Celebrities That Made Being Gay Easier

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

Growing up gay is hard.

It's harder when you don't have a family member or close friend that is gay to mentor you and explain your feelings and thoughts.
So where are the majority of closeted teens to turn to when it comes to guidance and acceptance? Celebrities and public figures of course. Their words and music, even their own sexuality, can help ease the pain and confusion that comes from figuring out your true identity.
Today, I've made a list of the top 3 celebrities that helped me during my pre-teen and teenage years even after I came out.

aaa.png

Pink

The iconic pop-punk star has always been supportive of the lgbt community as an ally. In 2010, she received the Ally for Equality Award from the Human Rights Campaign. In her acceptance speech, she said the words I needed to hear as a 13 year old terrified of high school,

"High school sucks, but life past high school is awesome. There are people waiting with open arms to appreciate you for who you are. There is a family that you will create. There are friends out there waiting to just love you and celebrate everything about you."

Only two months later, she released "Fucking Perfect" which would end up playing in the background during my first kiss with a girl.

aaa.png

Ellen DeGeneres

The famous talk show host is known globally as the first lead in a sitcom to announce her sexual orientation in 1997. Since this was the same year I was born, I had the pleasure of growing up with her talk show on in doctor's offices and daycares. Although I didn't watch her shows until later in my high school years, I remember how important her representation was. I often got an idea of who was supportive of the community by finding out their views of Ellen. I know this wasn't a bulletproof method, but hey, I was a teenager.

Another main reason Ellen was so influential to me was her marriage to Portia de Rossi in 2008. By the time I was 14-15 and really understanding my identity, the two stars had been married for 5 years. To have a role model that isn't just gay, but also is in a committed and successful relationship, was so reassuring. It was like holding a banner up saying "you CAN have a happy, fulfilling life and be accepted, but also be in the lgbt community." Now as a young adult, I value Ellen for her compassion, her comedy, and her personality. However, by just being an "out" lesbian on daytime television was enough to help me accept myself.

aaa.png

Ellen Page

Ellen Page is known well for her roles in Juno and the X-Men series. In 2014, she came out at a Human Rights Campaign event, Time to Thrive. She explained, "I suffered for years because I was scared to be out. My spirit suffered, my mental health suffered and my relationships suffered. And I'm standing here today, with all of you, on the other side of all that pain." Ellen Page came out years after I did to my family, but I always admired her. If you are lgbt, you may understand when I say I have a very keen sense of who will end up coming out, and Ellen Page was always on my list.

Opposed to my lesson learned from Ellen DeGeneres, by knowing that Ellen Page was most likely gay, but had kept quiet about it, I felt like it was also okay to not be ready to come out yet. I can understand the pain she must have felt with staying in the closet for as long as she did, and I do know now that being yourself is better for your stress, health, and happiness. In general, though, knowing that you don't have to be flamboyant and loud to be gay was helpful to me as a straight-passing gay teen.


Did you grow up with celebrity role models? If so, what did they help you through in your adolescence?

Follow me on social media!
Twitter: link
Instagram: link

Sort:  

😢😞 u forgot shane from the L word. She was quite my inspiration i was in a phase i used to dress talk and behave like her... Then came kim from YES or NO and i started to dress act and behave like her... 😂😂😂

Shane from the L word! Unfortunately, I didn't discover the L word until THIS YEAR (I know, I know). But for me, she is not as much an inspiration as a giant crush 😂. Even though in real life shes close to 23 years older than me ! Thanks for reminding me of these awesome characters and celebs!

I know plenty of them... U can say that i dont watch straight movies or series or read at all.. only lgbt contain.. i am not straightphobic but that stuff bores me to sleep what should i do. And i am 25 just imagine how much stuff i have watched and read till now.. and yes shane was my crush too but so was carmen.. i kind of swing for both dont have a type just person.

See and I love Jenny! I know everyone hates her, but for some reason, I just appreciate her realness. I've always wished Jenny and Shane would become an item. My ultimate crush on the show though was Dana. I also love Lena from The Fosters.

Ewww no jenny and shane.. jenny and i forgot her name the one who owns tht restaurant who had a husband? 🤔 What was her name? I liked bette and tina's story the most.. all series who has a lesbian character will either kill one of the couple or break them up.. but alls well when end is well. 😉

I think the Indigo Girls were a big one for me—their music has been with me growing up, and I love their work so much. Being unapologetically queer and Southern and themselves has been lovely to witness!

Thanks for your input! I actually had never heard of the Indigo Girls, but you intrigued me enough to check out their music. I'm a huge Tracy Chapman fan and felt a similar vibe in the folk-rock style music the Indigo Girls brought.

Well, since you like Pink, you may have already heard "Dear Mr President," which featured the Indigo Girls on it!

I was raised in a very homophobic country. When I found out that Rob Halford from Judas Priest, who is one of the best singers in heavy metal history is also a gay, I was shocked. But then I realized that it doesn't make him a worse person or a worse singer :)