NO VISA , NO CRYPTO!: why crypto world is hard for immigrants in USA.

in #life6 years ago

I lost everything, I mean everything, I had a job in an office just like you, a car, friends , family, a home, a country.

I had to leave everything I knew because I was born in one of the most violent and beautiful countries of Latin America, I can't tell you the whole story just right now because its actually dangerous for me (and for you) to share every detail, all I can tell you it has something to do with a really corrupt national police.

Me and my wife escape from our country in an operation that looked like a scene from a spy movie, I literally had a week to pack my life and move to USA, I am in a asylum process as you read this lines ,yes , I came here legally but I am not an American, I don't have a Visa, I can't go back to my country, my passport is useless until the process is done, right now , I am from nowhere, all I can do is wait, I feel like Borat, been from a different country makes you feel out of place, out of touch.

What does this have to do with crypto currencies? pretty much everything, many popular platforms do not support third world countries, so my ID and passport are worthless ,on the other hand, if I sign in as a USA resident,(which is true, this is my home now) they will ask for an SSN or ID and guess what?...immgrants don't have those!

I hope that these few lines are read as empathetic and not pathetic, I am not a victim ,but I am empathetic with the 11 million immgrants living in United States of America which came to this country to have more opportunities but because of there nationality are excluded even of an decentralized and international trend that was created to include everyone, If you are into crypto just because of the "fast cash" you are missing the whole purpose behind it, you can called me a dreamer, but I actually believe cryptocurrencies were meant to erase borders.

Let me know if you or anybody you know is going through a similar situation, I'm no expert but I will share some things that have helped me so far , I hope they can be helpful to you.

See you soon.

immigrants.jpg