Allow Me to Introduce Myself

Hello! The name's India. I wanted to introduce myself, as I understand is the custom here.

I run an online vintage store called Maven Haus (www.Maven.Haus). It's my virtual home. I've always wanted a house on a big piece of land where my friends could come and just do stuff. An observatory of sorts where we wouldn't have to be a part of the world in order to participate in changing it. We'd gather to discuss, to celebrate, to mourn, to get out bellies and hearts full. We'd gather to sing and dance and to create. We must create. We'd lay out on the grass and soak up the son or camp out under the stars. We would teach and learn, be filled and emptied, uplift and be uplifted. This is the vision I've had for my home for as long as I can remember. It probably stemmed from long summers at my aunt's house where there was always something good to eat and always some neighborhood kids around to teach me the latest dances.

As an adult, Maven Haus is the digital manifestation of a desire to want to interact with people on my own terms. You see, I'm an empath, I absorb energies, good and bad. As K. Dot put it, I'm an antisocial extrovert, so going out and being around people I don't know is not always feasible. When I invite people into my home, I can control the atmosphere even when I can't control people's individual spirits. My home is where I'm most comfortable and where I feel I can be myself. Being an awkward black girl is hard enough without trying not to be. When I'm in my own space, I can bring people into my awkwardness and hopefully make them feel comfortable enough to be themselves as well. Thus, Maven Haus was born.

I'd like to treat this platform like an extension of Maven Haus as I find that I am not always able to entertain within the comfort of my own home. This is my way of taking home with me wherever I go. I'll talk about all the random things that interest me and if you relate (or even if you don't) I'd love to interact with you. So...this is me, I'm happy to be here. Nice to meet you.

Sort:  

Welcome @indyahrashaud aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Thank you so much! I'm trying to get the hang of things around here. But it's fun so far!

Congratulations @indyahrashaud! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @indyahrashaud and welcome to the steemit community. I read your intro with interest, Good piece of writing. I like your vision for your home - it's heartfelt and positive. I just checked out your website btw. Its really cool. I have been into thrift shops my whole life - none of my friends were when I was young haha but everyone liked the amazing looks I put together and asked where the great outfits came from. I would always proudly say - oh from the thrift shop ( or charity shop as we used to called them in the UK)
I always had the best and the most outfits - when I first came across thrift shops in the USA they totally blew my mind!! So huge!! so much clothing!! I was in heaven, really. Possibly one of the best things I ever found store wise in the USA!! I will you success here and lots of fun!

Wow! I can't imagine all the treasures I could find in the UK. Thanks so much for the warm welcome. I look forward to interacting with everyone once I get the hang of how things work around here. Also thank you for visiting my site. I hope to give it a makeover very soon.

I've also been thrifting since before it was cool. On Saturday mornings my grandma was dragging me off to the junior league and other thrift stores. They don't make them like they used to anymore. You really have to dig these days. But it's still a favorite pastime of mine.

Congratulations @indyahrashaud! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!