Sort:  

Check out NFT Showroom, it costs 5 HIVE to mint 1 piece of art and if you're going to issue multiple editions it's 1 HIVE per additional piece beyond the first. We made it explicitly to create a much more affordable option that ETH. We also take a smaller commission (10%) and it runs on HIVE, so it's obviously much quicker.

I'm trying to decide if I should have one edition or 5 editions. If I had one edition, I'm worried that the buyer may not resell my art and I may never get any secondary royalties at all, ever. 5 editions increases my chance of secondary sales but it ain't rare enough. help. You said, "we". Are you part of the developers?

I'm not the guy coding it, but part of the team building the site and designing it, yes. From what I've seen, some artists do well with multiple editions and selling for lower prices, while others only ever make 1 edition and sell for higher prices. It takes some experimentation to find your market and demand level.

If people aren't buying a 1 of 1, you might have to try doing multiple editions cheaper the next time. It definitely takes some experimentation. Honestly I wouldn't worry about secondary sales first and foremost though, you gotta get it sold in the first place for that to ever become an issue. I tend to think of anything secondary as a happy bonus.

Some of my art are or looks traditional like an old school type. Maybe I should sell like an old school art gallery. I'm certain that some buyer would want to be the only one to own a single edition. For now, I'm going to issue single editions like it's been done that way for thousands of years. It might be expensive but someone might enjoy owning the only piece. I may never see a secondary sale if the buyer holds it to himself. thats the risk I take but it would be like selling the only physical artwork. Hilter stole famous artworks and I think some were never recovered. I worry my art may never be recovered like if the buyer dies or forget the secret password to resell, the secondarys

It could happen, but compared to traditional galleries that usually take 50% of sales, have to deal with inventory, rotation, insurance, etc... the cost of dealing with NFTs is minimal on HIVE. On ETH you have a lot of gas fees, but it really doesn't hurt to try minting a piece and see how it goes. If it doesn't sell and you decide to go the physical gallery route, just burn your token, you're out a whole 5 hive (less than $1 right now) and it is removed.

What happens to secondaries when tokens are burned?

Who gets the 5 hive per piece ? the nftshowroom founders or boards? Or is it some minimum to create a blockchain?

It goes to the team to cover development/infrastructure costs as well as covering our Hive-Engine expenses. It also has the added benefit of making it not free to spam stuff 😁

umm. maybe they can put something in the Jackpot or distribute something to the artists to encourage them to use/return to your site. BAE-blockchainartexchange does that. I think they have their own internal BAE-dollars, sort sort of rewards.