My first 'normal' job in 2 years: are you willing to get your hands dirty while crypto is down?

in #joy6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0862.jpg

These were the blisters on my hands after just two hours of working in a garden, digging out earth. While the crypto market is down I am left with little choice but to get back to the basics and do a bit of manual labour, which after 2 years of sitting at this computer I can tell you is a little bit painful.

After acquiring these blisters I was then expected to mix lime with sand to create mortar for a stone wall... with my hands. Not something I would recommend to anyone. This is what my left hand looked like at the end of the second day. The lime seems to be very effective at burning into my skin!

IMG_0863.jpg

I am just about to start day 3 and you will be happy to hear I now have gloves!

Here is the stone wall I am in the process of constructing, with the help of a local man.

IMG_9444_5_6_tonemapped.jpg

It's not a bad spot to work, all things considered. You can see the lime/sand mixing tub I had my hands in yesterday and the stone wall at the bottom of the garden.

IMG_9471_2_3_tonemapped.jpg

It is next to the village canal, which everyone uses to water their plants. This is the neighbouring house.

IMG_9438_39_40_tonemapped.jpg

The garden is long and thin and there is much to be done.

IMG_9468_69_70_tonemapped.jpg

I am estimating three months till this three levelled strip of brown earth is rich with colour and life, matching its surroundings.

IMG_9486_7_8_tonemapped.jpg

The property belongs to an english woman who moved to the South of France a few years ago and rents this place out through airbnb.

Here you can enjoy your glass of wine watching the sun go down across this agricultural valley in the Pyrenees Mountains.

IMG_9480_1_2_tonemapped.jpeg

IMG_9492_3_4_tonemapped.jpeg

IMG_9498_499_500_tonemapped.jpeg

This is what the property looks like from the street side. The village is very small with just 300 people and we live just up the road, 1 min walk from here.

IMG_9504_5_6_tonemapped.jpeg

Am currently trying to temp @teamsteem & @karensuestudios to come and stay here because they will be passing through France next month, but I would like to extend this invitation out to all steemians!

If you can make it here and pay for the room we will be more than happy to entertain you and point you in the right direction for some of the most awesome views and walks.

We have the mountains and we have the sea.

IMG_9661.jpg

Right... must dash. I have a job to go to! Feels so weird saying that ;)

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet SEE MORE

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Ow, that looks painful!
But what a beautiful place!

Not gonna lie. It is still a bit painful and i will never make the mistake of not wearing gloves again! Thought I was invincible for a while there ;)

You would be the most welcome person of all should you ever decide to drop in x

I agree with you: it's really a beautiful place!

Anyway, the blisters will turn into more robust skin (calluses) so, next time, Sam will not suffer: our body is wonderful, isn't it?

A big hug from @amico!

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post searchtool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined guidelines. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

P.S. Woah! Those blisters. Have you already given them names?

haha! I really should name them. They are oozing today and seem pretty alive to me!

Thanks for the upvote.

I have few naming ideas. If you think the same ones are going to be there for a long time and you propably end up paying their education, you should pic the most favourite names of all times. That is something I won't be able to help you. So I lied and I actually do not have any ideas.

But if you think these are just one of many, blisters come and go, some are smaler and some bigger, then you should name those like some countries (atleast here in Finland and that's enough proof for me) name their storms. Start alphabetically. Anna, Bob, Dolly...

Or alphabetically and according to the blisters nature: Abscess, Badass, Creepy, Defiant...

We know you got those blisters counting your cryptos... :)

haha! You got me. Those darn bitcoins are so heavy... and with rough edges!

ouch, your hands look very sore! the worst is that you have to keep working and can't let it heal first. Take it easy, and dont work too hard because all markets will rise again soon. :)

In fact, I was lucky. The other guy couldn't make it this week so I begin work again today! So, they have healed up well now. Plus... now I have the gloves ;)

Ah, hard work out in the sunshine is just the best. It’s the perfect companion to computer work and I think you should do some every week, not always such intense construction that takes the skin off your hands but a little gardening is just the best therapy. Growing some veggies and flowers is real soul food. There are actually natural anti depressants in soil which is why everyone gets a lift from a spell in the garden. Your house, garden and surroundings are stunning. Shall definitely drop by if ever in France again.... I do love France though I have to say 😍🌈🌴🦋💛Happy Weekend and watch those blisters 😉

100% agreed about gardening being good for us and it goes without saying in my life now. Personally I find the watering quite therapeutic. I collect it from our village canal (which runs next to our house) with two watering cans and absolutely love this part of the day :)

At least the weather has turned out for your "ease" back into regular work after two years away.

Hopefully, all is well and that there are no more mysterious looking clouds passing by 🤞🏼

All is well thanks and I wouldn't change anything for the world. This is exactly what my body needed after two years of becoming a crypto nutter ;)

Beautiful photos of the landscape unfortunately your hands have taken a beating.

They are still rather painful today (day 4) but I am pretty sure they will toughen up soon. And if Steem keeps doing what it has been doing the last 24h I won't need to work much longer!

I feel your pain brother. This lull in the market is forcing me back to working with my hands and back. Hope your hands heal up fast!

Thank goodness Steem is up 30% at this moment. A little glimmer of hope and a reminder of that awesome feeling when everything is going UP UP UP!

Great post!
I can relate, yesterday I as well did some gardening. Not going to lie felt pretty good getting my hands dirty and doing some manual labor, definitely can't go back to living that way but it was nice to revisit.

Moderation is the key :)

As you say, wouldn't want to do it all the time... but love it when I do!

The photos look amazing, houses & landscapes.

They're not edited in any way are they?

They are created using a technique called HDR which combines three exposures to make a richer final image ;)

I knew it, but I still wanted to visit a sky and greens with these 'shiny' colors! ~ Good Job anyway ~

next time I am in the south of France I will be sure to stop by ;) Thank god you got some gloves.

Looking forward to welcoming you here!

Yep, thank goodness for a neighbour who had some gloves I could borrow ;)

Wow what a gorgeous surrounding, there’s nothing like a bit of physical work every now and then as well, pump the blood and see your work unfold before you.

It is exactly what the doctor ordered :)

I agree with the rest! It is a beautiful place. The weather is great too!

Blue skies at the moment and I am getting a decent sun tan ;)

I can not imagine what it feels like to work without protection on your hands. his work is excellent, it's a nice town that I would like to kn, it looks very warm and harmonic!

Yep, I realise now that was not such a smart move as my hands are still very painful. Oh well... lesson learned!

The village is wonderful !
Take care of your and your hands ;) Sometimes it s feels good to hard work with the ground ^^

It really is a beautiful place! Lucky to be here.

The hands are feeling much better now thanks :)

You are such a tough guy! You always were! Resteemed with pleasure! 😘

hqdefault.jpg

That's wonderful place and view Sam! :)

I instantly smiled when i saw your hard work because it's such a natural thing that you're doing. Then I saw the scenery and loved everything all over again! Great work!