Day 1 Of Quarantine In Tokyo

in #japan3 years ago

Woke up at 3:45am today. Jetlag is so nice going west compared to going east. The other thing that's nice about this jetlag is I get to see the sun rise. It comes up at around 5am in Japan and like most of you, I would never be up that early!

IMG_9188.JPG

Today is my first official day of quarantine. I'll spend the next 14 days cooped up in my house driving my wife and kids crazy. The government is contacting me everyday and requiring me to contact them twice a day to check in my location and to report my health condition.

Earlier today I was expecting the government to contact me via Skype, so I got a notification and clicked on it. Turns out it was some "woman" seeking men. I thought for a second, there's no way this could be associated with the Japanese government could it? Then I realized, no, it's some spam, so I ignored it.

It's now 3pm and still no call from the government. Normally I wouldn't care, but because the forms they have you sign at the airport say "Your name will be published and your visa may be revoked if you break any of the rules" I'm a little nervous. Then again, it's their job to contact me, not the other way around so It should be fine.

Other than that, the day has been uneventful. I'm just happy to be home with my family.

Sort:  

I'm kind of surprised they let you stay in your home. For some reason I was under the impression that they throw quarantiners in those little rooms they use for visa-violators at the immigration center. Hmm...don't know where I got that idea 🤔

At any rate, glad to hear you are home. Hope things go well. Have they contacted you yet for today?

Well since they put a tracking app on your phone I think they feel fine letting people go home. You break quarantine and you risk losing your visa. Don't want to jeopardize that golden ticket.

Every time I've come back they've let me go home, but you can't use public transportation so you have to either be picked up at the airport by a relative or rent a car.

They were making visitors quarantine at hotels, but I'm not even sure a visitor can get in now.

Thanks the welcome, already stressed out that I can't just run down to the combini and grab something. I happen to live next door to the mayor so no messing around.

The system is kinda odd as the whole point of quarantine is so you don't come into contact with anyone upon entering the country.... Anyway, it's good that you can be with your family again. Take care

I'm of the opinion that quarantine is ridiculous anyway for a virus with a 99% survival rate. If I wasn't a resident then they would make me stay in a hotel at the airport. Still, I wasn't allowed to take any public transportation to get home. I tested negative 72hrs before I left, then tested negative again at Haneda so I probably had a higher chance to catch anything when I picked up or dropped off my rental car.