>>> print("Hello, my name is Kevin!")

in #introduction5 months ago

Hey, you there!!

Yes, you!! It’s nice to finally know you.

You may call me Kevin. I am a civil engineer, specializing in geotechnical engineering. What is that? It is a construction-related professional career but is focused on soil and the structures below. Anyway, I’m actually Indonesian but currently lives in Taiwan for professional purpose (read: corporate enslavement). It was initially planned to be a 2-year study for my Master’s degree, but thanks to the opportunity (and Covid), I have now been settled here on this tiny island for 4 years, and still keep counting.

_DSC5219.jpg
This is a photo of me on one of the peaks of Hehuanshan Mountain (合歡山), Taiwan, 2020.

Why do I decide to turn into Hive and PeakD?

The expected answer: having a platform for sharing my ideas and life experiences.

The actual answer: raising funds for a 135mm “Plena” (if you know, you know, haha...)

A friend of mine @krios003 introduced this platform to me when we were having a holiday together in Palawan, Philippines. He did convince me to channel my hobby #photography into a platform where what I post will, not only be appreciated but also valued. Besides, I am also interested in the cryptocurrency world but have yet to test the water. I hope that this platform can serve a “two bird with one stone” for me. Else, I also hope this platform can re-spark my interest in photography.

{disclaimer, this is not a photo of my friend 😋 }
_DSC6054.jpg
(Nikon Z6; Nikkor 50mm F1.4 AF-D; 1/200, F2.0 ISO 200)

Contents to share on my blog

Mainly things related to photography. I do have some ideas in mind, such as a travel journal and creating guides and tips related to photography techniques (fun fact: I wrote a beginner photography handbook for my high school extracurricular). I also plan to share what is in my mind during a photography project. For instance, I can explain the concept of my photo and how is set up during a weekly project on Macro Monday or other similar community, in which I do sometimes participate on my free weekend).

Intermezzo

_DSC2185.JPG
(Nikon Z6; 24-70S F4.0; 1/40, F4.0, ISO 1600)

Here is a photo of my hometown. It is not in Taiwan but is in Indonesia. It was during the Lunar New Year festival that I took this photo, thus a lot of lantern ornaments hung above and the street was filled with a sea of people.

49158263501_c1661c7d45_o.jpg
(Nikon Z6; Nikkor 50mm F1.4 Reversed; 1/10, ISO 100)
This is one of my submissions in Macro Monday back in 2019 when I was still active. At that time, I couldn't afford a macro lens; hence, I learned some tricks to make up for my lack, and this is one of the results.

It is truly nice to meet you here. See you again in my future uploads! Cheers!!

Sort:  
Loading...

Welcome to the Hive community @soerdjo!
Um, just so you know, Python does not work on Hive lol!!! Mostly Markdown with a little HTML.
Love the disclaimer about your friend hahahaha!!!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, Keychain, Peaklock, and Hivesigner,
  3. The master password and the owner key are only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your password or keys; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. DO NOT OPEN any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hiveans available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Thank you @jamerussell for your kindness, and thanks once again to @heyhaveyamet and teams (you and @brittandjosie) for introducing me to the community.

Thanks for the great advice! I shall heed them as the 7 commandments from now and forth. It was super helpful, especially regarding the standard norm of publishing within this forum. I will surely refer to the discord server that you've mentioned if I do have a problem that I cannot solve. Cheers!!

Congratulations @soerdjo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hello! Welcome to Hive, @soerdjo. I found you thanks to @heyhaveyamet 's introduction post.
You've come to a wonderful place where you can develop any interest you can think of. The limit is up to you!
The learning curve is steep at first, but ask any questions you have, read and observe.
Here are some resources to help you get started:
Link to The Terminal Discord server, highly recommended for learning anything about Hive and @heyhaveyamet 's home.
Link to Ecency's Discord server, my favourite frontend and where you can find me most of the time.
Link to the Ecency resource library, where I'm adding practical tutorials in Spanish and some are in English, too.
Little by little you will find the places where you feel most comfortable, get in touch with other hivers and success will come.
Greetings from Spain. 🤗

Hello @palomap3, It is very nice to meet you too. And thanks to @heyhaveyamet whose been doing a wonderful job of introducing newcomers like me, to be known and have the starting ground in this community.

Hive is indeed an interesting forum/blog-like media that I am still learning to understand. I found it to be quite intriguing that the "limit" that this forum gives (referring to resources) keeps me on the heat instead of turning me off.

Thanks for the guides that you've offered to me. I will surely use them as my guidance. Cheers!!

For me and for the HHYM team, it is a pleasure to welcome you. It hasn't been so long since we were in your place. 😊
I have delegated resources to you so that you don't have a problem to start interacting with other winters. A limit is set to avoid spam.
Free to ask whatever you need. 🤗

Lovely.. I was wondering why the resources is suddenly 100% before it is supposed to be haha.. Thanks much!!

Welcome Kevin! Hope you’ll feel home here soon! It takes a bit of effort to get what it’s all a bout and where to look. But it’s worth the effort! And if you need help, just ask anyone!

Hi there, thanks for the warm welcome! I will try my best to learn ASAP!