Long Time No Post!

in #japan4 years ago

Well, it's been a loooong time since I've posted anything on this account, but I figured I'd start getting back into it a bit.

Here's a quick update on what I've been up to for the past year or so, just in case anybody cares.

Tried creating my own online English teaching system. Put it on hold as I realized it would be harder than I thought fitting online lessons into my schedule of in-person lessons. That, and actually getting people to schedule and pay online with a company they've never heard of. It's hard. Have you ever done Facebook ads? It's a complicated pain in the ass, and it's designed to vacuum up your money like a Hoover if you don't know exactly what you're doing.

So I decided to stop wasting money on that and just hurry up, dump my English school, and move to Thailand. I was planning to do that eventually anyway, and the whole online teaching thing was going to be my income when I got there. Get paid Japanese prices while living in Thailand? Sounds like a good deal to me! But then, something else came up.

What came up? Well, somebody on LinkedIn contacted me out of the blue asking if I was interested in offering VR English lessons to my students. VR? You mean Virtual Reality? Hell yeah! I'm in! But wait, no. That's gonna be just like the whole online lessons thing, isn't it? A big complicated mess that robs me blind if I'm not careful?

So instead of offering their classes to my students, I decided to just teach a couple of classes for them directly, to learn about their system and get my feet wet as one of the first VR English teachers in the world. If it's good, I can go a little deeper later and maybe sell what they're offering here in Japan. If not, no big whoop, just move on to the next thing. Turns out to be going pretty well, and I'll do a post or three on what it's like to teach English in virtual reality in the near future.

So where was I...? Oh yeah, so I was going to move to Thailand, but then another opportunity came up in Tokyo, and so I'm on my way there in just a couple of weeks. More details on that as well when the time is appropriate. I really don't want to live in Tokyo, as I've already experienced living in a closet back in USAF SERE school POW training, but when opportunity knocks...

michelcatalisanoc3v2T5S6fAMunsplash.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! What a life! Things just happen to turn up just like that!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep! You never know.