Gazza's introduction.

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Hi folks, this is my introduction to all Steemers.

My name is Gazza, (Gary). I am 56 years old: a lot of water under the bridge for sure. However, interesting water, I believe. I am going to share my stories as a Policeman, Airline Pilot and Hotellier: including some poetry and bizarre events. These events remain a mystery.


Now that I've got that off my chest........ My first poem was written for my dear mother when we were on holiday. It was blowing a gale: the sea was furious.

I was asked by my ageing mother, "Through your poetry, tell me what I am thinking son, as we stand together watching."

This is what I wrote, shortly after returning to our Scottish holiday cottage. ( With a dram for company).


THE SIXTH STEP

The thundering, boiling, restless sea

Each wave coming closer, closer

to me.

I stare and wonder at it's power; 

Each surge of water, strengthening each hour.

Lost in deep thoughts of times gone by,

that my son,  at my side, has vividly revived.

That wave so close to the sixth step below.

Now there I say to Gary aloud. The wave and the sixth step

shout together: out loud.

A joining of thoughts

Concrete and Sea

I stare and rejoice at its wild majesty.


All of my poems can be used by Steemers, in full, or part. My humble gift to this fine, growing community. My next post will look at, "The Green Man event." It was published by The Sun newspaper in the UK, also by Scott C Wearing on his UFO site. 


Bye for now, Steemers, Gazza.

Sort:  

hello and welcome. someone has flagged you. i can't imagine why.

What does Flagged you mean, Lifeworship?

if you run your pointer over the right hand side of your screen, some places you will see a tiny flag. click on this and it will give the option to confirm the flag. this action is supposed to be used to disapprove of someones post. what it does is, it makes your post link fade so it is hard to see. it also says, on the post page, that your post has been hidden for low ratings and shows a button to unhide the contents. i believe it is supposed to be used if someone posts plagiarized content or spam. i have seen it increasingly used to hide posts that someone doesn't like. whether the content is bad or not. i would like to have a way to flag the flagger, but there is not. i have been unable to identify flaggers at all. some are abusing this ability greatly. hope this helps. thanks.

It does help, thank you. I think this could be used and Abused though.
Thanks again Gary.

welcome Gazza, and thanks for sharing such a personal piece of poetry on your first outing here.

I really appreciate your welcome message.
Thank you phoenixmaid, Gazza.

Welcome to steemit @ punjammies. Hope to see more of your work.

Thank you for your welcome. The Folk in this Community are very Supportive. It is a pity we do not see more of this in General Life.
Thanks again.

It's a nice poem. You've done well, 8 is the most votes I've had for a poem. I wish the crazy flag man had found me when I joined a few weeks ago!

Yes, I think you are Spot on.
The whole Flag thing gave me more coverage than I deserve.
Thank you for your comments,cathi-xx, good Luck.
Gazza.

Aah, no, I didn't mean it like that, you deserved it but poets need luck for recognition on here, as poetry isn't that mainstream.

Lovely poem, wonderful imagery and story. I've upvoted this to try to counteract the flag.
Good Luck!

Than you very much,michelle.gent.
My next Poem I hope you enjoy. It is a little sad though.
Thanks again. Gazza.