Lessons Learned from BTS's United Nations Speech

in #kpop6 years ago

Echoing through the chambers of the United Nations, the words of the 24-year-old Kpop idol, Namjoon Kim, known as RM of BTS, touched the hearts of millions worldwide, with headlines of this historic moment filling the pages of Google. As I watched the video from beginning to end, I immediately felt motivated in a many number of ways. To be frank, in my pride, I never imagined a Kpop idol could speak to my heart. Well, RM, you just did. Here are my takeaways.

1. We all have our faults, and that’s okay

“Today, I am who I am with all of my faults and my mistakes… these faults and mistakes are what I am, making up the brightest stars in the constellation of my life.”

Too often, I find myself in a state of despondency over the errors that I committed yesterday, and I think we can all relate to this. In elementary school, I walked away dejected after misspelling a word at the regional spelling bee. In high school, I missed the final shot to cost my team the win. In college, I performed poorly on an important exam. Did all these events suck? They sure did. I remember feeling stupid, hopeless, and lacking in confidence when I came to realize my shortcomings. Then, I began to doubt myself and my future. Will I ever be good enough? Will I ever make something of myself? Yes, this is how I reacted when I incorrectly put together the letters that formed the word “acquaintance” (I spelled it as acquantance as a 5th grader participating in the competition).

While I was hurting during different points of my life due to my imperfections, I can confidently say that I am a better person because of these flaws. Missing the last three-pointer as the clock winded down to zero motivated me to practice shooting baskets. Failing an exam pushed me to study harder and more efficiently. I know all of you can recount a moment of deep sorrow that has molded you into a better person. Maybe that’s what RM meant when he talked about faults and mistakes making up bright stars in the constellation of his life. Each mistake glows as a shining star when you became a more enlightened person, and when you connect the stars, you end up with a complete story in the shape of your own constellation.

2. Dream Big

“I was just an ordinary boy.”

No one is born extraordinary, although we are all incredibly extraordinary as individual human beings. None of us are born as idols or athletes or inventors or lawyers. It is only through imagination, effort, motivation, and luck, all of which are stirred in the cauldron of our lives to produce magic, that we can convert our dreams into reality. I believe that’s the story that RM and the other BTS members are telling.

I understand not all of us are fortunate enough to dream of greatness, as some of us are constrained by the harsh realities that leave no time and leisure for dreaming. I truly sympathize with those of you who are in this plight. But for those of us who are capable of dreaming, I urge you to do so. Do you think you are merely an ordinary person? If you think so, you are right. There’s nothing special that distinguishes you from your friend next door. But set a goal, discipline yourself, and strive towards excellence, and you will be extraordinary. Dream big. The boy from Ilsan, South Korea did and look where he’s standing right now.

Source: https://toptechnewz.com/the-bts-delivers-an-inspiring-speech-to-youth-on-the-united-nations-discover-your-voice-end-up/

3. Love Yourself

“I have come to love myself for who I am, for who I was, and for who I hope to be.”

For me, loving one’s self has two components: to truly accept who you are and to change who you are for the better.

Addressing the first notion, I used to view myself as unworthy, especially when I compared myself with others. Some externality would trigger a reaction, and a wave of uncertainty and self-doubt would flood every corner of my heart. Why am I like this? Why can’t I be like that person? I learned that we blindly walk into a pit of quicksand when we start comparing ourselves to others. Are you consumed by jealousy when you see that beautiful model on Instagram who’s sipping on expensive champagne in the back of a Bentley? Are you feeling worthless because you are not living that life? You shouldn’t, because there will always be someone who is prettier than you, smarter than you, and wealthier than you. Instead, reflect on your life, be grateful for your blessings, and dream of a better you.

I’m a firm believer in self-transformation as a key indicator of self-love. In modern times, one’s faults, no matter how unhealthy they are, are lauded as virtue and righteousness. Consequently, youngsters all around the world are hypersensitive to criticism and unwilling to change for the better, constantly arming themselves with the mentality of “I’m perfect — how dare you challenge me?” Let’s face it. We can loves ourselves for who we are, but accepting ourselves also comes with the responsibility of acknowledging our blemishes. I’ve seen people trapped in a constant state of drunkenness and health failure, people who justify their actions by saying, “This is who I am.” It’s one thing to accept yourself as a human being with inherent characteristics, and it’s another to live recklessly because you are apparently “born this way.” Love yourself, and you will be willing to change.

A powerful message was broadcast to the world on this September day. It is my wish that you listen to RM’s speech, digest his words, and reach your own conclusions to become a better you. For me personally, I am going to let my faults shape me into a better person who dreams big and loves himself with an attitude of humility.