Long Journey Home

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Joe 1.jpg

Today you took your long journey home
You have said your good-byes
As the tears welled up in all of our eyes.
Your life was full of so much love
You lived your life your own way
Never apologizing for any thing.
The memories flow fast, as they past by.
Some days so clear other are blurred and now just a gray haze.
Remembering your smile, remembering all of your love.
Welcoming you home we were all so happy to see that you had arrived,
Those roads could be so dangerous and cold.
We all wondered what you had brought back from your journeys;
What stories you would tell us when you got home.
The many days out on the road.
Providing a wonderful safe place, doing your part to make it a loving home.
A as kid your home was my safe place.
I knew there: It would be full of such laughter and love.
When I heard you had taken your last ride
My heart filled with these sweet memories
How can I thank you for all that you have done
My heart swells remembering you and your family's love.
You will be missed more than you know
Yet I realize that it was your time to go.
So go forth on this next journey, fly home you have been set free.
I feel a bit selfish because we all wanted you to stay
If even just a bit longer; maybe just one more day.
But now you have no more pain
I know that you will still watch over us all: Just not quite in the same way.
But after hearing the news; you have taken your long journey home.
All I can say is Cheers Joe and I hope you know how much I appreciated all of your unconditional love.
Fly free my friend
You and the girls will forever be in my heart and in my mind.

joe 2.jpg

Sort:  

Condolences on your loss.

Thank you he was such an amazing man

Beautiful. So beautiful a tribute. Hugs.

Thank you It just flowed out of my heart when I woke up today. Almost as if I had no choice.

thank you all for your kind words