Introducing Myself.

Hello! people. I hope you’re okay and in good shape (whatever this might mean to you). On my end, at the moment of writing this, I feel a lot like a couch potato except I’m not on the couch😆 I’ve been in my room all day, binge-watching one of my favorite Netflix series (Locke and Key).

My name is Sharon John and this is a newbie alert📣

IMG_20220824_224144.jpg

I am from Nigeria, precisely from Akwa Ibom state😊

IMG_20220816_180911_625.jpg

I was introduced to Hive recently by @Vokeplayz and I can’t thank him enough for his generosity. After I had created an account here for myself, he took the time out to really explain everything to me to give me a good head start. I really appreciate the help, seeing that he barely knows me. This is sort of a reminder to me that no matter how crazy the world seems now, good people still exists.

My first love though, is music. My love for music began when I was a baby. My mom told me once that as a baby, eating wasn’t one of my favourite things to do, so her friends from a nearby church, will come to visit with tambourines and some, they’d sing and dance and I would watch them happily and in my distracted moments of glee I would leave my mouth open and my mom will spoon in as much food as she could into my mouth and I would swallow distractedly.
This was a norm, some music, some dance and some food. It had to be this way for baby Sharon to eat. It was then no wonder to my mom, when I took interest to singing and song writing as a teenager.
https://www.instagram.com/tv/Cd-Wk3FgiNr/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

My love for writing began with the inadequacies of teenage life, struggling with the melancholy. Writing helped keep me grounded. It was an authentic way of checking in on myself and processing my thoughts and emotions by noting what I felt, why I felt the way I felt, etc. Writing gave me hope, though there were pretty dark days, I was able to understand one of life's mysteries; “Something beautiful can come out of the ugliest and darkest of experiences”.

IMG_20220829_184333_233~3.jpg
(A snippet of one of my works)

My favorite bird is the Phoenix and I really don’t care that it doesn’t exist.
My favorite color is black. I had a brief period in my life where I integrated myself into goth because it felt like home, I read dark poems and books and my writings were dark too (Yes! you guessed right, it was during my early teenage years). Having transitioned through that, the love for the colour black stuck, never left.

IMG_20220714_205858_572.jpg

My favourite Indigenous meal is an Akwa-Ibom special, Afang soup with swallow (my most preferred being Fufu). Other meals that I consider absolutely tasty is the Afia-efere with pounded yam, (Afia-efere is ibibio for white soup) There also is a delightful delicacy known as Ekpang Kukwo (Sorry, this one does not have an English translation). I eat this meal almost every day when I’m on campus. Ekpang Kukwo is an indigenous dish of the Efik and Ibibio folks.

images (3).jpeg
(Afang soup in all its glory😊)

I have a younger sister, Marvelous. People like to say we look alike but I’m not so sure. Sometimes, they call us twins and it makes me laugh so hard because I am 6 years older than her, we couldn’t be more further away from twin hood.

IMG-20220801-WA0006.jpg
(This is Marvelous, my little sister who really isn't little anymore)

I am a student of Communication Art in the University of Uyo, Akwa-Ibom state. I’d say that, my love for writing sort of nudged me into studying Communication Art and I am pretty thrilled with it, you know… I get to sharpen my communication skills and all that.
Currently, Federal Universities are not in session because of the ongoing strike action. I have been forced to stay home for 6months now because of some unsettled deal between our lecturers and the federal government. The average Nigerian youth, thinks of a University now as a necessary evil, we just pray to be done with it so we can get a life.🙃

IMG_20190307_103300.jpg

I have a man in my life that is not my daddy nor my uncle🤪. His name is Daniel and I like to think of him as my rock, my light, my business partner and my best friend. When I met Daniel I didn’t know that he owned a small record label at the time and during our talking stage, I told him of how I loved to sing and he took me up on it.
I had my first studio session on my 22nd birthday and that was when my music career began. I have a loner personality, but I will not lie, it's a comforting thing to know that you can come home to a hug whenever you feel like life is a bit too hard on you.

IMG-20220424-WA0046.jpg

IMG-20220113-WA0009.jpg

I am an Introvert by nature. I only go out when it is absolutely necessary. As an Introvert, I’ll say that I got used to boredom quite early in life and I’ve found ways to make it a more comfortable experience.

I am a cat mom and I absolutely love my baby girl-Ruby, she'll be two years old by December and honestly hope I get enough money to make her birthday memorable with lots of treats and toys. Ruby is the queen of my heart and she knows it. I am not so good at making the best decisions but she is one decision I am most proud of. Ruby currently lives with my man and he is the typical African cat daddy to her.
I go to visit from time to time, I spend weekends and sometimes week days with them. We got Ruby when she was a baby and since baby-hood till now I can say she has always been a “toughie”. She was barely a year old when she first fell sick. She was puking all over the place and could not eat. I was crying all over the place and could not help but worry for her but gratefully, Ruby made it past that and since then, hasn’t fallen sick again. I’m so proud of her tho. I might be going through the gloomiest mood swing but when I see Ruby sleeping or just being herself, every negative emotion dissipates. I call her “my dopamine”.

IMG_20220822_115836_712.jpg
IMG_20220822_115847_589~2.jpg

I really look forward, to learning from this community, I look forward to making friends as I am currently open to new ones, we can support each other and look out for one another.
Thank you for reading🤗

Sort:  

Hello Sharon!
It's really great to have you here
I haven't tasted Afang soup before but I've heard great things about it, I hope to try it one day😊

I know it can be weird trying to navigate through Ecency as a newbie, but I promise you it will only get better. You made the right choice. There are a lot of things you will learn, either on your own or with help from others.

As a newbie, I would give you the advice @brittandjosie gave me, combine Ecency or Hive with Discord.
Download the Discord app and join Ecency discord https://discord.gg/9sn9Vans

Whatever questions you have will be answered there. You can reach out to me too.
I wish you goodluck and success on your hive journey!

Thank you @zitalove. I really appreciate this.

Hello @rosardente01! This is @jcrodriguez from the @OCD team. Congratulations for making your presentation post to the community. 😊

The photo of the food is not yours, that image needs you to put the source (the web page where you took it). It is very important to put the sources of the images that do not belong to us.

Content on Hive is monetized, so using content or images that belong to others could be considered an offense. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

I hope @vokeplayz and @luckydrums will explain you how the platform works.

I also invite you to explore other communities that you might like in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program. There is a wide variety of topics. Check out all the communities. If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide. They are easy to understand and useful for learning how the platform ecosystem works.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

I wish you a lot of success on Hive👍


Thank you for the feedback. I have taken correction.

Congratulations @rosardente01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome to Hive dear Sharon.
Afang soup is one meal I like too, though I really don't have a favorite soup - I just like any soup that's tasty.
Your younger sister is pretty and doesn't really look much as you lol.
welcome, welcome and yeahh lovely cat you got!

Loading...