You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Done Posting On Hive

in #jerrybanfieldlast year

I was just looking at his posts, and there's a majority of upvotes.
I'll admit, I'm somewhat ignorant when it comes to Hive's structure & I find it to be much more complex than any other social site I've used with the proposals, witnesses, etc.

Do downvotes have a disproportionate effect or something?

Sort:  

Do downvotes have a disproportionate effect or something?

No. Stake based; Hive Power (HP). More HP equates to more 'say' in where rewards go. The reward pool is shared with everyone and maintained by stakeholders. Even if you have 1HP in your account, you are a stakeholder, with minimum impact. And with the combination of voting power (VP) and voting mana (VM) one can hand out far more effective upvotes than downvotes.

With this scenario seen above (the post), I didn't feel it was necessary to 'reward' that behavior. With my stake currently, my votes in either direction at full VP are worth roughly $1.70. If others felt the behavior seen above should be rewarded, they can counter that downvote of mine, easily. More of them, than me.

That makes sense, but then again I must ask why he feels so negatively affected by relatively low downvote ratio?
Perhaps they are from high stake users?

I must ask why he feels so negatively affected

I can't speak for him; I have no clue. I do know he has a bad reputation. Reputation matters.

Downvotes aren't the end of the world. Some people do overreact. I think he was doing fine until he made a proposal which was firmly rejected, so he did a complete 180 and went from loving it to hating it with the flip of a switch, possibly proving his intentions were not pure and authentic to begin with, but I don't know.

At the end of the day, people are free to come and go and make any decisions they want. So he did. As did I.

High stake members have the most to lose, correct? And here this guy is attempting to take from everyone by attempting to lure people into dumping. Yet he feels downvoting him is unfair? The things that make you go HMMMM...

Yeah I thought it was interesting that he was clearly pleading for sell offs as if looking out for everyone else's interests.

It feels like there's some personal motivations, but I don't know him either so.

But thanks for the clarifications.

Generally speaking, there are far more success stories that deserve attention and could be celebrated, but drama sells, and boasting about success is the easiest way to fail, yet there is still room to be proud of one's accomplishments. It's all in the delivery.

Every now and again someone has a meltdown. To give him some credit I think it would be fair to say this was an emotionally charged kneejerk reaction; not much thought put in to it. These things happen; people gonna people.

Of course, once bridge is burned, the only one who can rebuild it is the arsonist. Boils down to choices. This code and all the technical aspects of the platform can only go so far. I briefly touched on these situations within this post. There's a part about owning your platform and people struggling with that concept. When there's a problem, people are programmed to blame something else, but that doesn't quite work in a decentralized arena.