Survived The Tsunami - My entry for @jerrybanfield's Supernatural Writing Contest (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

I try to tell you about my experience of surviving the tsunami waves to follow the contest held from @jerrybanfield.
I think I can share with you all of my experience.

I want to tell a little story that I experienced on the 26th of December 2004 years ago and at that time the whole world was crying and grieving.
At that time, precisely on Sunday at around 7:00 am. At that time my age is still 16 years old habits that I do with children my age is playing, because the sun is still embarrassed to greet my village so I and my friends play ball on the field as we do in the afternoon.

Not long I was playing a ball suddenly earthquake happened that I never felt so far, the earthquake that happened was only about 5 minutes. After the earthquake ended we went on the suspended game suddenly I look to the corner of the field that has flowing, because the area where I live including the forest so many plants and palm trees and others. If there is a full moon there will be tidal water, because my village is a coastal area and our ball field is definitely in flood by water, so we assume that the water that is in the ball field is due to the tide. Instantly we heard a strange noise in the ground and suddenly the water spurted out of the surface of the black soil. We were immediately scared and screamed as hard as he was, asking for help. Please ... please ... please and no one listening to our shouts, finally me and my friends go home.

When I got home, I asked my mother "mak, was idil liat there is water out of the ground" my mother replied "ooooh not anything dil" my mother tried to calm me. I tried to forget the incident that just happened, suddenly my neighbor behind my house shouted "sea water rise, sea water up" I was confused to see people running near my home street. The family began to panic, my father spoke to us all to run also toward my junior high school.
According to my reasoning at that time, this junior high was due to its two-story building, so my family tried to reach my junior high school. Strange noises began to be heard in my ears right at the sea, like the waves that I often hear on the beach at night even the rumble sounds more clearly heard in my ears. I heard it while running with my family that is my second brother (faisal), my brother (fajri), mother, father and I (third child). We were four siblings, my first brother (rizal) was not at home because he had a small business that is a coffee shop and he lived in the coffee shop that the distance from my house about 2 kilometers.

My young brother fajri was 2 years old a month at the time and could not run fast like me, so she was in my mother's arms to carry with her. Our family ran along with my neighbors near my house and residents who are around my house to go to my junior high school.

I was young and strong, when I ran I heard faisal brother talking to my mother "bu, let me just carrying my fajri sister" and my mother also agreed. When we were on a three-lane road near the elementary school school, suddenly the waves began to approach us. The waves were shaped like a cobra's head and black-colored as thick as 20 meters suddenly ... .. I was rolled up by the waves, I did not have to how and I just resigned while thinking about the fate of my family. Inside the waves, I saw something in the water like a big, black creature I had not seen in my life. The creature looked at me like "this is how you all" at that moment I was in a state like between conscious and not. After that incident, I saw a glimmer of light from above and I followed the light, I arrived on the surface of the water but the wave was still there and I was carried by the wave in an irregular direction, I saw houses, cars, fishing boats are all carried away by this wave. After 15 minutes, suddenly the water recedes I was carried away by the current that returns the direction of the sea is very fast. My body is very weak and helpless, and I can only because my feet are caught in a wood drifted by the low tide.

The black-colored water has been drinking several times by me, which is uncomfortable and painful by my throat. I can only surrender to the circumstances at that time. I felt something on the soles of my feet, sharp objects stuck a little on the soles of my feet. Half my body from the waist down was beginning to not feel anymore little by little, because the garbage, wood, and others were carried away due to the rapid current began to squeeze my waist strongly. I can only ask for help and help with a soft voice. Rubbish that squeeze me that, I feel about less than 1 hour, you try to imagine how it feels pressed objects that duration of approximately 1 hour and the longer, the more pain.

This is a fishing boat that brings you safely.
Now a tourist attraction in Aceh

source

Oh God, help me forgive all my sins and my family "I said in my heart". My vision began to look vague, suddenly I heard a faint voice calling my name from a distance "dil, what is it you", I softly replied "yes". Apparently they are villagers I know and they survived by boarding a fishing boat "hang on dil, we will try to save you" said one of them. "Patience dil, we will throw this rope, but wait for the water to plug it in again" they replied, because my body has been squeezed by the garbage is too much and hard to pull.

After waiting for some time, finally the water began to plug and that's when they throw the rope that has been in connecting - a simple patch on the fishing boat. They pulled slowly so my body would not feel that pain. Finally I can reach the fishing boat. Thank goodness I finally got out of the crap that made me congested and helpless. My body was cold and trembling and they were trying to find something on the fishing boat, but they did not find it. They just told me to drink the coconut water they get in the water. Suddenly I felt something in my stomach and finally I vomited the black liquid that was drunk by me earlier.


source

I did not expect so powerful this wave, only takes about 15 minutes can destroy everything. After the tidal water, we searched for places we could stay overnight. After the shelter, we waited for the water to recede so I could find my relatives as well as them. I'm looking for where my family is, I'm desperate, sad, crying even I'm almost crazy laughing to myself even I want to kill myself because I can not accept such a huge burden for this.


source
The day began to darken, I still looking for my family even though the body is full of blood due to exposed objects that choke me earlier. My family did not find, I was looking for a place to spend the night at the Baiturahman highway mosque that I can stay overnight, because crowded people who break here. The next day I started searching, I asked the people I knew about my family maybe they saw my family. After I asked over and over again the same person I met, I finally found the answer that made my life re-excited.

They told me that seeing my second brother in Lampaseh area, I immediately got there and finally I met with my brother. I cried, in my cries I asked "which mother bang, our family where bang" he can only reply firmly "brother has not found it dil" I was sitting limp helpless only tears flowing this bruised cheeks caused by junk crush and the heat of the sun.

source

Day after month, we also did not find it, I just resigned and a small heart spoke "GOD, when my culprit has taken my family back to you, I am sincere" just one of my pleas, place them in Heaven and them on the side of you. Aameen.

For a long time, I tried to forget these bitter memories, every night I dreamed of what happened to me. Until - until I woke up from sleep, because I was so afraid of my dream. Every now and then in my sleep I feel the caress of my mother's hand that brushes my hair. On the next night, I dreamed the thing that made me remember until now that I dreamed of meeting my mother and he just smiled at me, in this dream I asked my mother "mother why never go home again" my mother also replied "mother has moved to Lambaro dil, do not live in Gampoeng Jawa" "Why? it's a mother's house too "I asked. My mother just replied "No dil, mother has settled there now" then suddenly I woke up thinking about my dream earlier. The next day I went straight to Lambaro, it turns out here is my mother in the slum in the village of Siron Aceh regency a large area kilometers from where I live. Only the mother I know where the grave, the rest is not and until now I can not find them. Are they still alive or dead? I do not know. Despite that, I was willing to let them go.

https://video.search.yahoo.com/search/video?fr=tightropetb&p=YOUTUBE+TSUNAMI+ACEH#id=1&vid=1c094fda436bbf72f1c28c37c2ef25b5&action=click
This video little story like me that feel

Now my age is 27 years, every year I visit this mother's grave just to treat my longing that I can not express with the word. I should be able to take wisdom from all this. This life must continue to walk and live in front of this. Live this life with passion.

My family became the victims of the tsunami disaster :

  1. My father (not found until now)
  2. My mother (not found until now)
  3. My brother (not found until now)
  4. My young brother (not found until now)

This is my story about the devastation of Earthquake and Tsunami Disaster, hopefully my story is useful for those who read and can be a lesson for us that love your family and people around you. They need our attention.

Sort:  

I read your story, im sorry to hear that.. I know it still hurt remembering those tragedy. We will pray for their soul in heaven.

Thanks for reading my story @bobiecayao.
Aameen.