Love forever

in #life6 years ago

399e7297da84e48cf2d9b5cd1853604a--prismacolor-chameleons.jpg

I want to share this story I found with you...!

A man of a certain age for the clinic where I work to have a wound in my hand healed. Quite a hurry, and while he healed what he was, it was so urgent that he had to do it.

He told me he had to go to a nursing home for breakfast with his wife who lived there. He told me that he had been in that place for some time and that he had a very advanced Alzeimer.

While the last time she is injured, the question will be herself in case she is late.

-He did not tell me. She does not know who I am. She has not recognized me for almost five years now.

Then I asked him surprised. -And if you do not know who you are anymore, why the need to be with her every morning? He smiled at me and gave me a pat on the hand he said: - "She does not know who I am, but I still know very well who she is". I had to hold back my tears as I left and I thought, "That's the kind of love I want for my life."

True love is not reduced to the physical or the romantic. True love is the acceptance of all that the other is, of what has been, what will be and what can never be.