Introduction For BRB Adventurer

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is Barry. 20161119_104635-300x250.png
Unbeknownst to my parents at the time of my birth (before the invention of the internet) they gave me initials that make a well known internet acronym BRB. I have always been full of adventure. When I was 8 years old I would pack a lunch, leave my mom a note and go hiking alone in the mountains near my home.

I have always enjoyed the outdoors and nature. I started a family early in my adult life and did not take the time to travel abroad after finishing school. Any chance I could get I would go camping even in the brutal cold Canadian winters. I am always up for a road trip with friends.

As much as I would like to go find a quiet lake near my home and hang out for a weekend I have also have been to Burning Man a couple times. The drive to Burning Man took 20 hrs from where I was living at the time. I loved the adventure getting there as much as I loved the event.
IMG_7261400x200.JPG
I have had jobs where my work was an adventure as I would travel for work. I never knew day to day what I would be faced with when getting to a job site, it could be a long gruelling drive up the Alaska highway or it could be a helicopter ride over some very rugged country in the Canadian north. I have been stuck in a mud hole for over 17 hrs after taking a wrong turn following a GPS route on my coworkers iPhone. No food, no water and no cell service, this adventure could be its own blog post.

As a young parent I took my kids backpacking on several trips, some were weekends and some were week long trips. These backpacking trips taught me how little you really needed in your life to survive and when out in the wilderness what is more important than money, is food. You had to protect your food from the critters large and small. Some of my camp mates might say toilet paper ranks up there as one of them ended up trading food for toilet paper, but that is a different story.
RobsonRiver.JPG
I am a photographer and more recently a videographer. I like to capture video and then edit the clips into a polished production. I have a YouTube channel and a plethora of other social media accounts. I have always liked technology and I use technology to my advantage when on my adventures.

I like the road less travelled so overlanding is high on my list of transportation choices, I have a few videos published of my overland adventures.

I wish to travel to exotic and tropical places to continue my adventure. A few places on my bucket list are Australia, South Africa, China, India, Tibet and Thailand. I invite you to follow along while I explore local and faraway places to see nature and outdoor survival.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @brbadventurer I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome Brbadventurer to Steemit ! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Thank you, I appreciate the welcome.

Congratulations @brbadventurer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @brbadventurer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sup! I noticed that you joined recently so this is me supporting you. Have an upvote and know that the steemit community awaits!
As you only recently joined the steemit community it can be hard to recieve lots of steem power so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and share my own experience in earning wupvotes for over $1 a day.

Yes, I must be much different there up north. Here around it is too hot for that most of the year. I have always dreamt about going up to Chiang Mai for camping, it is said to be so beautiful there and also a lot colder than here because of its height above sea level.

Enjoy your adventures.

Kisses

Thank you. I look forward to making many more insightful posts.