Returning to the roots, a crypto comeback!

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

Cryptocurrency: [Bitcoin] will never survive. It will never be a "thing." It's a scam. It's not even real money; You can't put it in your pocket and you can't even buy anything with it.

Everybody has had those comments said to them at one time or another. It was 2009 when Bitcoin came to the light. Many people didn't understand it, so their first reaction was to reject it. I chose to do the oppisite and learn about it.

This is a re-introduction and just a little story about me. My name is Brent and when I was living at home with my parents my computer was my best friend. I would easily spend 16 hours a day in my room just glued to my computer. Unlike at school, where i didnt want to read or learn about anything they had to say, I was like a sponge when it came to my computer. If there was something I wanted to do with it, I would learn how to do it. I used my computer to learn as much as i could about my computer. It all came natural to me and I was obsessed with the power I had and the things I could do with it.
I quickly became known as the "nerd" and the"computer geek" - and I was actually proud of that. Now, I am 29 years old and looking back on those days I realize that was the only time I was ever really happy, or content and felt safe in my own little bubble.
I moved out and went out on my own with my girlfriend a few years back, and I worked any job I could get but the pay was never the best. I struggled, we ended up homeless at one point, money was scarce. I had to sell off all my Bitcoins and Altcoins over time just to eat, along with my computer and could never afford the luxury of internet; so I had no choice but to abandon my one true passion and hobby. I would literally have dreams at night and during the years think about all the things I used to do on my computer and the knowledge I had left behind and I have been craving the activites I could no longer take part in. I really enjoyed keeping myself busy, learning new things, and staying current on the latest technology and everything.
I would use my smart phone to browse topics and entertain what few topics I could with a phone... I went checking all my old accounts and Bitcoin wallets, and it really got me feeling some type if way when I found an old cloud mining account I used to have when Ethereum was taking off. My while contract ran up which I had forgotten about and I saw that I had $150 worth of ETH that I didnt know about! The best part was seeing I only invested $3 in Bitcoin at the time! So I got on my Poloniex account and have been messing around with some trading.
I don't have alot, and I don't imagine I can trade it into much, but its the excitement of the memories that have me going! Its a great feeling being blasted from the past and reunited with something I had so much passion about, something that once consumed my every waking moment until the night i went to sleep and waking up the next morning to never touching a keyboard again. There were times i would forget about those days and the memories would slowly start to fade... Until one day, you start hearing the word "Bitcoin" in the news, and then "cryptocurrency" starts to become a very popular topic in the main stream public and in the news, politicians are even talking about it, they are using these terms on evening family television sitcoms, movies are being made with "Bitcoin" in the title! Just hearing all the media and public popularity with the subject brought all those memorys back like it was just yesterday I was back typing away on my keyboard night and day. I can no longer remain seperated from my roots and the one thing I enjoyed. For now I am trying my best to keep up with what I can on my phone, but my next purchase will be a new laptop and I am digging back into my inner nerd and picking up where I left off. I think about the cryptocurrency and kick myself everyday that If i would have held on to anything I had from 2009 to even if i would have been able to get anything in 2015, what financial problems would have been avoided with the success that Bitcoin is to this day. Maybe I can trade, and will atleast HOLD the ETH I have and hopefully one day I can get the financial growth that I should have already had!

Sort:  

Great story! Keep on hodling!

Welcome back Brent! People will get what they deserve eventually and I got the impression you deserve it! I wish you all the best for your future and good luck with your trading!
Upvoted and followed!

Good story. I mined a little bitcoin back in 2013 but have no idea where it is, funny