ESCAPISM


IMG_20240105_164554~2.jpgPHOTO BY ME

I started the year on a very high note. There were so many projects I was looking forward to in this mini-bull run. In retrospect, I find my ambitions a bit comical. Nevertheless, I was willing to put in the work, and I did, but that wasn't nearly enough.

Gone are the days when showing up every day generated something in the web3 space. Working hard toward anything in this space is left for bottom feeders. Time and time again, I have seen projects sideline their most active users, and frankly, I am fed up. So I took a break (I think I am still on that break).

I thought the recent NOTCOIN airdrop would rekindle my interest in web3, but it hasn't done much, and it has less to do with making money. If anything, making money from crypto is only a bandage. In the long run, most web3 projects are not sustainable. There is much more speculation than substance.

I have found escapism in learning a new language—German. It is a more tangible goal to pursue. I know at the end of the tunnel, a stable life awaits me. Crypto is too much of a gamble. I sometimes wonder how I have managed to be consistent with it. I guess it is the freedom it gives, but that comes with a lot of baggage I am not willing to accept anymore.

Learning a new language is difficult, but that has not stopped me from doing anything. I welcome every challenge as long as the end goal is certain. There is nothing about this space that provides certainty, which makes me wonder why anyone would advise another to spend all their time here.

I was lucky to have found this space early. Some people might say crypto is still in its early phase, and I agree to some degree, but it isn't what it used to be, and we all must adapt to the changes in our sphere. My only mistake is waiting too long.

In the next 2-3 months, my life is going to change (for the better). I can't wait to get this stage behind me. Until then, there is still room to dream about crypto/web3, and who knows, maybe I will have another pleasant surprise like NOTCOIN or Hive gaining more traction. I just want to see things move in the right direction.