Lunch, TOTORO and Japanese Construction Pants.

in #japan7 years ago
Today - I went out to lunch for the first time with my son, he's now two months old. My wife and I decided it was best to go to a place that we could easily relax.

IMG_6432.jpg.jpg

  • A nice little greeting card at our table.

I went to an italian restaurant in town called "LIFE." I chose this place because it is quiet and has comfortable seating (including couches) the lunch price is reasonable for what you get as well. I chose the Pasta and Panino combo with coffee - it came out to about 1400 yen, or 13 dollars (give or take).

IMG_6424.JPG.JPG

  • A tomato pasta and salad, covered in club sauce. (If you haven't seen arrested development - I recommend it)

IMG_6428.JPG.JPG

The food was bomb. 💣 Actually, quite good. I was really surprised. It's sort of a "chick spot" if you will, so I expected an excellent looking dish in a quiet, warm and comfortable location that lacked in quantity and quality. Luckily, I was wrong. While it was not a huge portion by any stretch of the imagination it wasn't too shabby either. The taste exceeded my expectations as well. It certainly wasn't no hamburger helper anyway. ;)

After I dropped my wife and son off back at home I headed to work. a private lesson in Bandai (the main shopping area here in Niigata).


Are you familiar with TOTORO?

It's an Anime that was created in Japan and now has a cool store found in cities throughout Japan.

IMG_6429.JPG.JPG

  • Even if you don't have the name recognition - you may have seen this guy around...

Now, there is a store celebrating the animation here in Niigata (It's been here quite awhile, actually.)
IMG_6430.JPG.JPG

IMG_6431.JPG.JPG
As my father used to say, "she ain't no magic carpet, but she'll take you for a ride. (NO, he never actually said that, I just felt like saying that here) Speaking of that, I almost forgot!!


Awesome one-liner credit: Written by the creator of this post (as far as I know)


I was lucky enough to "interview" a friendly Japanese lady today about TOTORO.

ME: Why do you like TOTORO?

HER: Well. It’s very heartwarming and there is a giant creature in the movie! He is so cute!

ANOTHER CONSTRUCTION WORKER DUDE allowed me to interview him. Also, such a nice, nice man.

Now a brief note. Have you ever seen Japanese construction pants or "TOBI" trousers? (they will come into play in this interview)

a168c01ced75c7d8f0860be724a9237d.jpg
Tobi Trousers


TOBI image credit: source


START OF CONVERSATION:

CONSTRUCTION GUY: You look like Harry Potter!!

ME: (Thinking) I look nothing like Harry Potter, you ass.
ME: Can I ask you a question about TOTORO?

CW: Yeah! Come on, Harry Potter!

ME: Do you like Totoro?

CW: It's ok...

ME: Why are the construction pants baggy? I always wondered.

CW: They are like cat whiskers and warn us of dangers!

OK, actually that is a pretty awesome explanation. Anyone know of any other reasons? Fasion mainly? I've heard that now too.


Thanks for reading! All pictures in this were taken by me unless otherwise noted.

Sort:  

https://www.at-genba.com/contents/text/c111/
This page also talks about the bagginess being helpful for balance and as a measure of wind when working high spots!
Thanks @musingsltd! I never took even one moment to think about those awesomely stylish parachute trousers before!


I love Totoro but the anime is actually based on a true and creepy story o_o

@mariacherries - thanks for reading!

Are you talking about the idea of the family dying in the movie? I've heard that before or are you talking about different story?

Well I'm talking about the rumor that the story is inspired in the Sayama case:
"n May of 1963, at a part of Japan called Sayama, a high school girl gets kidnapped. Her older sister desperately looks for her. A few days later, they find the younger sister brutally murdered. It is said her slipper was found near the spot where they found her body and 6 Ojizou-san were near her body.

Satsuki(五月) means May(the month) in Japanese, and the name "Mei" sounds like the english word "May".

Also, at the beginning of the movie when the old lady picks up the box that was dropped, the box is labelled 狭山茶, Sayama Tea. According to the rumors, Tea field is where the older sister delivered the ransom for her sister. Near the end you will notice a man in a field working when Satsuki is searching for Mei."

Check this article about some of the clues we get in the anime:
http://www.dazeddigital.com/artsandculture/article/32059/1/unraveling-the-fan-theory-behind-ghibli-s-totoro

I believe there is something there, because Hayao Miyazaki has said that he creates his stories, characters and places inspired in his travels, also if you look at other stories he has created like "Spirited Away" on the surface it's a happy story, but if you analyze the story a bit is terribly heavy.

Very interesting. I had no idea!
Thanks for sharing.