I Took The Good Times, I'll Take The Bad Times..

in #japan4 years ago (edited)

IMG_7151.JPG

It's really weird being in Japan after being gone for over 5 months. Life is fairly normal here, except for the businesses that are going/have gone out of business over a BS virus. Ya, I said it because I know what I am talking about.

IMG_7149.JPG

The virus has barely effected Japan, but the lockdown has devastated the country. Luckily Japanese haven't sheltered in place like their cowardly Western Cousins. No, they came up with ways to deal with everyday life and said fuck it, we're going back to work. Of course not without it's share of business casualties.

As I sit in an English pub and type this, other patrons are here, not giving a shit about social distancing, enjoying themselves. The French doors I face outside show me passer-bys, most with masks, but a good amount without, go about with their lives. Billy Joel plays on the sound system and it couldn't be more perfect. I don't care what you say anymore, this is my life, go ahead with your own life, leave me alone!

IMG_7154.JPG

It's such a relief from the garbage pop/hip hop playing in so many stores here. Conditioning.

Anyway, sorry for the rant. I'm sick of this "New Normal" bullshit. I'm old enough to remember when life was normal, fearless, fun and prosperous. it's time to go back to there. Enjoy some Billy Joel!

Sort:  

Glad you made it back home ❤ @rt395! :-)
I've been seeing lots of large trippy megalithic boulders
and other goodies on videos that are in Japan, hope
you get to check some amazing rock and gem places out!
Curious if you have if you have seen the different agendas
and as of late all the fires!
One of my favorite songs, my life!

Japan is a rugged country. Erosion hasn't had as much time or effect here as other parts of the world so ya, there are boulders everywhere up in the mountain streams. Gonna try to hit 1 spot this week before I head over to Niigata for our gem and mineral show.

As we are now seeing, the fires are being set on purpose. Maybe firebugs, maybe useful idiots. It's causing fear and chaos on the West Coast. The people who do that should be punished to the full extent of the law. It is terrorism.

Thanks for checking in! Hope all is good up there with you and yours.

I am not religious....so this was the 'hymn' we played for each other at my wedding. Excellent number.... the marriage only made 5 years though .... leading to a fabulous 30 years of bachelorhood {grin}...

Yup, this COVID is a crock of shyte.... truly! All orchestrated to ensure we all become used to restricted freedoms and policing. These clowns in South Africa still have lockdown, restrictions on alcohol sales etc. On our recent trip it was sad to see how many businesses have closed... those dependant on travellers and tourism. Is a cockup of monumental note.

Marriage definitely isn't easy, but once you get past that 7 year itch it seems like it gets better, easier. Add into the mix marrying a foreigner and different ethnicity! Probably why we survived. Glad you enjoyed the break though.

Ya, COVID is total BS. Just another, SARS like the ones before that can be dangerous depending on your age and/or health, but so can the flu, pneumonia, etc. Just glad Japan is handling it much better than the US. I wear a mask indoors out of respect, but not outdoors. Some people here do the same so I'm not alone. I've talked to people here about it and they agree, but going against the grain here is really difficult for people.

Hope things will get better down in SA. Cheers,