Introduction post: Joining Steemit makes me a genius back home!

in #introduction7 years ago

I convey my warm greetings to all members of Steemit community.

I am only five (5) days old on Steemit, but I had not introduced myself.

Today, as I was thinking about one of my favourite quotes by Albert Einstein, "But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid", I decided to write an introductory post.

It's a common cliche that Everyone Is a Genius—to me, joining Steemit makes me a genius back home.

I come from Africa (East Africa) where reliable electricity is still a luxury for more than half of the population. This electricity problem, coupled with many other problems limit Africans from being creative.

Indeed, one may urge that why is Africa not rich given all the resources that the planet has. It is because we miss great opportunities such as investing in the growing cryptocurrency technology such as Steem.

For me to access cheap internet, which is provided by my mobile network operator only in the wee hours of the night, I have to wake up in the middle of the night.

I am on Steeemit to achieve my dreams, make connections and learn new things. But I am aware that to thrive and excel on the platform, I need to be put into the right environment where I can get to exercise my skills, innovativeness and passion.

ABOUT ME

20160813_130752_001.jpg

I am @kayondo, an Educator and Geoscientist by academic training. I love social entrepreneurship and philanthropy. I am a co-founder of Feed My Lamb (FML) Kabarole a non-for profit organisation helping vulnerable children and orphans, and I have been teaching high students since 2012.

I am not only motivated by profit but also ambitious to solve societal problems by providing products and services that strive to improve society and in the process leave a significant mark on the world. Friends describe me as “someone who never waits for things to go wrong”.

When I am not teaching and free from non-profit activities, I spend time reading inspirational books, giving career talks, writing educational articles and watching TED videos.

I hope to find Steemit a stimulating platform, which will not only give me a chance to share my experience and knowledge but to earn more, so that I can continue helping the vulnerable people in Africa.

Of course, my other ambitious plan is to bring more Africans on Steemit.

I cherish you all!

Sort:  

Welcome and enjoy!!!!!
Nice to meet you

Thank you! I am glad to be part of the Steemit community.

Welcome to the wonderful world of steemit! You will definitely have a great experience here.
Feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK to get updates on assorted delicious recipes from all over the world.

Thank you. Now following @GLOBALFOODBOOK

Welcome to Steemit!

I'm also new to this platform

Thank you my fellow new Steemian. Let's enjoy Steemit. Follow @kayondo for cool updates.