STEEMIT TIPS: All it takes is leadership and incentive

in #leadership7 years ago (edited)

I have a business colleague who uses this line all the time. He's trying to figure out how to grow companies, change products, and work with customers. Seems like every time he comes back to "leadership and incentive." After being his friend for about 5 years and watching the truth in those words I've come to believe him. That's why a lot of what I write and do is focused around those two aspects. It's not always transparent, but they are always there.

Delegation is the key to authority

There are lots of ways to be a leader. You can be a boss whipping people in to shape. I kinda hate that approach. I prefer the idea of a leader. Taking a stand and rolling with the punches that come with it. I have a few simple guidelines I follow for how to be a good leader. It came from working on sustainability for one of the world's largest companies.

This is generally how I make decisions.

Problem Statement
Vision Statement
Mission Statement
Stakeholder analysis and involvement
Actionplan
Communication (outward)
Feedback (inward)

Every time I hit a challenge I start trying to figure out what's the problem, what's a vision that works, what's the mission/objectives, involve the community (which usually refines everything), and then step into the action plan. Whenever there is success it's time to communicate it. Lots of opportunities for that when you've planned well. Then work in some feedback so that you can tweak things for your audience, peers, team, bosses, etc.

Leaderfull

One of the things that I also believe in for leadership is giving passionate people authority to do shit. You can't do this with wimpy dweebs that don't care, but for the truly passionate I think "Give them authority and get out of their way." I do my best to turn Minnow Support Project into a place where people with ideas and passion can get them to work. Don't come to me and say what should I do!!!! I don't know. I don't know what you're passionate about. Come to me with your passion and tell me how you think you can change the world. I'll see what I can do to help fit it into the plans. I'll give you room to operate and just try to support your dreams.

I can't micromanage a fiction publishing house, a website launch, a new bot creation, a radio station, a few country channels, a shit ton of bots, 3500 people, abuse and everything that comes with MSP. I just try to give people that are passionate about one of those aspects some guidelines and then free rein. So, far it's basically been amazing!

Incentive

The other aspect of this is incentive. In lots of video games you have to grind stuff out. What can you grind out in Steemit?

SP, SBD, and Steem are the easiest to think of, but in some ways aren't the most valuable.
Followers, friends, resteems, and connections I think are a much bigger deal. Status is a huge one. Perception of you. These trend towards long term success as opposed to short term metrics.

So, if you're a redfish or minnow or even plankton dont' ask how much did I earn today. Think about how many friends and followers you've put together. That will have a much longer impact on your success.

As for status I think that's a big one too. You'll notice there are a shit ton of ranks in the Minnow Support Project. Lots of steps. Lots of ways to get higher up on the totem pole in there. It might look complicated, but it's not that hard. I try to think of ways that people can add value and then make ranks to show the value they contribute. I think people want to be recognized for what they do. It's free for me to give recognition for the hours people put in.

I try to say please and thank you. I try to tell people I'm grateful for their friendship and support. I drop little pictures of cakes and tea into comments I write back. it's an effort to be thoughtful for the kindness and effort people show. And the amazing thing is that on this platform more than anywhere else I've seen in life what you give is given back a thousand fold.

Call to Action

Ask yourself how can you make this place better. If you come up with some cool shit I'll be the first to support you.
Ask yourself how you can take action so that you're not looking for a central authority to make some change, but you're actively being the change while gathering support.
Finally, to be a good leader try to reward the people around you with as many of the different things you can give. Many are on chain. Others are off chain. Show gratitude and lead the way.

PS Don't be afraid to call out some exceptional folks

If you haven't been around MSP you wouldn't know that we've had a few Moderators that have been around since basically the beginning helping out and making that place awesome. The first three we've had are still there day and night helping that place to grow and be awesome. So, I just want to send some love to

@swelker101
@gmuxx
@sammosk

They're excellent examples of leadership. And I'm so happy to be on this journey with them.

Namaste Brothers. Good Times!

Sort:  

It is an enormous pleasure to be involved with MSP. I was asked today what I get out of being a moderator - I have also been asked how much I get paid (?) My answer was that seeing others grow is payment and reward enough.

You are right when you say look at your followers, friends and engagements. Don't focus on the money - that will come. Focus on doing the best you can to give somebody else a leg up. You will be rewarded in time.

Thank you for your support and mentorship.

Namaste

This just tickled my heart, you all are wonderful! I'm happy to be part of the MSP family! I've been saying since day one, that my motive here was just to meet good people and share my stories, I have found more than I ever would have thought possible over in genchat ;)
XO,
💜

Once you start to appreciate the subjective variety and nuance to leadership, the world starts to find you, instead of the other way around. Good perspectives and thanks for everything you/MSP provide.

Good stuff, as always, @aggroed. I hope to employ a few people eventually. These are great words to live by. I never want to be a manager. I want to lead.

Yeah. People hate their managers!

thats true

yes they do.

Nicely said!
Leadership isn't about being the boss, but about bringing the best out of others. Helping others to be the best they can be. The modern term for that is "Servant Leadership" (even though it's as old as the bible).

Great post. Well constructed and informative. Thanks for sharing

Your advice is on point. I especially love "Ask yourself how you can take action so that you're not looking for a central authority to make some change". I believe in spearheading movements and leading the way. I abhor when people blame the system without contributing to the solution. Cheers. Thank you!

In your CTA, you said "Ask yourself how can you make this place better. "
If everyone adopts the "Be Yourself" approach, then we can make this place better, far better than Facebook and other Social Media. There are more than 6 Billion people on this planet and everyone is different from other but the reality is not everyone is actually showing his/her true love for the thing they do.
I myself isn't a successful person, so I thought that I should highlight same people of my country and let the world know that hard work doesn't always guarantee you the success, it's sometimes your circumstances that don't allow you to grow and live a successful life.
I know this idea isn't something out of the box but the thing is it makes me happy and give me a peace of mind when I compare myself with those people!

I'm positive that spending your time helping others on here will be rewarded!

I have such a hard time with delegation. I have been burned so many times. I am like "let me just do it my self. That way i know it gets done right..."

#myowndemise

In Holland we got a saying "Alleen ben je sneller, maar samen kom je verder". Not literally translated it means: "Alone you'll are faster, but together you'll be better"

But of course it matters who the others are. They should be passionate like @aggroed said the same way you are about something (for passionate for you) for it to work.

@aggroed your points are great especially with regard to leadership. Good leaders lead by example and have a good sense of empathy, wisdom and hardworking. Good read indeed.

Thanks Chaz!

ou are welome, always and keep steeming to more success.

great article! thanks for sharing. it's like "you're the architect of your life - steemit life" :)

I appreciate all that you've done with the minnow support project. At first I was skeptical about how it would work out, but I'm really impressed that you really do seem to care about everyone and you have created an amazing community.

Thanks Jeez!!!!

Your thoughts about the steemit platform are really commendable and give motivation for minnows like me here. I am now convinced after two months of hard work here, the better you serve the community, it will reward you like you never imagined. Although due to my jobs I am not very active here whenever I get time , I love to read good stuff and wanna make great and long term friends here. Recently completed the project of 3D character design of the Sikh warrior after the whole week hard work.

one post at a time. Just keep at it.

I absolutely agree with you. I've worked with a lot of terrible bosses in the past, and they were yes my boss, but not a leader. I liked how you pointed out that a good leader gives their people authority. I'm an extremely creative person, and when people dictate what I can and cannot do, it really stumps my full potential, because I'm trying so hard to fit into a box instead of just throw the damn box away!

As for being a member of Steemit, my favorite part is the connections I have made. I've never really had online friends before, but they are so awesome. I wake up everyday looking forward to seeing who has left me a comment in my box! It's so fun and the people here are so smart, so I'm always learning from others. I'm good friends with @xaero1 (aka 01) and when you resteemed my post, first thing I had to do was tell him! (haha 01 was like.. don't forget me when your famous) LOL. I was just so flattered that you did that. Totally made my day :) New friendship on Steemit are just awesome! Glad we connected, and I cant wait to see how our friendship blooms!

Ditto. I didn't know you knew him. I think I met him a day or two ago. Neat person. My goal is to help other people and we seem to have some similar interests. Glad to help you. Hopefully you'll remember me too when you're famous!

hahha you guys are so silly! more like I hope ya'll don't forget me when your big and famous!

haha yea I met him on Steemit and we have been friends since! :) It's fun having a buddy to chat with everyday and share your wins and success for the day with :)

Beautiful write up, but my main take away was realizing I'm not even a minnow yet...I'm PLANKTON, hahaha! I 'll reveal my passions and hopefully "cool shit" soon enough...for now, I'm enjoying my microscopic level. :)

Nice to meet you. Where you from? ;)

Timbuktu.... Just messin' with you because of my screen name. ;) Fort Collins, Colorado...but you're the one with the secret location... :) ???

Well, I was merely playing with your name than looking for an actual location. The broadest I go is I'm a Masshole. part of why I'm hosting a Boston meetup. It's nice to meet you. Welcome to Steemit.

@aggroed. I am astonished at what you and your team have accomplished and what it means. A deeper value to Steem revealed, most certainly. Well done and thank you.

Great read. Yes delegation is important. You can get more done and it can prove your leadership or lack there of. Leading with as little interaction is wonderful. Lead by example and be personable and welcoming. Again a wonderful article.

I kinda agree with you @aggroed. A good leader is also a good follower and a good listener. Delegation is much important to those people under you most specially those that have the skills and expertise on a certain task. Communication, support and coordination is also vital in achieving success. When everything was done according to plan, this is where the incentives, gifts and rewards come in gratitude to all involved for their achievements anf contributions for a job well done.

Great post..!! ^ ^

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $26.98 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This is a great post @aggroed, I have studied leadership in university and have been a leader in many projects and I have found (through my limited experience with you) that you make one hell of a leader! Giving out support and recognition to those who work along your side is such a humble, loving thing to do... it's so lost in our culture these days. I see it trending as the statistics show its value but to be truly vested in your teammates, and seeing them as a whole of your parts is truly inspiring my friend. Thank you for spreading love like a wild fire in here and also thank you for my shiny pink letters on Discord, they pump me up ;)
XO,
H2H 💜

Excellent lesson on Leadership! Thanks so much.

That was great to read some great points to consider.

Those are some good points. I figure it's the same in any community. The less you focus in earning and just do your best to help others the stronger your community will get and eventually the income comes in :)

Great advice, and the fact that you used a lego makes me more inspired.

"So, if you're a redfish or minnow or even plankton dont' ask how much did I earn today. Think about how many friends and followers you've put together. That will have a much longer impact on your success."
exactly.