :-)

to je biznis, a ne ovi steemit :D

Dobrodoša!

ŠF steemit !!!heh

Dobrodoša!

zahvljujem i pozdrav

Dobrodošao u steemit svijet :))

welcome to Steemit! :D

thank you :-)

Hello Ivan, welcome to Steem! :-)

Thank you glad to be here :-)

wellcome

thank you nice to be on steemit