We need to get angry! We need to get Furious!

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

Steemers,
I came onto this platform to be myself, and not hold back. For that reason, I am going to give it to you straight right now.
We as a society as a people have failed in so many ways. Equality is still so far away, for so many people and the majority of the world still claim there is no problem.

I get so angry when I see ignorant people on steemit or facebook; claim Australia Day has nothing to do with Invasion Day, or when someone says, Gays have it better off today than they ever did, or when men say women earn less because they work less.... I just can't go on social media and see these sorts of things and remain calm.

The straw that broke the camels back was my recent stint watching www.LiveLeaks.com
For those who don't know, Liveleaks is a video sharing platform where anyone can upload videos without the fear of them being censored or removed. Naturally, its used by journalists and activists to share material that generally is too graphic or controversial to show on YouTube or Facebook. In other words, it's the rawest source of information you can get.

Being an LGBT+ activist I can't help but use this source to see what "equity" looks like in our modern world. Let me tell you it is not pretty! People are being murdered based on their sexuality! Women are being raped because they are requesting education! African Americans are being arrested for asking questions! The world is broken!

As an LGBT person, I find these articles so painful to watch because it could so easily be me! For that reason, I feel I owe it to the victims in these videos to get angry! We need to give justice to these victims!

This clip below is literally one of the "gentle" encounters of LGBT+ if you cant stand to watch the below clip then I warn you... don't look at liveleaks.

This is the world we live in... you need to decide if your ok just standing by or not.

Sort:  

I was literally writing a post about this very thing at the same time you were. Great minds think alike, eh?
It's here on Steemit too, unfortunately. I'm trying to combat the hate but I fear it's going to ruin my ability to do so in any meaningful way.
https://steemit.com/lgbt/@ancapbarbie/flag-abuse-and-a-humanitarian-crisis

✊🏿✊🏾✊🏽

Hi, how does your activism take form? I mean in acts.

I couldn’t watch the whole video, but it just makes me angry that this could happen in our world and people don’t understand why awareness initiatives are crucial. This just breaks my heart.