Park Slide: A Memoir SWC

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

The year was 1998 and I was only 3 years old. It's extremely odd that I remember my childhood so clearly at this young of an age, but I was different. I could talk at 3 months old not gibberish either. I could say mama and  I have always been a fast learner all my life. I was able to walk at 9 months, for any baby that is fast. Time flies by as I am 22 years old, and have always been a curious kid who loves life, and always has a smile on his face. Well this story is about a slide in Upstate New York, where at that exact day I could have died. My near death experience is different to me, because although I was so young I found a way to survive. Let me explain. It is my story, but I also recieved some knowledge with things I forgot from my loving parents. It was Like any other day in upstate New York, living life carefree as any 3 year old would. I had a huge imagination. I had the whole world ahead of me and with me in charge nothing could stop me, My parents coming up with a great idea for have a wonderful day at the park. It was a cloudy day and a peaceful one at that. It was so quiet at that park we were the only ones there. Looking back this park was not very safe as the whole park area including a large slide was overtop a concrete flooring.

The slide was scary, looking back I remember staring way high into the sky, and wondering how can I ever even get up there. The slide was 7 feet tall and at the time I was really short.Now I am 6ft2 but still to a baby 7 feet is extremely high.  My father was waiting all the way up on top of the slide, with his hand out to help me when I got up there. I was going slowly, because even now to this day I am afraid of heights, probably from this exact moment. It took me about 2-3 minutes to finally reach near the top, I was reaching out for my fathers hand. Instead of grabbing my dad's hand I suddenly stumbled slowly at first then it started getting worse. I lost my footing and complete control. I began toppling down the slide at a fast speed and by a miracle I grabbed the bottom of the slide just in time. If I didn't grab a metal bar at the bottom of the slide I would have went head first into the concrete and bust my head open and would have died. I don't really want to think about it to this extent as it was horrific. I hit my head on the metal bar near the bottom of the slide and it caused me to bleed and my parents seeked medicial attention immediately. Luckily there was a nurse there and I was rushed to the hospital. I got staples, a minor injury to what could have been brain damage, or death. I remember to this day as I was falling, seeing some sort of guardian angel reaching to me, a heavenly apparation with angel wings  giving me the reaction time and strength to grab the metal bar. At 3 years old I didn't know I had the power to hold onto that bar for my life. I just did it and I know that day I was saved.

Things could have gone different that day, if It wasn't for me being saved, then I could have never reached my dreams, or never be able to live a comfortable life that I live now. I want to thank everyone that day from the angel to my parents. It was an extremely close call, and I am thankful for being alive. Thinking back our family probably could have sued the park for having not safe conditions. I belive they changed it from concrete to something more safe such as sand. The world is a crazy place, and the last place I would have wanted to die would be from falling from a slide at such a young age. I am lucky I survived and I plan on making a difference in life, and others lives. I have recently been diagnosed with bipolar, but that is fine by me. I take my mediciation every day and continue to take extra good care of my health. Things could have been different but I thank my stars, and love living the life I live. I hope this story can be an inspiration to anyone out there, but also just understand somethings you can't control and you must find the strength either in your self or by a guardian angel. I don't remember much about that day, but everything I remember I made clear, and my parents still talk to me about it till this day. I got my whole life to look forward to and enjoy everything in my life currently. Take me way back to a good time in my life and I smile at my childhood. Memories are not always good as this one isn't but it provides me strength as it was such a close call. Memories are meant to be remembered, sometimes you can't remember everything that happened in your life, but if you think deeply about something that happened to you that caused trama. You can remember a lot more if you have a different thought of it also. I have a whole new outlook on life and will continue work on making myself a better person through and through.


All things considered im a lucky guy, I live with my parents still and they love me with all their heart. I survived falling off a slide, and I will survive other things going forward but I live life to the fullets and have no regrets. Thank you so much for reading my story guys I hope It will provide some thoughts about not taking things for granted such as life.


Sort:  

Absolutely loved this story! Life is short, indeed - one moment we are happy and living and everything is going great; the next moment, tragedy hits and our lives spiral into chaos and disorder. Carpe diem, my friend. Carpe diem.

By the way, I wrote a story for the contest as well - feel free to check it out and give it an upvote! :)

https://steemit.com/jerrybanfield/@stevensteel/a-second-chance-entry-for-supernatural-writing-contest-by-jerry-banfield