How Does Alcohol Impact Ketosis - My Experiment

in #ketosis6 years ago

What better objective way to assess something than to measure it with a device?

There are a lot of folks out there saying this and that about the ketogenic diet and how ketosis is to a more or less degree impacted by different aspects of lifestyle and diet. But there's more talk than actual data, sadly. And this makes it hard for lay people to distinguish between fact and fiction.

In this video I conduct a personal experiment in which I test the impact of alcohol on ketosis, or, to be more precise, on blood ketones.

I am aware that this is only one experiment and that I would have to conduct many more, well controlled experiments, to try to get a very good grasp on how alcohol impacts my state of ketosis. But, it's a start...

So, it's very simple. I rank about 150ml of whisky, and then I tested my ketones a couple of hours after. See how it went in the video below...



To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Did you made any experiments with measuring kenone using breath testing? From my reading this should give a more exact measurement of the the ketones transformed into energy, while the blood testing does not give a precise information about the burning rate...

It's the opposite - circulating ketones (from endogenous ketosis, not exogenous ketones) reflect the body needs to burn the fuel.

I'm only beginner in this field, and I was looking for a device to measure body's ketones. I'm just a little concerned about doing a blood test every time... How are you doing it? I believe you are measuring them from your blood, isn't it?

yes, pricking my finger for blood everyday.

ALCOHOL is dengerous for health

Man this has been the one of the more interesting personal diet journey that have followed ( in fact my only one). In the past few video I have been hooked by this new idea and have made some changes to my diet as well. Sadly my sugar consumption is still very high......

In this video I wasn't real;y surprise to see the blood glucose levels (they were almost close to fasting one) since you used alcohol last night so the body had the time to remove them. As for the ketones levels I can't say much because I am not really sure of the complete biology of how alcohol would effect it. But from my previous viewings of you videos, I remember that it didn't really change much for you.

how come you still eat high sugar since there's so much info out there against it?

Can't control myself....... its my one and true vice