You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 2023-07-13 13:55

in #leofinance10 months ago

Searching for articles about #Hive is hard due to the name clashes. Tend to find stuff about Hive Blockchain or Hive Social. I wish we could have started with a unique name.

Sort:  

I agree. It's especially annoying since many of us brought up the issue before the chain move was finalised. It was totally predictable that there would be issues as a result,

I think it needs at least some witnesses to agree on something and get the projects to use it. Currently I don't even see Hive mentioned on some dapps.

There were the ones who insisted on sticking with the name in the first place though and I don't think they've ever been very interested in marketing. Even when we were Steem.

I'm not a marketing guy, but we have had some good projects like the rally car, the Ghana wells and stuff in Cuba. It can happen.

Was that anything to do with the witnesses though? I loved the Ghana wells project but I saw that more as a practical project rather than a specific marketing effort.

Well they had a lot of stuff like notebooks and shirts made that will get the name out to more people. We need them to know Hive helped.

+1. I mean if Google and Microsoft can have unique names, why can't we. Too late now I guess.

Others have re-branded, but it needs to be done carefully and we don't have a centralised marketing department to manage it.

Do you think Hive should rebrand into a new name?

Matic is in top 10 coins and changing name to $POL.. I think so, rename could be a good idea (if possible).

I do think it's possible. Have a new name for the blockchain itself, but the front ends could stay the same. Have branding, e.g. Built on {new name here}Chain.

Ah, yeah.. front ends already have unique names.. I guess, community votes or through governance it is possible.. let's see if that will happen or not.

Hive blockchain changed their brand name.

I think they still use 'Hive'. We could still re-brand under some overall name.

Yes, they still use Hive. Do you think our name is the real recognition problem?

It is part of the problem, but our marketing has been very limited. If people hear 'Hive' they may think of something else.

Exactly. The marketing is not aggressive. Noone in the crypto space is aware of Hive as a brand name. Not sure if it is marketing or overall neglect due to the Proof of stake model.

thats very true

A unique name would have been great too.