My story into cryptocurrency and what could be the next big thing :-)

in #investment7 years ago

Hey Everyone,

I wanted to share my short story getting into cryptocurrency space in 2013, when bitcoin was at 80$, at that time buying bitcoins was really hard with a credit card, and I didn't have any way to buy them so instead I bought 4 x 290x GPUs and started mining, but all I was thinking is return on investment short term (7 months) to get my money back, and it was the wrong strategy.
Today, when I look back at what I was doing all I feel is regret for selling all my bitcoins for fiat to get my investment back, but to maximize profit I should have instead kept them in cold storage for them to appreciate over time.

My 2017 Strategy:

I made a decision to invest in most new ICO (initial coin offering) coming to market this year, especially the one's that I think has some potential to grow, although I was watching the whole market for this long I missed the ethereum ICO, which made +100X return on investment for everyone involved.
To implement this strategy in a very efficient manner i had to find a way to be on top of everything happening, and following every news site is hard, so to make things simpler i started using an app called Feedly https://feedly.com, ​ which makes things easier by pulling every website for news, almost like RSS, and they also have a category called blockchain with a prebuilt list.
Now investing into that many ICO's requires tracking and fund management​ to keep an eye on every coin market cap and current prices, and for this, I use a website called Cyber.fund.
During this week I took 8 hours to research what could be the next big thing, and I came to a short list.

  1. Iconomi
  2. Wetrust.io
  3. Melonport

So what do you think the next big thing will be? And why?

Happy Steeming !!!! :D

Sort:  

Great intro. I hadn't heard of cyber.fund before so thanks for the recommendation. I didn't have a chance yet to check out your top 3 coins but I will definitely put them on my research list. I think NEO, VERI and CLOAK will be huge. I'm a big Dubai fan and plan on buying a place there some time in the future. Following you. Cheers.

Also take a look at Numer.ai and Huamniq. Lot's of potential there as well.

Next big thing will be managing physical identity on the blockchain. Big growth potential here, because a) there are a million uses for such a system and b) the identity tracking systems used by our governments are hopelessly outdated and insecure.

Nice article. Same thoughts here. The crypto market: High risk high gains!. That doesn't mean that a gain is guaranteed though. There's simply no guarantee in anything in life and especially not in a high risk market. Besides coinmarketcap.com there is: https://www.coincheckup.com The best crypto analysis site by far. Complete in depth investment analysis.