Week One of eBay Reselling

It's been two weeks since I decided I wanted to try my hand at eBay reselling or just reselling in general. Almost everything has sold on eBay and I only sold 2 items on OfferUp. I don't have a Facebook account, so I haven't done anything on MarketPlace, which sucks, but if I buckle now, I'll feel like I was forced to get a Facebook account. I have to make this work without Facebook!

This was my first week of selling and almost everything sold on eBay. It wasn't a banner week or anything. Listed about 14 items and sold 4 for a total of $51.79. Literally, half that money went to shipping and eBay fees.

More than half this money went to eBay fees and shipping.

My $25 in profits really isn't even enough for a bag of groceries 🤣 Well, it's the first week, and it was a hell of an effort. I learned a lot and I had a lot of fun. Sadly, not much money for the amount of work I put in but these things happen sometimes when working for yourself. The good news is, I can scale it up a bit now with a few more auctions and hopefully only go up from here.

I'm not trying to be greedy. If I get this thing to a couple hundred a week I'd be able to cover my bills and groceries. That's really all I'm looking to accomplish. Just enough to keep me from dipping into my trading nut. I also have to squirrel some away for the taxman... Yes, I live in the land of taxation and inflation, Uncle Sam will want his cut :(

I'm not retiring anytime soon with this thing.

I was planning on selling clothes because they're easy to ship and easy to list. Surprisingly, out of the 4 items I sold, only 1 of them was a piece of clothing. Even worse yet, it was one of my personal items and not something I picked out to resell.

So far, it seems like I'm good at picking out items like military surplus and sports memorabilia but not very good at selecting clothes to resell. I already know there's going to be a learning curve. Although I sold on eBay since the early 2000s, I never did the resell thing. Mostly importing keepsakes and hippie stuff from Bali and different parts of Asia with a friend. This is a lot different.

As I stated in last week's post, I'm searching for my niche. I'm doing what a lot of people say not to do. I'm currently selling anything and everything to see what I enjoy buying and selling. I'm hoping down the road I can find one niche to focus on like trading cards, vintage clothing, or even motorcycle parts. I'll let my sales dictate what direction I decide to take. That and of course how much I enjoy buying and selling that particular niche.

For now, I've had a blast sourcing stuff from garage sales. I actually find a lot of fun stuff for me too. My DVD collection has already doubled. 🤣 I've also added to my novelty t-shirt collection and found a couple of cool things for the house. Garage sale sourcing has actually been a lot of fun so far. Garage sale season is just about over where I'm at though. I'll probably do most of my sourcing at thrift shops over the winter.

My plan is to give this reselling business at least 6 months to see if I like it or not. Seems like a great way to help supplement my trading income without having to find a "real job". Seriously though, this is real work. As fun as it can be, it takes a lot to be successful in this field. You have to buy the items, sell the items, and ship and deliver the items. It really is a never-ending battle and you really can't let up for a minute. It's a constant cycle of buy - list - ship - reinvest - buy - list -ship - wash, rinse, repeat!

Well, I've got my first couple items sold that was step one. Now I need to figure out an inventory system and way to keep track of my profits and losses for tax season. That will probably be my post for next week. I'll talk a little about how I'm keeping it all organized too.

Let's hope I do a little better next week. Fingers crossed. I'll probably be doing a couple of posts a month on reselling from here on out. Thanks for reading and lets make that money!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @the-bitcoin-dood ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I don't have a Facebook account, so I haven't done anything on MarketPlace, which sucks, but if I buckle now, I'll feel like I was forced to get a Facebook account. I have to make this work without Facebook!

Preach, brother, preach! No Facebook!! If you can pull it
off, no Twitter, either.


Regarding reselling: What's the difference between what you did in the past and this time? Is it how you acquire your inventory for reselling?


Besides garage sales, a couple of good sources for merchandise are Goodwill and the ReStores by Habitat for Humanity. Other thrift shops are good for clothing, too.


Do supplies make good items to sell? People are always needing specialized containers or bags, especially for hobbies or for restocking their inventories.


It looks as is most of your business will be done online, but maybe some offline marketing can help. I'm just suggesting; if I knew how to make that work, I would say how.


Good luck with your eBay reselling and with reselling in general. You'll find your niche; it's just a matter of time until you hot on something promising.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

no Twitter, either.

That's next.

Regarding reselling: What's the difference between what you did in the past and this time? Is it how you acquire your inventory for reselling?

Pretty much. My partner would go over to Bali, Indonesia and a few other places then ship back a container. This is about the same, just on a MUCH smaller scale.

Do supplies make good items to sell? People are always needing specialized containers or bags, especially for hobbies or for restocking their inventories.

I was thinking the same thing. I stumbled upon some Army surplus and if I had a good supplier, I'd love to do something along those lines. Right now I'm just experimenting and trying to figure out what works.

It looks as is most of your business will be done online, but maybe some offline marketing can help. I'm just suggesting; if I knew how to make that work, I would say how.

Absolutely, I want to try and get everything started online with the exception of local OfferUp and Craigslist stuff. I'm already trying to figure out a way to start selling stuff locally too though.

Good luck with your eBay reselling and with reselling in general. You'll find your niche; it's just a matter of time until you hot on something promising.

Thanks, I really appreciate the kind words and inspiration. I hope so. So far, it has been a lot of fun though and that's always a good sign.

what is selling like hot cakes already?

LOL, nothing. I sold a jacket and some army surplus (canteen, belt pouch). Surplus seems to be the hot item on eBay right now though. Lots of people getting ready for the apocalypse. 😕

Sounds like it's been fun going for you. I expect clothing to go smoothly selling, I wonder why it is slow.
I think you will eventually get your niche to focus on lol.
Good luck buddy

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, it's probably just the stuff I picked out. It has been a lot of fun though.

good luck fren! reselling is a fucking hustle for sure

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you, so far it has been a lot of fun.

💪😉😎🤙 just like anything, there is a learning phase. once u get into a flow, it should take off.. actually, not many people can start a new biz and make any profit just in the first week..

Good point. It's going to take time to get "real" profits. I'm still buying shipping supplies and other business related stuff. So "profit" is really more like a few small gains. It's a start though. So I should be grateful 🙏 I'll have to figure out all my costs to profit soon. See where I'm really at.

👍 yes, give it time.. at least TWO weeks! :P

Funny!
😅🤣😅
Right now I am trying the same!
I had a lot of success a few years back with "die-cast" so I am at it again!
Wish You Luck!
👍🏼🍀💸🍀👍🏼
BTW...
Are you shipping with USPS and buying postage from eBay? It's 23% cheaper!
Just mentioning it, as I didn't know myself, and just buying a QR code, it's really a breeze! 😉

I am not buying my postage through eBay but I did know about that. I need to get a scale. I'll probably do this next week. Once I have the scale I will definitely be using the eBay mail service. Thanks for the heads up on that.

Good luck to you too with the diecast.. Sounds like a fun niche for sure.

Thank You, yes get a scale as the couple of bucks on every sale is well worth it!
When buying die cast cars it's pretty easy. The older the better - I bought a bucket at a yard sale for $3.00 and sold most of them for $200!
And American Muscle Cars "always sell"!
And I like old hot rods so it's a lot of fun!

Have a Amazing Friday, and good luck with the sales!
👍🏼✨🌄✨👍🏼

No doubt, will pay for itself in no time. I'll probably shop around for one tomorrow.

Good Deal!
Yeah they do...
I was also charging the exact shipping and taking things to the post office, after labeling, etc...
Now,
All you have to do is seal the box!
The label is addressed, and honestly..
I just buy the Code, lat them use their ink to print it - and get the 23% discount, which is huge!

Take Care and wishing You much success on eBay! 🤞🏻🍀💸🍀🤞🏻
Have an Amazing Sunday!
🙋🏻‍♀️✨🌄✨🙋🏻‍♀️

Thanks, much appreciated. You too! Cheers

👍🏼😁👍🏼

Quote I actually find a lot of fun stuff for me too. My DVD collection has already doubled. 🤣 I've also added to my novelty t-shirt collection and found a couple of cool things for the house.

So then did you actually make a profit after buying stuff you kept? LOL

I'm like the U.S. right now. I'm spending way more money daily than I'm bringing in. That's what I'm trying to fix. I'm finding DVDs between 50 cents and dollar so not really spending a lot there. I bought some pillows for the couch at a really good price and I needed those because the old ones were shedding all over the place. Bigger picture I'm saving money anyway because this is all stuff I would have paid retail for if I had seen it in a store.

So then did you actually make a profit after buying stuff you kept? LOL

I suppose that's perspective. I made gains on what I sold though :)

Congratulations @the-bitcoin-dood! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

I've sold a few things on ebay, but they seem to hammer you with fees. I've bought and sold via FB market. It can be hit and miss, but there are no fees. I've got some good deals there, but people will try to get you to drop the price on anything you sell. I suspect some of them are looking to re-sell.

!BEER

eBay fees are ridiculous now. A lot of my gains go to fees and shipping costs. I'm going to give it 6 months and see what kind of money I can make it. See if it's worth it or not. I just don't want to get pulled back into the rat race and 9 to 5 cube culture.


Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.