Polyphasic Sleep & Passion Pops - From London to Siem Reap The Journey.

in #life6 years ago

My fellow steemians please read this post, its a true story and hopefully it will inspire you to take a hold of your life and succeed in whatever you want to do. This is the reason why I haven't posted for a while. Comment on your own experiences and I'm always here to offer my advice.

How many hours a day do you sleep?
Does your daily schedule allow you to get a refreshed sleep every night?
Can you complete all the jobs you need to do in a day or simply don't have enough hours in the day?
Maybe you have a goal but a stressful life is leading to a disruptive sleeping pattern.
Or you are stuck and cannot see a way out.
Hopefully this will show you anything is possible with a little faith and alot of determination.

Polyphasic sleep was something I looked at when trying to work out the fastest way to work harder and make a certain amount within a year.

History:
Working 4 nights a week had its perks, 4 nights of working behind a desk, non stressful working schedule and plenty of time to research and learn new skills and acquire knowledge. The 4 days off were bliss, 4 days of not having to travel to work but actually spend time relaxing after all I'd worked 48 hours already and it was good like this for 9 years.

Then an opportunity to purchase an existing business in Siem Reap, Cambodia arose and I made the flight checked out the business, did the training for making these artisan handmade ice popsicles and paid the deposit. I was buying Passion Pops, Artisan Handmade ice popsicles. This was not only exciting but a complete change to be amongst fresh air, nature and sunshine.

Paperwork took over a year and I had already committed to paying the rent for the factory so it was time to research on to be more productive as all the cash I had was put into the flight, deposit, rent and fee costs for transferring the business. I was now on zero but had costs which had doubled overnight, I don't believe in loans etc so...

I took on a day job which started at 8am, interview was straight forward due to the amount of experience I had in this work sector, the first day was the hardest as I haven't done a day shift for years and just trying to wake up at 6am was a struggle to say the least. Walking to the underground station and getting squashed like a sardine was something I'd forgotten as I had been driving into Central London when doing my night shift and I'd already sold my car and other items to finance the buying of the business.

This was the shift and sleeping pattern for 9 months:

1st Shift: 8am to 1pm sleep for 30 minutes eat for 20 minutes back at 2pm work until 6pm and catch the bus to get to..
2nd Shift: 18.30pm dinner at 20.00 sleep for 30 minutes at 01.00 (out of one hour break), sleep for 30 minutes at 04.00 leave work at 06.00
3rd Shift: Sleep at 06.30 for one hour, get read for shift and start at 08.00

This shift pattern continued for 5-6 day then one day rest, plus the other 3 nights were taken as overtime at job one so it was 22 hours a day and night working shift pattern.

The schedule was brutal and the first 5 days were the hardest because as soon as I sat down I could feel my head dropping and eyes closing, I ate healthy every day the same: bun, one avacado, bottle of water, potato salad and rice with a simple curry in the evening.

After 2 weeks I could see that I was alert and the small naps (30 minutes, 20 minutes) actually felt like I'd slept 4-6 hours. I was actually more alert than all of my colleagues combined in both jobs.

I was working 22 hours a day with an average of 98 hours a week and the highest was 144 in a single week.

This schedule taught me discipline and mostly to have faith in yourself, the human body is remarkable and better than any man made inventions. It helped me to get to Siem Reap and finally start my business.

I still have a few hurdles on this side, life is always testing wherever you are but I'm ready to start selling my first Passion Pops Ice Popsicles outside Siem Reap Backpackers Restaurant 10 minutes from Pub Street this Friday. I'm hoping to make Passion Pops a brand name in Siem Reap. The ice popsicles are not only delicious but they are also healthy using the local fruits and I have to say I enjoy making them.

If any of you ever have the pleasure of visiting Siem Reap have an ice pop on me.

I'm not saying try this sleep pattern that I did I'm showing you that if you put your mind to it anything is possible.
Don't ever think somethings too hard or impossible to do.
My story is not one of success not yet but its one of determination and perseverance.
Remember each of us are unique and awesome.

If you liked the above please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

If you want to follow Passion Pops:

Instagram: @passionpops
FB: Passion Pops


Still building the website.

Sort:  

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

thanks for the upvote

Congratulations @abetterworld! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!