[EN] The most unique and unusual university graduation in Thailand [King will confer you the degree by hands]

in #kr5 years ago (edited)

Thailand's the most unusual university graduation

Hi, this is Brian Yang from South Korea and I'd lived in Thailand for eight years for study.

It was 2010 when I moved to Thailand for educational purpose and I have nearly completed my Bachelor of Arts in Political Science on the upcoming April.

I was supposed to receive the degree about a half year ago but the entire graduation ceremony day has been put off due to some unknown reasons.

There are some interesting points that foreigners would never probably have heard or experienced before in your country.

  1. The King physically moves and confer the degree to the students and it is broadcasting live on TV.

  2. As per the fact that the King comes to the university, the students are forced to attend at least a couple of graduation ceremony rehearsal to be qualified to attend the actual ceremony

  3. All visitors whom are to enter the university on the graduation day must go through a security check for the safety reason.

To clarify and as you may doubt since the King is only one person while there are hundreds and thousands graduation will be in Thailand, the fact is that the royal family confers the degree to the students depending on the universities but the practice I mentioned above is subject to every students who want to receive the degree.

Reason that I mentioned the King confers the degree is because my university is historically where the King comes every year.

The Fun Fact

As I am abroad [I came back to Korea since last August], it would be hardly possible to participate the rehearsal [I am also work as a full time in a shipping company]. I contacted to my university administration office if I can still have a chance to stand behind the students to participate in the graduation ceremony partially but strongly rejected that NO QUALIFIED is allowed to join the sacred graduation ceremony.

As there would probably only one bachelor graduation in my life, I strongly hope to be a part of them on the day. I am still planning to visit to Thailand on April and hope that my participation is acceptable.

For those whom are interested and love Thailand

Asians including or particularly me and my girlfriend always want to travel Europe as the culture, atmosphere, environment, and foods are totally exotic. This theory in the opposite way would probably be the case for those Europeans/Americans as I have seen many many many whom are craving for living in the Southeast Asia.

As I have lived in both Europe [Munich, Germany], Thailand, the U.S, and Korea for over 8 years, I would have much things to share together with you. Because I am quite busy for my work, perhaps it would be difficult to write very often but hope you are pleased to read my article.

Further to above, if you have any inquiries/questions related to my travel, work, and study, please feel free to comment down the post and I will be pleased to revert you at my soonest convenience.

Thank you for reading my article and I will keep update regarding my graduation.

Sort:  

That's a very unique graduation!