The (re)Unboxing of my Box of Opportunities

in #journey6 years ago

About two weeks ago, I've decided that one of my ways to cut off my cigarette consumption is by spending most of my money into other things. I bought a Raspberry Pi 3B. I was planning to write about it last week, but all my photos were deleted in the unboxing because I had reformatted my phone.

I decided to re-unbox it. The delivery guy came last Monday afternoon and delivered the package I expected. It was enclosed in a small box. I really had the thrill when I started opening it.

A Raspberry pi is a single board computer, mostly used for school projects. It is pretty popular in the crypto space. It's cheap, so it will be worth to try running nodes or staking coins; which would help me a lot in gaining a little more passive income.

So, there it was, I saw the package with two boxes, an SD card and the board case. I bought it at Lazada for Php 3,699 ($74). Encased in the boxes were the pi charger and the board.

The board was wrapped in an antistatic bag, which was really expected for electronics, since these are prone to damage due to electrostatic discharge. So, I unboxed everything, put the board into the case, and connected the charger! I have an old keyboard and monitor that was used in my old pc. Finally they're gonna be used again.

Setting up the Pi was easy. The SD card in the package was pre-installed with Raspbian, the operating system of the pi. It was just connecting all the cords and then we're ready to have fun! I'm thinking of how should I use the pi for now. I have the least background in linux, and I have limited knowledge in programming so I'd just find something that'll be my hobby for this small computer.

I can't really believe how the technology is evolving. Truly the Raspberry pi is one great leap for those who are in the underdeveloped countries who would want to learn about programming and computers with just a cheap investment. And of course, there's the bubble wrap for bonus.



Interested in trading and haven't traded yet? Try Binance. They trade STEEM too!
You can buy some altcoins not listed on Binance at Kucoin!(Please always check the url and don't get phished!)
Feeling ballsy and wanna do leverage? BitMEX allows up to 100x! Don't get burned though, or else the bot will quote your order.
Wanna try Options Trading? Spectre.ai offers options trading with traditional currencies using the Ethereum blockchain! You can try the demo too!

Disclaimer: Trading includes financial risks. Invest what you can only afford to lose. I am not your financial advisor and the given links hereof are not an investment or trading signal or advice but for information, research and educational purposes only.


Sort:  

Welcome to Raspberry Pi journey, learn Python and do amazing things with your new computer. There is a wonderful community with resources to show you how to do almost anything with a RPi.

Thank you!. I'll surely be busy in the next few weeks studying this one! I've seen there are a lot of programmers here on steemit and I'd like to learn from all of you.

This post has received a 12.33% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @michaeljpsalazar. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by small🐬 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.