September Experiments

in #james8 years ago (edited)

Inspired by James Altucher's Idea Machine, I came up with the idea of running my own personal experiments. In some cases, one-day experiments. I plan to begin on the first day of September and have created a list of experiments I'll be undertaking. The goal is to see how well I can do with these small experiments since I have a problem sticking to small goals and am prone to letting the days slide by without too much effort on my part. Some of my experiments will be social experiments aimed at getting me out of my comfort zone. For too long I've been self-isolating...out of fear, anxiety, self-preservation. It's one of the common after-effects of having been in an abusive relationship and it's definitely one of the things holding me back from moving forward with my life. 

I'm not necessarily going to focus on self-improvement habits since the reason behind this list has more to do with creativity and happiness, not obsessing and shaming. I feel as if I need a jump-start with improving my life but at the same time, I lack the mental and emotional energy to take on larger or longer projects. My goal is to successfully complete each experiment and be inspired to take on longer "experiments" in October. 

In any case, here is my list of mini-experiments for the month of September beginning with the first day:

September 1: For the month of September I will show up at work exactly on time and leave exactly on time instead of my usual habit of arriving early and leaving late. I'm not paid for overtime and worse, it simply gives others the impression that I either can't complete my work on time or I don't have a personal life (which is actually kind of true.) 

September 2: I will spend the entire day refraining from any negative comments what-so-ever. That includes comments about the weather!

September 3: I'll be spending the day at our family's cabin with extended relatives so my experiment for the day is to have a one-on-one conversation with each cousin, aunt and uncle instead of hiding out in the kitchen or with my nose in a book.

September 4: I will take the long route back home from the cabin in order to visit my elderly uncle at his senior's complex. 

September 5: I will attend a yoga session at our local gym instead of my usual habit of doing yoga at home.

September 6: I will have lunch with colleagues in the staff room at least two days this week instead of eating in front of my computer alone in my cubicle.

September 7: I will attend the library book club. It's only once a month but I've been told the members keep in touch with coffee dates and emails between meetings. This would be an opportunity to make new friends who share a common interest in literature. 

September 8: I will attend a networking breakfast. Our company (and its affiliate company) holds one several times a year and I've yet to attend but this would be a good opportunity to meet colleagues from other departments. 

September 9: I will go out to a movie (on my own). I think it's been about three years since I last saw a film in a movie theater. 

September 10: I will attend my sister's birthday party even though there will be a lot of people there that I won't know. 

September 11: I will volunteer at my mother's church which is holding a bake sale that afternoon. I will make a point of speaking with the other volunteers.

September 12 - 16: I will say good morning to my colleagues and have brief conversations instead of my usual pattern of walking quickly past them on the way to my cubicle. 

September 17: I will post a poem on Steemit even though it may lead to criticism. I used to enjoy writing poetry and had several published in an anthology years ago.

September 18: I will take part in the one-day yoga retreat my cousin has invited me to even though the idea of spending ten hours in her company has me feeling very nervous. She's had a charmed life which is pretty intimidating but I do find her attitude and perspective on life to be inspiring.

September 19 - 23: I will contribute my thoughts and ideas to company meetings and planning sessions instead of my usual habit of staying silent or agreeing to whatever is proposed. The goal is to speak up at least once every day this work week. 

September 24: Our local gym has a number of interesting programs including potluck dinners for singles and couples. I plan to attend this one and will prepare a traditional Italian dish like Linguini with Garlic Prawns.

September 25: I'm not at all artistic but I will attend my neighbour's monthly wine & paint parties. Yes, these things exist! She's invited me a few times but I've always said no since it sounded ridiculous...and fun judging by the screams of laughter I often hear through the wall. 

September 26: I will not lie about my social life to anyone this week. In order to hide the reality of my life, I have often invented hobbies or activities in order to avoid letting family and others know just how empty my life is since I don't want them to feel pity toward me. At the same time, I don't want to feel shame whenever I choose to have a quiet night or weekend to myself at home. So this week, I will answer honestly. 

September 30: I will host a small party that evening at my apartment. Appetizers, drinks, music. Nothing too stressful in terms of planning. I will probably invite my neighbour, my sister, and any new friends I make at the book club. 

Well, that's my list. Wish me luck!

 

Sort:  

How is your experiment going?

@steempowerwhale 🐳
🌞 upvoting your lifetime dreams!

I'm going to write an update in a couple of days at the halfway mark. Thanks for asking!

That's quite a list... good luck!