From Vilnius to Siauliai: My IPFS Dtube server update

in #ipfs5 years ago (edited)

05042019ipfsupdatenewlogos.jpg

This will have been the third build of my IPFS server, first one I installed Apache with nginx and could not get the Apache part off so I reformatted.

On the second attempt I got the Uploader working but found larger videos could not upload using my server. As I was running out of memory when running ffmpeg causing a 504 error and halting the upload. Since I was running an OpenVZ type of VPS I could not add a swap file and seems 2GB of memory was not enough for the server to fulfill its needs. So I had to leave Time4VPS and find a new host.

vpsstats.jpg

Decided to go with SynergyServers after reading reviews on HostAdvise. They are only a few hours away from Times4VPS so still in a geographically needed area for the IPFS d.tube network. I think im the only Dtube server in Lithuania.

newlocation.jpeg

I am now on the third build of this server, and things are going real smooth now. I moved to a KVM VPS which supports swap, which basically means when I run out of memory on the machine it starts using the hard drive as a virtual hard disk. I did have some troubles with the uploader at first, getting 504 errors again. But then I found the missing configuration lines in nginx and added the below.

nginx504.jpeg

client_header_timeout 9000; client_body_timeout 9000; fastcgi_read_timeout 9000; fastcgi_buffers 8 128k; fastcgi_buffer_size 128k; proxy_send_timeout 9000; proxy_read_timeout 9000; send_timeout 9000; fastcgi_send_timeout 9000; client_max_body_size 3G;

Since this time around when uploading I did not see my memory usage max and then get the 504 I figured there may be another issue other than ffmpeg on this server. Going through google posts I found a great guide on 504 errors and they suggest adding the needed lines above to the nginx file, and sure enough now I can successfully upload.

uploadspeed.jpeg

I can upload alot faster, about 12 megabits on my home connection which is about the max speed my cable modem can handle. When I upload using d.tube I tend to get 1-2 megabits so this is a big increase for me.

Though my new favorite feature of my server has to be the Public IPFS Gateway @techcoderx helped me set up. With a change to my IPFS configuration I enabled my IP address to be a public gateway to videos I pin though my server.

followlink.jpg

You may have seen me add at the bottom of my video descriptions "If the video has trouble playing, please use my IPFS Gateway instead of D.tube's by following this link".

ipfsgateway.jpeg

Going to this link you are skipping d.tube as a video playback platform and using my servers resources instead. I can scale as my video views grow but for right now a single server is serving my videos without issue. My plans are to containerize and use Kubernetes for container orchestration if I do see a large increase in traffic.

I am super stoked that I can now just send people links to my server with my IPFS hash and they can play videos, without using d.tube as a platform as many of us know it has troubles sometimes playing video. This is huge to me and I really get a good feeling hosting my videos on my own servers, along with hosting my photos on my server as well using Spee.ch and LBRY.

Special thanks to the whole #onelovedtube community.. And to the members that helped me set up the server @techcoderx @vaultec @gray00 and @d00k13 and other users such as @cityofstars @makinstuff @apshamilton and @deepsouthpiddlin for the positive encouragement to keep trying three times, over many hours of typing away in a terminal.

If you want to have your dtube videos run better I suggest you stop by the onelovedtube community and talk to them about setting up your own community node. If that is too much for you, there is always an option to pay for a subscription for about $10 a month and #onelovedtube will pin your videos and increase their availability on the network for playback.

Link to their discord https://discordapp.com/invite/Sc4utKr


Donation addresses below to support my projects, infrastructure and other needs for building decentralized resources.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Rockin Steemians

#rockhound & @rockhounds by @bitfiend

#shadowphoto by @melinda010100

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#bouldersunday by @shasta

#GTWCA (Crypto Price Analysis) by @gandalfthewhite


HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

#server #vps #infrastructure #dapps #uploader #steemiteducation #education #learning #technology #troubleshooting

Sort:  

I had a WordPress website with BlueHost and i paid for a year for just 300$ as I remember, it was a black Friday offer plus they are already cheap prices there.

I used it for 1 week then I requested them to refund my money, as I remember you have 1 month and in this month you can ask for a refund.. so I got 80% of it, Actually I giving this service 5/5 because everything runs smoothly and their support is really helpful no doubt

@cityofstars oh so your no longer running a node? Ive though about spinning up a wordpress site or something like that on one of my hosts, now im learning about how to use nginx and nodejs

Posted using Partiko Android

about running my node, I'm running it at my own PC and now I can't run it at the moment for "using" reasons, I don't have another PC plus I need to use "Windows" instead of "Linux" at this time to do some important stuff plus I don't have money to buy a VPS , that's why I stopped currently, maybe time by time I run it

Thank You for your continued effort in supporting the @DTube platform and our community network.

Alone we are merely one but together we stand as #OneLoveDTube!

@onelovedtube glad to be a part of the community, agreed... our numbers will make the decentralized network strong.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds amazing! Great update and info. Appreciating all your efforts. ❤️ It’s a process sometimes but so worth it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@deepsouthpiddlin it sure is a process, but meeting goals makes it feel real good I went through all of it. thanks alot for the support and appreciation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sooner or later I’m gonna have to get you guys help on setting up my own uploader, I want to whitelist a few people for the sake making their lives easier 💪

Don’t think I would be able to setup a gateway though as my home IP changes now and again.... but I always have the onelove links and the IPFS ones will always work for my videos 😉 possibly even the ones just on my node when I get that going! Now I wonder about embeds, does steemit support our embeds like they do DTube?

Thanks for putting this together, great way of encouraging more users to host their own @dtube files 💪 also appreciate you supporting the @dtubenetwork 🙌

@d00k13 You should, its a bit of a learning curve but since graylan and I have done it we can support you if you into into issues. Just get yourself a $10 a month node like mine.

You may be able to use NoIP's service for a dynamic IP. And yeah sadly I tried to use my URL as an Embed but did not work, as well as what @techcoderx pointed out.

Ah no problem, building servers like this has helped me learn alot about linux and improving my problem solving skills. A bonus is the utility my server brings me, but the learning I think has been the most important to me. And having support by the community really encourages me to learn more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I run my node from home currently repurposed the mining rig I had going 😅 I figure I’ll try first there and possibly rent a node down the road but honestly I’d rather avoid paying anything at all making it the most sustainable for myself say I need to take a break from Steem or anything like that 😉

Yea buddy for me it’s about the learning also, I just find Ubuntu to be a little over whelming.... seriously thinking about picking up a few classes from the various online options like skill share just to get the basic understanding and from there I have dreams of starting to develop my own projects 🤞

steemit.com only supports emb.d.tube according to the source code

Ahh well... how hard do think it would be to encourage them to include universal embed support?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It won't be easy to get them to do it 😐

It seriously is in the best interest to support a wide variety of content, I believe we can do it just need the right people on board with the idea.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@d00k13 and @techcoderx There are alot of proposals to make changes to Steemit's structure, @shadowspub may able to assist us with such a change. As the user has put proposals up to vote regarding steemit changes. Ill ask them next time im on their Discord server.

Sounds like a plan buddy 💪 if we want more people here I say we need to support their choices in content!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

@steemitboard woo, thanks alot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.411 which ranks you at #6940 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 39 places in the last three days (old rank 6979).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 173 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@steem-ua nice, thanks alot for the posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey could you export a copy of that onelove logo and inside with a transparent background?

I’d love to drop it in our #press-kit or you could drop it there yourself 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

@d00k13 no problem, dropped in the discord.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@partiko nice, loving the dapp.. thanks much.

Posted using Partiko Android