You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Recommended Reading

in #liberty6 years ago

Five, five, of the books on your list are fiction. One of the books is Walden, and one is Ayn Rand. Two of the books are essentially prep books...just in case you are correct. What I am not saying is that any of this reading is completely unproductive. What I am saying is that if you are providing a list of material that has lead you to conclusions that are, shall we say, non-standard, perhaps the list should contain more material such as Rothbard (which I have not read, but sounds scholarly at least).

Sometimes I think there should be a logical fallacy associated with Rand as there is with Hitler. As for Walden, his solution is "run away from everything and everyone you do not like, and bingo, utopia". It certainly sounds good to me, but makes my cringe that it does. It is cowardly at best, and utterly immoral at worst.

Having said all that, you know that your ideas have shaped my own, and helped me refine them for years. This is true for theology and politics. In the end, it always feels the same though. You seem to be postulating that there is a chance that if we could snap our fingers and align the entire globe with these ideals everything would be better than it is. This not only seems ridiculously optimistic, but empirically false for a Christian that believes in total depravity.

Should we give up then? I honestly do not know. I suppose the answer is no, and we might as well work toward something similar to what you espouse as anything else. After I read these types of literature, study the world around me, history, our current affairs, the Scriptures, etc. my conclusion is we are f*%$%d, and spending as much time as you do on political/social constructs related to this world is counterproductive and possibly immoral given that this is not our home.

I reserve the right to be wrong, and assume the worst in that regard.

Sort: