Kombucha Chronicles: Fat Scoby Shots

in #kombucha6 years ago

I harvested a lot of kombucha today and in the process also cleaned them out of the scoby pellicle, of which I have too much. The goal in kombucha brewing is to brew the tea, not the pellicle and regardless of what people would tell you the pellicle is not needed for anything other than the liquid held within it. To make space in my jars for more possible brewing capacity I've cleaned these out but I took some shots to show you how big they can get.

These can be made into gummies or fruit leather or even vegan jerky, composted or fed to farm animals. I have so many I plan to do all, some are in the fridge waiting to be made into fruit leather hopefully tomorrow.

For my how to on kombucha brewing, visit this page.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

The Kombucha Chronicles, Part 5: Scoby Hotel and the Continuous Brew
The Kombucha Chronicles, Part 4: Flavors and Fizzy Geysers
Kombucha Chronicles: 5 Gallon Brew Harvest!

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Start of a Crazy One
Acapulco Sunsets: Photos and a Story
Garden Update: Succulent Zen Garden and Other Plants Transplant

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Haha I love the different angles of the scoby with the city in the background. It's like you're showcasing it for everyone to see how big and disgusting it looks.

My friend has been making kombucha for a couple years now and whenever I go over there I find it so amusing to poke the scoby. It feels so tough and slimy. It's a strange thing.

LOL, Love it!