Keto Recipe: Chocolate Covered Nut butter Balls

in #keto6 years ago

TITLE.jpg

Hello Keto fans,

I’ve got a new recipe for those of you who like me have a sweet tooth, but want to limit the amount of carbs on your diet. My personal favorite candy before my diet was Reese's peanut butter cups. I’ve found a way to re-create these treats while limiting the amount of sugars in each bite.

Ingredients required:
1.5 oz of dark chocolate (70% chocolate or higher)
½ TBL coconut oil
12 TBL of Almond butter (or Justin’s Nut Butter)
Pinch Sea Salt for seasoning

IMG_2077.JPG

Note that I prefer to use Justin’s Nut Butter, but I only had Kirkland Almond butter on hand. I used 72% dark chocolate, but you can use 90% if you want less sweet and less net carbs. There is also a “low carb” milk chocolate you can use, I have never tried it.

First, make 24 “balls” of nut butter for dipping. Each of these should be about ½ tablespoon each, or a large teaspoon. I usually make one with a measurer, and then eyeball the remainder. Set these onto a cookie tray with aluminum foil or wax paper. The almond butter I used is very “runny” so my balls were kinda slouched. Put these in the freezer to harden up before dipping in chocolate.

IMG_2078.JPG

Take out 1.5 ounces of dark chocolate, which is 40 grams or about 4 squares. Cut these up into smaller pieces so they melt easier.

IMG_2079.JPG

Add chocolate to a microwave safe dish, and then add ½ teaspoon of coconut oil. This prevents the chocolate from burning when heated.

IMG_2081.JPG

Microwave chocolate + oil for 60 seconds. Remove and stir with a fork. Repeat heating for 30 seconds at a time until all of the larger chocolate chunks are melted. Don’t over-heat this as the chocolate will burn!

IMG_2085.JPG

IMG_2089.JPG

Take your nutbutter balls out of the freezer. Place one onto your fork and then dip into the chocolate. ROll it over if needed and remove with the fork. Let it drip, then set it onto a cookie tray ready with wax paper or foil.

IMG_2090.JPG

IMG_2092.JPG

After you’ve dipped all of the nutbutter balls, sprinkle a little bit of sea salt onto each. This adds a lot of flavor to dark chocolate.

IMG_2093.JPG

Set the cookie tray in the freezer. Once they harden (2-3 minutes) they are ready to serve! I serve them cold because the chocolate does tend to melt.

If you have extra chocolate, you can always throw walnuts, pecans, macadamea or other nuts in there to make a chocolate covered nut for a sweet snack.

Nutritional Macros
For your benefit, I’ve estimated the “Macros” here. I usually don’t count these in my recipes, as I’ve found losing weight as long as I am preparing whole foods and not using any sugar or grain containing foods. But I figured this one is borderline with the limited sugar in dark chocolate and the nut butter.

Macros.png

Thanks for reading! I hope you can use it along your keto journey. Please follow me and read my other blogs about the ketogenic diet with other recipes. If you like what you read, please resteem and follow. Cheers!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Wow, seems like a very good snack for my sweet tooth! Thanks so much for sharing!

When I get my lazy butt to do it, I will send you my results!

Cheers!

Hello Tlahui, thanks for your nice comments! The nice thing about this recipe, it only takes about 15 minutes. So don’t worry about being lazy :)
Cheers!